Is Canon EOS 300D good?

be like me, go on the 2nd-hand route!

i got my 300d at $600 with kit lens in september this year in bns. it's a great cam for starting out. you can chk out my flickr pics.

all my lenses are 2nd-hand. there are very good buys in bns. i am getting my 2nd-hand 100mm macro tomorrow. ;)

considering some Ls perhaps next year. hehe...

i got my 300d at $600 with kit lens in september this year in bns. it's a great cam for starting out. you can chk out my flickr pics.

all my lenses are 2nd-hand. there are very good buys in bns. i am getting my 2nd-hand 100mm macro tomorrow. ;)

WOW ... mi 2 !! haha got my 2nd hand 350d 3wks liao ... i now exploring all e effects of the kit lens :p .... n camping at the bns forum hehe

buy buy buy...just bought a 17-40L for my 400D from a CSer...:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

i got my 2nd hand 300d 1-2 years back and is stilll using it well.
most of my stuff are 2nd hand too, as an amaeteur, i got to watch what and how to spend, unless i got tons of money to burn.

Hi bbkailan, glad you got the macro lens, feel paisay to win the last bid from you if you can remember.

yay BBB!! then u'll BBB more LLLs!! :bsmilie:

300m not good enough 400mm not long enough 600mm JUST NICE!! :bigeyes:

Hi bbkailan, glad you got the macro lens, feel paisay to win the last bid from you if you can remember.

no worries bro!

i was a bit cash tight then also. how is the lens? fun?
i believe it should be my most fun lens to date! soooo excited!!!

Thanks everyone. After looking at all the advise that u all gave really making me more keen in photography. Seriously hope i day can take nice picture like wat u all have taken. ;)

I beg to differ. Pls check out the prices and condition before committing to the sale.

Some guys are lucky, they got a good deal for a used item, use if for a couple of months, and then claim that they are the 1st owner and sell it at exactly the price they got it for.

I beg to differ. Pls check out the prices and condition before committing to the sale.

Some guys are lucky, they got a good deal for a used item, use if for a couple of months, and then claim that they are the 1st owner and sell it at exactly the price they got it for.

you beg to differ what? i did not say ALL buys in bns are good. it is obvious buyer must check before committing in any sale. any adult will know. must i put disclaimer in everything i write? :dunno:

no worries bro!

i was a bit cash tight then also. how is the lens? fun?
i believe it should be my most fun lens to date! soooo excited!!!

don't really got chance to play with it yet... coz my camera was sent for repair recently.
can't wait for chance to really try it out too... ;)

even if you buy new equipment, you may still risk of buying grey set, or worst, demo set from the shop. regardless of new or used, buyer is responsible to check or trust the seller.

eos 300d - some points for TS to consider

pros
1. cheap
2. light
3. takes low-budget efs lens
4. availability of russian firmware hack to unveil hidden CF functions
5. takes vertical grip BGE1 for improved ergonomics

contra
1. shutter release button is silver instead of black
2. no choice of AI-servo AF or ONE_SHOT AF (i.e. the AF is determined entirely by camera)
3. lack of quick-control-dial at rear of camera. instead there is a system of 4-way joystick styled controls - not ergonomic
4. laggy start-up time and laggy shutter

eos 300d - some points for TS to consider

contra
1. shutter release button is silver instead of black:bigeyes:

:confused: :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

I don't even notice what color my D70 shutter release button is. I better go and check!

its not funny. silver colour button on a black colour body is a stylistic error. needs to be gaffered up in black gaffer to blend in the colour.

d70 shutter release button is silver colour as well.

its not funny. silver colour button on a black colour body is a stylistic error. needs to be gaffered up in black gaffer to blend in the colour.

d70 shutter release button is silver colour as well.

And how does the silver colour button affect the quality of the pics the camera takes? Speaking of gaffing? I saw this seller who wants to sell his DSLR which is practically all gaffered up from head to toe. Immediately turns me off, like the camera is broken and needs to be plastered with tape. What's the logic of this? :dunno:

you beg to differ what? i did not say ALL buys in bns are good. it is obvious buyer must check before committing in any sale. any adult will know. must i put disclaimer in everything i write? :dunno:

:bsmilie: why get so defensive when ppl dun agree to what u say :confused:

It is subjective on what good buys are. Its hard to predict the lifespan of electronics stuff and there is always a risk when buying used items w/o warranty. So what u meant by a good buy when there is always a risk ? Any adult knows that too

Newbies may also be mislead that they will get a better deal bidding for used items and rush into winning the bid, in fear of the missing out a great bargain.
They may not bother to do ground research on how much difference a new one will be and regret or back out the deal later..

Just want to share my views, not here to flame or gain anything :rolleyes:

mi think just c wat ur budget den c wat the 2nd hand market rate for that budget (try 2 get the best deal !!) ... den make sure the 2nd hand item is in gd condition lor :p

if 2nd hand stuff u get is not much cheaper mi think get 1st hand better :p

It is subjective on what good buys are. Its hard to predict the lifespan of electronics stuff and there is always a risk when buying used items w/o warranty. So what u meant by a good buy when there is always a risk ? Any adult knows that too.

thanks for stating the obvious again. ok ok since you so want it.

DISCLAIMER FOR NEWBIES IN BUY AND SELL SECTION :
It's hard to predict the lifespan of electronics and there is always a risk when buying used items w/o warranty. Please be informed any purchase new or old has risks - if you want lowered risks, buy new. If you are very careful, have a lucky streak or have balls to take risks and want good value and returns, sniff out some of the good buys in this section. Remember to check market price for new one first hor. Dont be dumb dumb need people to remind you such basic things wor.

Please note that after these messages, you are on your own. You shoulder your own risks. No nannies are provided. No more obvious advice will be given also.

Just want to share my views also and maybe write a few disclaimers, not here to flame or gain anything also. :rolleyes:

My first DSLR was a 300D... Then moved up to the 1DMKII and I still hold the 300D with high regard. The pictures come out well, especially most exposures being quite accurate.

Cheers,
Nick

mi think just c wat ur budget den c wat the 2nd hand market rate for that budget (try 2 get the best deal !!) ... den make sure the 2nd hand item is in gd condition lor :p

if 2nd hand stuff u get is not much cheaper mi think get 1st hand better :p

very clever, like me. wahahaha...:bsmilie:
that's a good buy principle.
every decision we make has risks (eg. farting in a lift), so if a person is prepared to take a little more than usual, he will find good buys in bns.