Interesting Minolta Items

This is based on my experience when I ordered some lens from the US in Dec 2005.

The GST is based on the total declared value + a $5 handling fee.

For my case, the total declared value includes shipping and handling charges. GST includes services as well, hence the shipping and handling cost is included in the GST calculation amount.

Worst case scenerio when ordering 2 lens:
GST Amount is (US$199x2 + US$49) x 5% x 1.65 (exchange rate) + SG$5 = SG$41.90 (round up)

Cost per lens = (US$199x2 + US$49) x 1.65 + SG$41.90 / 2 = SG$390 (round-up)

SG$390 for the 28-75 f2.8 (D) is still a very good buy. Cheapest in Singapore if can find is SG$560.

GST is payable for amount exceeding SG$400. For ordering a single lens, it's at the border line case, as the total amount including shipping and handling is around (US$199 + US$44) * 1.65 = SG$400.95

If GST is chargable, then the total cost when ordering a single lens will be SG$401 + 5% + SG$5 = $426.10

Ordering 2 lens (with gst payment) is still cheaper than ordering 1 lens without gst. If escape gst payment when ordering 2 lens....save more. ;)

The only concern is warranty...is Minolta International warranty ?:think:

zcf...you got PM...interested in the 2nd lens if they shipped to you. :thumbsup:

pai said:
be prepared to kena around US$20 of GST because two lenses will cost more than S$400... hopefully they don't realise.

hmm. one lens = $200+44 shipping = $244.
buy two lens = $400+49 shipping+20 tax = $469
469/2 = 234.5...

so still save about US$8.50 on each lens lah, ~ S$14...

or my maths fail?

I am ordering by asking adorama to send to Vpost :sweat: , it's slower, but I think it safe on postage.

Got you PM, but someone sent before you. So unless the other party back out....
I think you better order on your own :sweat:.
Unless... if confirm got more people interested, might as well order a few more pieces and send through Vpost together? :think:
If there are still more copy left :sweat:

zcf said:
I am ordering by asking adorama to send to Vpost :sweat: , it's slower, but I think it safe on postage.

Got you PM, but someone sent before you. So unless the other party back out....
I think you better order on your own :sweat:.
Unless... if confirm got more people interested, might as well order a few more pieces and send through Vpost together? :think:
If there are still more copy left :sweat:

Your order closed? If so, I order myself then. PM me if you still haven't order. ASAP!

eh, let me add to the fire...

i don't think it's a mistake... they are now selling 7D and 28-75 bundle for US$999.95...

which means S$1600 for body and lens together... better than secondhand price for both lor...

http://www.adorama.com/IMN7DK1.html

clearing stocks liao. something is up...

Maybe I will be getting at ard $450 due to credit card not accepted and need to go by wire transfer. No choice but still cheaper if getting from local. New one somemore ;p

Ebay new market for 28-75 f2.8 (D) going to crash liao.......most of the time bidding end at around US$300. Now Adorama plus shipping much cheaper than those plus no need to bid and wait. :D

Seem like they really have a lot of stock for 28-75mm f/2.8.
I actually suspect is KM clear their lens through them :sweat:

The credit card company just call to verify the transaction with Adorama. So I think my order is quite secure :) .

zcf said:
Seem like they really have a lot of stock for 28-75mm f/2.8.
I actually suspect is KM clear their lens through them :sweat:

The credit card company just call to verify the transaction with Adorama. So I think my order is quite secure :) .

u ordered the 28-70 G ?
:lovegrin:

GENO said:
u ordered the 28-70 G ?
:lovegrin:
Nope, saw one in CP just now asking for $2000.00 though :sweat: .
Did order the 28-75mm one, I do wish/dream they send me 28-70mm f/2.8 G at that price ;p .

zcf said:
Nope, saw one in CP just now asking for $2000.00 though :sweat: .
Did order the 28-75mm one, I do wish/dream they send me 28-70mm f/2.8 G at that price ;p .

i also want,, how muchie u order the D?
;p

the price plus postage for 2 to Vpost is around US$411, not sure how credit card charge about exchange rate, not sure about VPOST pricing also. But I expect even after GST, it should be cheaper than or around $400 most per piece.

Actually if you order single copy send to Vpost, if it didn't hit the S$400 limit, you save on the 5% GST also, never thought of that when I order.

zcf said:
the price plus postage for 2 to Vpost is around US$411, not sure how credit card charge about exchange rate, not sure about VPOST pricing also. But I expect even after GST, it should be cheaper than or around $400 most per piece.

Actually if you order single copy send to Vpost, if it didn't hit the S$400 limit, you save on the 5% GST also, never thought of that when I order.

thats cheap..good buy...but is it risky ??
:think:

GENO said:
thats cheap..good buy...but is it risky ??
:think:
Heard that Adorama is a reputable store. But I believe we lose out on the local warranty though :(

but the 7D+28-75 f2.8 lens still showing $999.95 on their system.

Great buy.. I bought one myself.

Hart

Heng la! I thought zcf can help me to get since he order before. I was abt to cancel this order due to transfering of $. Lucky I didn't cancel the order and I still getting it at USD199. But postage will be USD44 for UPS express lor. Need to look for my bank book n go n do some wire transfer soon. ;)

This kind of offer, must grab it once you saw it. Wait somemore, mostly no more. Like our local whereby the HP Laser printer was selling a much much lower price than the original, thousands of ppl grab it. In the end, it was their error. Maybe the lens only got limited which going to sell cheap and we lucky to get our hands on it. Even used sells more expensive than new ones and so, zcf was lucky n so do I. Maybe other might wonder that website for sometime n hope to find some goodies too. All the best! ;)