Is Dimage A2 End-of-Sale

titaniumt4 said:
Am thinking of buying an A2 for myself. Dun really like the A200 'cuase read that its a dumbed down from A2.

Some shops like Cathay told me that A2 is already end-of-life from KM, replaced by A200 :o But there are 2 other shops who told me they can still order A2 from KM, selling price ard SGD1,400.

Can anyone help to verify which is correct? Is A2 EOL? tks.

I sold my Minolta A2 one month after I bought it, not a good camera as what they advertised, the auto-focus is not accurate half the time even the focus ready light illuminates especially in dim ambiant. it takes very long time to focus due there is no focus assist lamp. battery gets very HOT after few shots. pay $300++ more to get a Nikon D70, Good camera, value for money.

Chew Siow Ming said:
I sold my Minolta A2 one month after I bought it, not a good camera as what they advertised, the auto-focus is not accurate half the time even the focus ready light illuminates especially in dim ambiant. it takes very long time to focus due there is no focus assist lamp. battery gets very HOT after few shots. pay $300++ more to get a Nikon D70, Good camera, value for money.

That's something to take note of. I though KM already solved the battery heat problem after Dimage-5 / 7 series :dunno: Does A1 have similar problems ?

Chew Siow Ming said:
battery gets very HOT after few shots. pay $300++ more to get a Nikon D70, Good camera, value for money.

actually the camera can focus in very low light considering that it doesn't have an af-assist lamp. but yeah, wish they'd included one.

the battery does get pretty hot, but so far i haven't had any real problems because of that, even shooting for several hours in hot weather. just feels funny that's all.

I paid a total of $1415 for my A2 incl BP-400, and for what it's worth, this package also includes a 28-200mm lens (albeit fixed).

DSLRs no doubt provide superior picture quality, better aperture range, faster AF and system flexibility, but I believe there are still reasons for getting a prosumer camera.

Price, for one. For the same optical reach (ignoring lens speed and quality), the cheapest DSLRs would be about $1000 more than any prosumer camera. And for hobbyists, it may not make economic sense to splash out that much money on what would be a "dead investment". The relative compact size and light weight is also another plus factor, as is the fact that prosumer cams are a little more silent in operation (no mirror-slap noise).

That said, it really boils down to the needs of the photographer. For me personally, I'd REALLLLY like a DSLR, but as much as prices have tumbled over the past 18 months, they are still not cheap. Hence, prosumer cams still represent good value for money for some. We just have to identify its weaknesses, and figure out ways to work around them.

synapseman said:
I paid a total of $1415 for my A2 incl BP-400, and for what it's worth, this package also includes a 28-200mm lens (albeit fixed).

DSLRs no doubt provide superior picture quality, better aperture range, faster AF and system flexibility, but I believe there are still reasons for getting a prosumer camera.

Price, for one. For the same optical reach (ignoring lens speed and quality), the cheapest DSLRs would be about $1000 more than any prosumer camera. And for hobbyists, it may not make economic sense to splash out that much money on what would be a "dead investment". The relative compact size and light weight is also another plus factor, as is the fact that prosumer cams are a little more silent in operation (no mirror-slap noise).

That said, it really boils down to the needs of the photographer. For me personally, I'd REALLLLY like a DSLR, but as much as prices have tumbled over the past 18 months, they are still not cheap. Hence, prosumer cams still represent good value for money for some. We just have to identify its weaknesses, and figure out ways to work around them.

agreed.

currently having a film SLR with a std lens of 35mm-80mm, always wanted to have a 200mm tele, and a 28mm wide, but not willing to splurge the money.

2 reasons that prompt me for a digital cam, flexible ISO settings, and able to see the results instantly. with the still high price of DSLR (body plus lens, etc), prosumer is still the value for money choice.

Chew Siow Ming said:

I very much enjoyed my Dimage A2 for about 4 months and then sold it because I needed a camera that will produce less noise in low light. The price difference between A2 and D70 with a Sigma 27-190 lens is around 300 SGD. For D70 with kit lens, the price difference is around 200 SGD.

Just wondering: The price diff you mention, D70 c/w 27-190 being $300 more than the A2, is that referring to the A2's original pricing of $1800+, or the current pricing at $1250? If the D70 + 27-190mm lens now costs less than $1600, that would indeed be an excellent buy. (And I'd be banging my head against the wall... :p)

synapseman said:
If the D70 + 27-190mm lens now costs less than $1600, that would indeed be an excellent buy. (And I'd be banging my head against the wall... :p)

hehe, just buy that too and eat bread for a few months lor. a2 and d70 good for different situations mah ;p

I have been a proud owner of A2 for about 7 months now...

A2 is not design to work like DSLR.... uhm... I wonder if A2 handle like a DSLR, then no one buy DSLR liao.

Seriously A2 and DSLR built for different purpose.

In Sydney, we constantly being ask by security personel when you use DSLR+lens+tripod combo... thought you are terorist or something..., I experience this about 3 times for the pass 6 months when go out with my friends who use DSLR and pro lens. A2 serves me very well in most situation. Can use a cheapo tripod or no tripod at all and never being ask by security personel. Because they think you are tourist.

Following things might be helpful in choosing a system that is right for you.
1. Weight you want to carry
2. price you want to pay
3. How big do you normally print

Normally when I go out I will bring A2 +5600HS flash, 1.5gb card, 2 batt, all that less than 1kg. Pictures taken on ISO 64 to 200 is good enough to print 16"x18". 400 and 800, need to run through noise reduction program.

Regret with my purchase instead of waiting for 7D? not at all... A2 and 7D are different beast.

Hart
http://www.treklens.com/members/agetan/

synapseman said:
Just wondering: The price diff you mention, D70 c/w 27-190 being $300 more than the A2, is that referring to the A2's original pricing of $1800+, or the current pricing at $1250? If the D70 + 27-190mm lens now costs less than $1600, that would indeed be an excellent buy. (And I'd be banging my head against the wall... :p)

:) It was based on the purchase price of MY A2 :-) I had payed 1450$. If D70 kit is 1550$, D70+Sigma would be 1750$.