Jump Camp???

If pretty good is okay, then Olympus has it. However, I can't imagine someone giving high scores in the Olympics just because someone was pretty good. Isn't it all about being better?

How can something as objective as the Olympics be compared to something thats as subjective as photography? Lets assume we put the Pentax K10D and Olympus E-410 on the 'track' and let them 'run' to find out who is the best. If the 410 came in behind K10D, are the 410 immediately going to disown the system saying that its not better?! When discussing models and companies, its a matter of personal opinion and thats something that cannot be compared. Point for point, the 410 might be real crap compared to the K10D. But it does what the guy behind it wants it to do. And thats pretty awesome!

As far as I am concerned, Olympus introduced the FT standard in an attempt to unify all the standards. That didnt really work but thats really a good effort and kudos to the company. This was not even a monetary move since they could have potentially lost some market if canon, nikkon, pentax adopted this and started producing FT bodes and lenses which are cheaper. Who knows?!! They introduced Live View, which is now part of some Pro bodies. They have announced m-FT, which is absolutely brilliant for photography in general.

Whatever creative ideas that the companies today come up with are all to a certain extent monetary in motive. The question about whether they were passionate or not is something that shouldnt matter as long as, and I hope you agree with me, we get good, cool, funky, reliable stuff for cheap! Come on man, the 9-18 is up for grabs soon and now is not the time to wonder if Olympus is passionate or not :) This is an attempt by the company to provide people on a budget with a good wide-angle lens....lets appreciate what Oly is doing for us!

in my personal opinion. we consider this no matter which camera we use,

when we shoot, we cover the most 70% of the job, the other 30% is PS...

good camera with a good lens help a lot on the 1st 70%.

if PS skill is as lousy as me, we really have to rely a lot on the lens that we has.

question is do we have a good camera and good lens in Olympus? Yes we do...

Every camera system in the world CAN produce good photos... period...

I've been a Panny user all these while and I thought of getting a DSLR. Basically my choice was Canon coz I dun like much of Nikon. Dunno why. Then again i did alot of helping to take wedding pics and engagement pics and kept going around asking some of the seniors photographers about cameras. Even though some using Canon & Nikon they still said better get an Olympus or Pentax. There are even Pentax wedding photographers told me the same thing!

At first I was not that very keen with Olympus and even pentax. So I went webby to webby to check on their review escpecially here in 4third thread which I kept lurking reading ur guys post. If gonna call FATED, but during my photography class, my teacher brought in E-3,E420 & E520! for us to test.Even he said Olympus & Pentax is the best and he has cleared away all of his "C" brand collections and taking in Oly & Pentax. During the test somehow...I fell in love with its images and good handling (not E420 coz I got big hands). Furthermore Pentax & Olympus gives IS system in the body rather than Lenses which is added advantage for a budget and hand trembling problem guy like me.

So my conclusion, I'm gonna get an Oly E520 soon by end of this year and hopefully will join you guys.

Finally the Lurker has written...hehe XP

I've been a Panny user all these while and I thought of getting a DSLR. Basically my choice was Canon coz I dun like much of Nikon. Dunno why. Then again i did alot of helping to take wedding pics and engagement pics and kept going around asking some of the seniors photographers about cameras. Even though some using Canon & Nikon they still said better get an Olympus or Pentax. There are even Pentax wedding photographers told me the same thing!

At first I was not that very keen with Olympus and even pentax. So I went webby to webby to check on their review escpecially here in 4third thread which I kept lurking reading ur guys post. If gonna call FATED, but during my photography class, my teacher brought in E-3,E420 & E520! for us to test.Even he said Olympus & Pentax is the best and he has cleared away all of his "C" brand collections and taking in Oly & Pentax. During the test somehow...I fell in love with its images and good handling (not E420 coz I got big hands). Furthermore Pentax & Olympus gives IS system in the body rather than Lenses which is added advantage for a budget and hand trembling problem guy like me.

So my conclusion, I'm gonna get an Oly E520 soon by end of this year and hopefully will join you guys.

warm welcome to the 4/3 family.

