Hmmm a piece of advice, professional crew do not do anything for free no matter how wild and solid your idea is. Reasoning very simple, any awards that you get, they wont have a part in it. You have never heard of Best Grip or Best Camera Assistant award right? So to them its the money that talks. You are asking crew to come out with their own money to join you on this venture... I would say you will not have much luck. Of course there will be students that might naively think this could be a big break for them, but honestly you will then get problems like bad lighting, poor camera work, lousy sound and end of the day you shoot for nothing. Not trying to pour cold water but just trying to let you know the facts. Students are cheap or free but most of the time, they are just not experienced. What we do is we have experienced crew and some students as juniors to help. But letting students run the show completely? Recipe for disaster.
Good luck in your project.
You're right that no crew will want to invest their time & efforts on free jobs.....and me too, I downright HATE exploitation of students, but not because I think they cannot deliver the work. With proper supervision, students can be developed into future potential talents in the creative line.
As for investing time & money into a film/project, I believe you're probably still not familiar with the business of film/TV and owning content.... Crews will not work for free, and neither will I if I see no benefits for me as a DOP or Editor. However, I will definitely not hesitate to take the position of Executive Producer and partly owning the content if I've been asked to invest my time & money on the project in ways of 'funding' or providing for production support & post facilities.
Thanks for clearing that up DXNMedia. I was a bit too tired to explain. At the mere mention of the word "students"... suddenly words like "disaster" and "free labour" crops up. I sincerely hope future additions to this thread to stay on topic and hope that no further "misinformation" is introduced. Thanks![]()
I do agree that not much professional will do for free, that's not becos they have no passion, but simply becos they need to feed themselves and their family...
but i also believe there are people with very strong passion who are brave enough to go all out for their passion (probably finacially not an issue).. Hobbes and jaegersing are 2 good examples.. so do DXNmedia.
Hobbes has produced interesting short films.. I think he is resourcefully, talented and passionate.. he is not producing something to make $, but something for his passion.. i think he manage to get abit of funding and support from various sources from productions to post.
Wat i think here is, it really depends on individual background, financial status and other factors.. honestly for myself, I cant afford to have any income losses or my family will suffer! BUT.. if today i am going to strike toto of $3M, i will definately wanted to join as a team for this interesting project..!
and students?? i beleive many of us here was once a students b4.. :thumbsup:
well said.....but unfortunately, I do have bread & butter issues to worry about too.... :cry:
Else I'd be off in a Landrover Defender or Hummer, complete with GPS, satellite uplink facility, travelling for months on the road up as far north as I can go with a trusty brand new Sony HDCAM Cine Alta (+ backup Sony XDCAM EX), with plenty of HDD space on my mobile editing suite, complete with a popular TV host & ....
Now who wants to sponsor? :bsmilie:
Hmm...Sony? General Motors? Nat Geo? Shell?
Or maybe even sponsor me a hybrid vehicle for me to document the whole travel process to show how capable the car is...
:think:
I would be lucky if even canon make me their spokesperson lah bro. Bro i tink its better if u have an OB van complete wif EVS and microwave link can make loadsa $$$$$ ! hehehe but seriously travelogue are tiring and it can take quite a heavy toll to crew esp if logistics are not right.
sigh.....perhaps I should move out of SG to bigger market.... ;p
Yeah, we'll all dreaming....that's why we're in the creative industry.
I did thought of OB setup, but not viable in Singapore.
No demand lar....u see Mediacorp Digital OB van only used for a few occassion.
SLeague, NDP, National Day speech, etc...
Since I do fly gas powered RC helicopters, I also did attempt for 'flying-cam' setup, complete with platform, simple motorised 1-axis tilt, onboard recorder, 3CCD cam + 2.4ghz downlink for preview, etc...but not viable too....again, falls to lack of demand in an extremely niche market + legal/insurance issues.....sigh.....perhaps I should move out of SG to bigger market.... ;p
go ahead bro do sumting sum1 hasn't but make sure ur RC heli is a powerful 1 if nt it will wobble when it goes higher![]()
I oso ever tot of mounting a cam on a RC heli.. but just never carry out such trial..
Infact i was in such unit when in my airf@rce days!
yeah but u have sumting wat othas dun have and never dare to try!
I do not have a RC plane to try lay..![]()
Flying a RC plane is not easy, not to mention RC helicopters.
And these machines are not TOYS like what most people will think.
They're a piece of high-precision machinery, requires some basic flight, aerodynamics, engineering & electronic knowledge in the setting up process, and for the piloting, you need to have good eyesight, orientation, reflexes & motor co-ordination skills.
Not to forget, these machines can kill too.
:nono: