IR Photography at night?

jsbn

Wondering if its possible to do IR Photography in low light at night?

=picture deleted=

apologies to those who got frighten

gernie said:
dsc53602uc.jpg

here is the night IR... ppl standing on the field...

thats scary........... :sweat:

Hi, I am also interested in IR Photography. Just wandering, how did you manage to capture the photo? What setting did you use?

=pictures deleteed=

apologies to those who got frighten

hi guys,

ir is just a technique, just like long exposure, panning etc. There's more to photography that's important. Like composition, exposure, and the story behind the photo. There's no point shooting ir at night unless you have a story to tell that needs the effect.

Max 2.8

hmmm i know my nikon 5400 can do IR with an IR filter but then i get trouble focusing in lowlight cos my camera dun have a helper light. anyone tried night IR with nikon 5400?

Max 2.8 said:
hi guys,

ir is just a technique, just like long exposure, panning etc. There's more to photography that's important. Like composition, exposure, and the story behind the photo. There's no point shooting ir at night unless you have a story to tell that needs the effect.

Max 2.8

ookay~ agree with what u said... just a test shot for jsbn bout nite IR...

jsbn, read bout IR more before ask...kekeke :p

posting nite IR ain't good .;p ... apologies to those who got frighten....:faint:

slaam ... just focus to infinity...(from ur post i believe u r new... kekeke)

Hehehe... well, I started this topic partly becos of the following reasons:

1) Dis entire IR photography thing is pretty new to me.
2) I went to OCH over the weekend. Since that whole place has got zero lighting, I was wondering aloud if its possible to do IR Photography to capture the 'brothers from the next world'.

Unfortunately, I did not have to spend $200 for a 77mm Hoya R72 IR Filter. I did capture something... With just my lens, 300D and Sigma flash on Manual High mode.

Using all my logical explainations and left brain to answer the phenomena is near impossible since I ticked off everything possible... :sweat:

jsbn,
Sorry, I've cleared my mailbox. :)

Hi guys,

My guess is that we are all here for.... the experience, the fun, the learning and sharing of IR.

Night or very low light IR is one other place to experiment and/or be creative in I think.

I am not so quick to be creative; but I remember seeing a photo by "tomcat" (correct me if I am wrong)....
Of his cat sitting near a bar heater (in total darkness).... there was the cat in IR !!

My meaning to this is; I am not too creative as to put some perspective to a simple shot...but....
How about a cooking pot on a regular stove, shot in IR with the lights out ?

How about a shot of someone under a tanning lamp ??

Illuminate a flower with the rays of 1 or 2 infra-red remote controlls ???

Does the sky at night produce any IR ???

Just thoughts guys. Hoping to expand the possabilities of IR...

Cheers guys :)

IR is an effect only, good to experiment different expects of it. Just keep in mind, your concept of photography as a hobby, i.e. story telling, artistic expression, asethetic presentation etc.

Pablo said:
Does the sky at night produce any IR ???
Pardon me but is there IR if there is no sunlight?:embrass:

fuse said:
thats scary........... :sweat:

eh... 7th month coming eh... dun like that leh.... I won't want to come out when sun down liao... soooo eerie one.... :sweat: :sweat:

sumball said:
Pardon me but is there IR if there is no sunlight?:embrass:

It is a form of energy emitted by all objects regardless of the ambient light conditions.

The type of IR that's captured by the sensors of digital cameras are the near-infrared radiation with wavelengths between 700 to 1200nm. These are essentially IR radiation that is reflected off objects. So you do need an external source of near-IR radiation which in normal situations have to come from sunlight. Those IR radiations that are emitted by objects are of much longer wavelengths and are the type of IR that's captured by thermal scanners like those used at the airport during the SARS episode. Our digital cameras are not sensitive at all to such IR radiations and that's why thermal scanners are so expensive. So hot objects that are not glowing visibly would not show up in our digital cameras in total darkness.

Even my modified P200 does not show any image at night unless it is very bright like a lamp. But if I use an infra red heat lamp for illumination, I would get a very good image.

Another way to take IR photos at night would be to use the flash. Besides visible light, the light from our cameras' built-in and external flashes contain a lot of near-IR radiation too and could be used to take IR pics depending on the digital camera's sensitivity to IR.

I agree with pablo about the experimentation of Night IR. It could lead to art when knowing what to take (I mean picture).
Just remember that everything begin with experimentation.

I also agree with Max, this is a Hobby but also something new to learn. Also agree with the compo and story telling.

This is just my opinion.

As crazy as it sounds, it should be great to take some pics in a crowded dancing.