Is 50mm f1.8 worth to buy

initially i had a problem getting used to the 50mm cuz on my 50D its like some 80mm lens. mild telephoto. so TS u gotta get used to a lens stucked a mild telephoto, unable to zoom. if u haf the money to spare, just get it since its really really reasonable. price to performance ration rated 5 stars on photozone.de. personally i got this lens, for wad u pay its very POWER. its not a must have or damn good lens...its still a plastic toy-like cheapo lens at the end of the day. u may come to dislike the build like i did cuz i used to be on the 50 f/1.4. about the focal range...50mm is great for portraits if you are on a crop, u just have to ask urself if u r going to shoot in tight places or the great outdoors. personally i like this range for the portrait, low light ability and for streets where u dun wanna be too near your subject but yet not too far. i haf to say that 50 f/1.8 is really sharp from f/2.8 onwards but on a crop i feel its usable from wide open already (maybe i got a good copy, i dunno. but i tested 2 lenses and this lens gave me no issues so i got it). is it good in low light? definitely. however, i dun use this lens too often because it gives me the impression it will fall apart easily.

why 50mm so cheap? :dunno:

its not cheap. there's the 50 f/1.4 and 50 f/1.2L. they cost a lot more than f/1.8II. the 50mm design is very very simple. when u see the construction of the 50 f/1.8 u will know why so cheap. hint: made in malaysia. the build is terrible. it cant get cheaper than wad it is already. but then canon did a good job with this lens. i compared it with the sony 50 f/1.4...in terms of sharpness and corner sharpness...this lens wins. lets not talk about bokeh...the price forbids that. haha!

hi bros,
jus wondering if the canon booth at IT show in suntec - do they sell this lens alone by itself? if so, may i know what's the price? anyone care to share? Many thanks in advance. :)

No lens for sale unfortunately. Pretty packed even at 2pm and parking is mad.

In another thread someone mentioned he bought 5 despite it being available only for purchase-with-purchase.

Aiyah put up a thread: Outing at IT show. Then go as 1 group to buy five, ten or however many you want. :thumbsup:

why not we gather up people and buy together?

i am interested thou :)

let me know if you are interested so we can go get it at 1 shot. :)

why not we gather up people and buy together?

i am interested thou :)

let me know if you are interested so we can go get it at 1 shot. :)

i am interested in this too... ;)

i wonder if they have enough stock to last till saturday, i can only go down on sat

Canon dont sell it separately without extension of warranty with new DSLR purchase

seriously if you got the money to buy 5 of this 50 f/1.8II....i rather you use the money to buy 50 f/1.4. it is way better in every aspect imaginable. just my 2 cents.

that's why i am thinking of forsaking my Canon products and jump ship le.

You can still get the lens from shops at $120. You want to ditch your canon ware and jump ship because of $120 - $89 = $31......:dunno:

Thanks, may i know which shop sells at $120? coz i asked Cathey, they selling at $135.
Grateful for your kind advice.

Thanks, may i know which shop sells at $120? coz i asked Cathey, they selling at $135.

can try BnS, am sure a few who got it at 89 will let go at ard 120. If not, Paris Silk should be ard 129.

i got it at SLR Revo $121. is this lens worth it? yeah, if u dun plan to shoot lowlight action. even in broad daylight, my copy seems to hunt a bit. very sian if u wanna do candids or streets.

A definite yes, the 50mm F1.8 is Canon's best bang for buck ever haha. Unless you have money to splurge for the F1.4. I had never used a prime before when I bought it so I was absolutely wowed by it's sharpness and low light performance

yeah but it hunts a lot in low light. i still feel that if u got moolah...get the 50 f/1.4. but then again, for the price...can't complain.

seriously if you got the money to buy 5 of this 50 f/1.8II....i rather you use the money to buy 50 f/1.4. it is way better in every aspect imaginable. just my 2 cents.

I am guessing that person who bought 5 has the intention to resell it. Each one profit $30, adds up to a free 50mm F1.8. :bsmilie:

haha, maybe? if he manages to sell at $120 lor. but seriously 50 f/1.4 is way better and more useful for real world situations. 50 f/1.8 hunts too much for my liking. but no complains...i can only afford so much.