[Jacobs]Bedok Reservoir Park Sunrise Shooting (Photo)

my twilight shot.. saw the nice ray of light from the lampost and thought i can include the ray of light... but the lens flare not very nice i know..

DPP_00043.JPG

another shot, think this was earlier in the morning.. when i still super sleepy.. the IQ doesn't look too good.. but i thought its nice to capture what we are doing there so early in the morning and not just the scenery.. so i included the photographer in the side.. will post the later on morning shots soon..

DPP_000110.JPG

Jacob,

Looks like a good outing for you too :) But sadly, nature wasn't on our side, didn't wanna let the sun come out to play for us! As long as there wasn't a wash out, I'd consider it a success!

Me considering that location too someday, maybe by myself first.

Colors are bewildering! I really like what you all managed to capture. Hahaha, looks like you copied the idea I used at Marina Barrage, to use color tags.

Hi Everyone,

Sorry of the late Photo post sharing. Have been very busy with the photos and going to the YOG opening firework shooting last night.

Below are some of the shots from our outing that I would like to share. They are not as perfect as some of you does, but pls kindly C&C....

IMG_02385.jpg

IMG_02461.jpg

IMG_02771.jpg

IMG_03033.jpg

IMG_0310_536_x_768_.jpg

More on next thread......

this is one of the shots i really like..

DPP_00143.JPG

this is when the sun came slightly peeping out from the dark clouds...i like the drastic change of dark to light clouds..

DPP_00321.JPG

ok, last one i'm posting up, the Taiji Master~!!

DPP_00471.JPG

Jacob,

Looks like a good outing for you too :) But sadly, nature wasn't on our side, didn't wanna let the sun come out to play for us! As long as there wasn't a wash out, I'd consider it a success!

Me considering that location too someday, maybe by myself first.

Colors are bewildering! I really like what you all managed to capture. Hahaha, looks like you copied the idea I used at Marina Barrage, to use color tags.

Yes, the idea is come from your previous outing..;)
So, at the end after the group photo no longer have following embrassing matter which is forget or wrong naming..:D

Front row (squatting, L to R)
chilicrab1, ??? , ???, khalel04, tsk023

Hi Everyone,

Sorry of the late Photo post sharing. Have been very busy with the photos and going to the YOG opening firework shooting last night.

Below are some of the shots from our outing that I would like to share. They are not as perfect as some of you does, but pls kindly C&C....

IMG_02385.jpg

IMG_02461.jpg

IMG_02771.jpg

IMG_03033.jpg

IMG_0310_536_x_768_.jpg

More on next thread......

Good try and attractive composition..

But please take note that all your photos are generally soft, not sharp.
Too soft resulting much of the detail of the foreground not captured and mind your focusing and aperture for greater result.

All the best in shooting...

Yes, the idea is come from your previous outing..;)
So, at the end after the group photo no longer have following embrassing matter which is forget or wrong naming..:D

Front row (squatting, L to R)
chilicrab1, ??? , ???, khalel04, tsk023

Yes plus Jacobs one is citronella scented to ward off mosquitoes! :bsmilie:

Bedok Reservoir Steps

landscape10g.jpg

Just now brought my wife and daugther jogging at Bedok reservoir..and suddenly see the nice sunset scene and use my Iphone to catch the picture:

4894020872_48d7c9a8d3_z.jpg

I told myself -- "Bedok Reservoir, I'll Back..:cool:"

My last take for the day..

mimik07 #3

4893434919_e8bbfc813e_b.jpg

Exif: ISO50, f/16, 60s

:embrass: Hesitate to post up my photo ermmmm but hope to have feedback on how i can improve ..

Thanks Jacob for organizing this outing and his sharing of knowledge :)

So here is my homework

1.Where the sun?
IMG_1596r.jpg

2. Finally a peek of sunrise in between thick large cloud
IMG_1633r.jpg

IMG_1611r.jpg

:embrass: Hesitate to post up my photo ermmmm but hope to have feedback on how i can improve ..

So here is my homework

1.Where the sun?
IMG_1596r.jpg

IMG_1633r.jpg

IMG_1611r.jpg

why hesitate?? i think its not bad.. good ah.. we are all learning and improving so dont worry or compare urself to the people who are really up there..

i like the colors... the first shot your composition abit tight, the sides feel very cramped.. like the railing got cut off then appear again.. and the left side the HDB very close to the side.. either give more space or cut out? the railing maybe show more so that it connects nicer? thats my take..

the 2nd shot i also have sth like that~! haha..

the last one i dunno what to comment.. think its pretty ok, but then like sth doesnt seem right, maybe its just too many objects or points of interest in the photo, make the viewer dunno what to look at.. the bridge? the back ground? the sky? the grass? the water in between? yup i think thats why i abit blur..

but yes i like the first 2 shots..

tsk023, your photos generally very soft leh... not sure if it's your original file, or the image host.

If original file, could be due to the lens being slightly out of accurate focus. I don't think even if you shoot at widest aperture it's so soft.

Just now brought my wife and daugther jogging at Bedok reservoir..and suddenly see the nice sunset scene and use my Iphone to catch the picture:

4894020872_48d7c9a8d3_z.jpg

I told myself -- "Bedok Reservoir, I'll Back..:cool:"

nice impressive capture from iPhone! :) Check out that dynamic range and low noise!

So here is my homework

1.Where the sun?

Hi Yilin,
overall I think your photos are decent.
hope you don't mind me offering some suggestions

1) Take care of the horizons. Got a couple of photos where the horizon is tilted. For landscapes we try our best to keep horizons horizontal unless really for some artistic reason we angle it.

2) Try to have an "anchor" point in the photo that the eyes are naturally drawn to. A pretty sunrise and nice clouds are usually still not enough. Often, a lack of a nice foreground element causes the photo to lose a sense of depth and scale. I'm not very good at this as well... still learning. Do check out the galleries of some of the good Clubsnap landscape photographers, and see what it is about their photos that stand out.

3) Do take note of colour consistency. Try not to have a series of photos from the same scene, where one has very cool tones, and another very warm tones.

cheers and all the best in your journey!

You organize and I'm the 1st person sign-up..:thumbsup:

noted, thanks bro for support... ;)
For personal reason, I can only plan an outing in Sep... will keep u update :sweat:

Actually there were quite a lot of insects there this morning. Some went into my camera bag as i had left the flap open. Must remember to close my bag next time. :think:

Hmmm..... dont bring them home ya!

Anyway on a side note: Why the photos of Bedok Reservoir seems so .... unfamiliar to me!? ... I think its time for me to drop there not for jog instead for appreciating the scenery and location for photo-taking!

Was walking near this bird then it suddenly flew off. got a quick shot.
this is what i got.
4895626953_d9473259ed_b.jpg

Hi Yilin, there is no need to hesitate or feel paiseh about posting your photos for feedbacks. :D
Comments and critiques is one way you can learn from your mistakes and improve on your shots going forward. Photography is a never-ending journey, we constantly look to learn and improve ourselves as well.

Hope to see more of your postings in the near future :)