Is Manuka honey worth paying so much for?

To me, I dun believe in all these kind of bullsh*t.

If you eat well, sleep well, got not too much stress, some exercise and in general live well, you dun really need that kind of supplement.

If you have some medical problem, go consult a doc who is properly trained. After all, how much does a consultation with a specialist cost compared with those $100 honey, special potion and so forth.

IMO, for those supplements, you just pay too much for too little benefits.

I visited a bee farm when I was in NZ last year. This farm is part of a consortium of honey producers which supplies manuka honey worldwide.

And guess what? The farmer himself told me that the 'active ingredients' or the UMF whatever, are just market hype. Yes, manuka honey is prized for the taste and quality. But the active ingredients, no matter how high it may be, when consumed, it just doesn't matter anymore. In other words, there's no correlation between medicinal value and active ingredients.

However, this bee farmer did qualify that if it's used for the skin, then the active ingredient will matter a bit.

How true all these are, it's up to us to believe. But really, the relatively low price of manuka in NZ does indicate how much the New Zealanders believe in it's medicinal value.

Pitcairn Island honey...that is what I would buy...much cheaper.

Here we have locals who have wildflower honey
...good stuff!

thats the thing. manuaka honey only comes from New Zealand and a very small region of australia.
so generally most "manuka honey" from australia are actually not manuka.
it does not have the correct climate and soil to maintain the manuka bush.

thats why only buy manuka honey with UMF. UMF is new zealand certification board.

in fact hor... if you go google, 90% of manuka honey sold worldwide are fake.
thanks to our favourite country- china lor.

can buy from this local honey store- deals with air freight from New zealand
Manuka Honey UMF

just met with a singaporean working in NZ in forestry, and they are doing a lot of manuka plantations with support from NZ govt aid.
i asked her abt this also... she said all the lab tests and results showed scientifically that manuka honey does have a positive effects on health... so its not just hype.

but she gave me some good advice to save money. must buy UMF certified with that logo, to be authentic.
and just need to buy umf 10+.
dont need to buy higher... save money. coz the umf 15+ or umf 20+ is toooo pricey.

Used to buy manuka honey with UMF. But after watching a BBC documentary about certain myth or truth about common product, I stop getting that type of honey specifically.
UMF is not really a recognized standard.

in fact hor... if you go google, 90% of manuka honey sold worldwide are fake.
thanks to our favourite country- china lor.

I agree.

The only real honey you can get is from the bees you catch yourself. :bsmilie:

Read about Aleppo soap...

I need some of that honey and some Aleppo soap and for Sion to hook me up with a xmm breeder. LOL

if what you eat will be absorb by your body, rich people just need to get a specailist to prepare daily intake and live a healthy life. no worries of all illness right?

moderation and a balance diet are the key to good health. in fact most of our problems come from what we put into our mouth. we ate too much. haha

For the $$$$ you're paying, the honey better be glowing and perhaps levitate a little