Join us on this Friday's outing?? Have more hands on the some of the poison.. :bsmilie:

Paiseh leh...wanna try the cameras. At Photography Class, coz of what my teacher said, most of the students bought E520 & E420. Now like Olympus classroom like that.

Maybe if one of those outing day I'm free I'll come by and say hi. :)

Paiseh leh...wanna try the cameras. At Photography Class, coz of what my teacher said, most of the students bought E520 & E420. Now like Olympus classroom like that.

Maybe if one of those outing day I'm free I'll come by and say hi. :)

Well, come on down to join us if you are free.. come and learn more on the lenses avaliable for oly. i'll poison you with the 35-100mm and 8mm FE.. :devil::bsmilie:

Count me as another "c" user that switched to Olympus... Its the OlyColy (olympus colours) that lured me in... and of course the other are the wonderful performing range of ZD lenses.

Now i can use the widest apertures without thinking it'll affect too much on sharpness. :thumbsup: what's the point of buying a F1.8 lens only to know it only starts to get sharp at F2.8 :dunno:

Well, come on down to join us if you are free.. come and learn more on the lenses avaliable for oly. i'll poison you with the 35-100mm and 8mm FE.. :devil::bsmilie:

How can you poison newbies :lovegrin:

Get a E3 if u can afford. It is poioning my brain now, but u will need a 14-54mm len to go along:) If better, get a leica 14-50mm definite a killer for "c" or "n" class camp with similar budget. Thanks

This thread is absolutely unnecessary (other than just for ranting purposes). The moment one intimidates another's brand of choice, there will be return fire and it never ends. It takes a whole group on one side to end the argument, but it takes just one guy from either sides to start it.

I can imagine what will happen if Olympus still have the best equipment, but also the biggest market share and loyal users in its products. Some of us in this situation will also behave like the so called C or N or other users. Even before the FT released, there are such users who compared in this manner. Will it change? Never.

Frankly speaking, photography is all about money and equipment. Without the damn money, you cant buy the equipment and you cant even take a picture (other than imagining or forming it in your brain). They are both prerequisites to great pictures.

Damn, you tell me you buy that 14-54 or 12-60 not because it is just another len? Because it is great. Money talks, no money, no 12-60 (then buy that 14-54). "The man behind the camera" is none other than a sarcastic joke implying that "If the man behind the camera is poor, the camera is likely to be limited in what he needs to take that picture". Tell me who do not want a 90-250/2.8 or 300/2.8 if given free. That guy must be stupid enuff not to take it and resell.

This thread is absolutely unnecessary (other than just for ranting purposes). The moment one intimidates another's brand of choice, there will be return fire and it never ends. It takes a whole group on one side to end the argument, but it takes just one guy from either sides to start it.

I can imagine what will happen if Olympus still have the best equipment, but also the biggest market share and loyal users in its products. Some of us in this situation will also behave like the so called C or N or other users. Even before the FT released, there are such users who compared in this manner. Will it change? Never.

I am glad that this community is starting to take a stand against brand comparisons... the thing is, when gear-whoring stops, the photographer within surfaces... I am really happy to see that there are many among you who are taking the stand to stop in senseless "which is the better system" comparison and generally moderators hate this as this is "flamebait" which moderators will have to then step in and do nasty things.

I hope for the next few months, we can revisit some of the topics we have discussed in earlier kopi sessions... for the "old birds" in here, it is refreshment, for the newer guys, you will have a chance to go through old topics like "raw development with Silkypix", "Post Processing Basics with Photoshop", "Photography Fundamentals", and even sharing of ideas and concepts for everyone's unique style of photography.

If possible, we can even do demos and stuff. That would be awesome for the community as a whole.

Please let me know if you guys are interested. Cheers.

I agree, I don't know why people bother posting these...if I was switching brands other than saying a "goodbye" message if I was a regular contributor, I wouldn't post anything...and in my message I wouldn't say anything other than the fact I have to switch brands due to my needs, I certainly wouldn't mention the brand name since it could start an argument.

We certainly don't want CS to become DPR-esque in that sense! :bsmilie:

Every brand has its draw, just like everybody sees each other differently. Most importantly is to buy what you like and enjoy :lovegrin: