Instruction on comments

hello ESPN brother!

did i said anything wrong or did anything wrong to u?
or is it my nick that u hate? sorry lah.. can't help it mah, i'm a chelsea fc fan..

if u think my comments are worthless, i will keep that in mind when i post another one (excluding this). btw hor, i've never ever mentioned anything that what DP had posted were bad or wrong or unconstructive.. i'm neutral.. i'm just unhappy to see ppl bombing him subsequently and flooded the thread with alot of unwanted post.. this thread is just my wishful thinking of helping the forum to solve this issue.. so sorry if it caused any disturbances to u or DP..

lucky that i didn't posted many worthless comments.. if not have to apologise to a long list of ppl

To : Kelvin, Derrick, Nick Goh, Moderators, ESPN and DeadPoet
Please accept my sincere apologies if my actions or comments caused any distress or confusion to you. If we happened to meet someday, Kopi on me! :)

improve SAF?? nah.. i just hoped to get out of there ASAP, tht's all.. hahaha

sorry that i added another worthless post, but i hoped to make friends, not enemies here..
moderator also said must make friends mah..

friends?

chelseafc said:
2. the reason why i posted this is hoping that the moderator can do something abt it. my suggestion might not work and i didn't said it will and must work. However, i'm disappointed with the reply. wht u are trying to tell me is 'mind your own business'? yes, no one forced me to read those meaningless thread. yes, CS is full of OT and tht's the way it is. BUT, Singapore won't be what it is now if MM Lee applied the AIL 30 years back. u quoted 'We need members who believe in upholding the standard of CS (in all aspects) to help us out by not giving up'. This is precisely what i'm trying to DO! i sensed that this might be a problem and i'm trying to help. i won't even bother to type all these if i have given up. AIL

You have taken my message the wrong way. I am not telling you to mind your own business. My reply was aiming at your responses to the OT posts and drama in certain threads. If you think those are meaningless to you, then don't read. Those threads are not the only threads that CS has to offer, that's what I am trying to say. You are more than encouraged to engage yourself in meaningful discussions that suit your taste, and very welcomed to provide feedback and suggestions on how CS can be improved.

If you sense that my original reply to you carries a dismissive tone, then please accept my apologies. It is just that while you have raised a valid concern, your suggested solution will only worsen the situation.

The moderators are not just sitting back doing nothing. If that's the case you would not even get a response to your post here.

The admins have not intended for CS to have a very formal and serious setting. The intent was to create a casual environment for photo enthusiasts, newbie or experienced, to share experience and knowledge. With such a setting, it has thus become impractical for the moderators to try to weed out OT posts altogether or mediate disputes the moment they arise.

Hope this clarifies our stand better to you.

- Roy

Actually, I find that most of these complains are lodged by users who are only interested in information and has no interest in sharing their own thoughts/comments at all.

It's interesting to see that we actually have to humour those who 'leech' information and respond to their whims and whines because they cannot 'leech' in peace. Whereas those that are active (be it constructive or not) are constantly targetted for OT etc blah blah.

I went past your posts, not the number of post counts. If yours are called comments, DeadPoet's comments are what? Do you really even know what comments are, there's constructive and unconstructive one. Before running, learn how to walk.

Do what? People just lurk and expect the best, no contribution nothing and trying to change the world. Like what my RSM used to say "You trying to improve SAF issit?".

I looked through chelseafc's posts also and find most of them valid and constructive, despite only having 7 posts outside of this thread. Don't understand the comparison you are making between chelseafc's and DP's comments. They have different styles of posting comments and are you saying DP's comments are somehow superior to chelseafc's?

We welcome suggestions from members regardless of longevitiy and post count in CS. We will also deal with OT and offensive posts the same way reagrdless of longevity and post count in CS.

You remark of 'leeching" and "no contribution" is baseless, and what's wrong with trying to improve SAF? Are we to adopt your RSM's attitude towards SAF here for CS also?

chelseafc said:
i've been looking at the threads in the forum, esp Portraits and Poses.
initially, i was like looking for threads that has more replies, hoping to gain more from there. More replies could be that there are alot of constructive advices and comments. Right?
No?
what logic is there, drawing an imaginary correlation between higher post counts and better quality posts? :dunno:

chelseafc said:
but i was WRONG. 9 out of 10 threads that has high view counts and numerous replies are due to some 'unwanted' comments made to the pics posted. Everything seems to be going on fine until some XXXXXXXX guy (hereafter, i will call this guy, the D guy) posted his view on the pic. From that moment onwards, 90% of the subsequent replies were targeted at this D guy.
where did you get these statistics from? :think:

chelseafc said:
At first, i was quite entertained by the comments.. it's like watching a TV drama.. hahaha..
but then, after watching a few episode, i realised that i'm here to learn, not to watch drama!
i couldn't find anything helpful or constructive from all this flaming.

I was surprised that nothing was done to stop this..
So, here i am, to offer u guys a solution.

For anyone who wish to start a thread, he/she can add a line on the 1st post.
he/she can add something like this
'XXXXXXXX is NOT WELCOMED to post any comments and remark in this thread.'
If the thread starter didn't put anything, it's free for all to comment.

So, if the unwelcomed party still insist in posting a comment in a thread with the line added, moderator shld come in to delete it, as well as to issue a warning to that guy.

I hoped that u guys could take a look at my suggestion and make this forum a better place to learn photography
seems to me you came to the forum all ready with an expectation of how the experience would be like for you. failing which and feeling disappointed, you offered a "solution" which borders on being laughable (to say the least).

"Don't come into my thread hor, wait i beat you! I tell teacher!" :bsmilie:

the failure of the forum as a fertile photographic education ground for you lies not with the forum itself, but perhaps with you.
my suggestion for you: re-align your expectations and open up your horizon to look beyond the surface of the forum, and the forum itself. you just might find yourself a few good friends here to take along on your journey.

ask not what the forum can do for you, but what you can do for it. a forum is but a meeting place for open discussion, where all voices are free to speak up (and be questioned, if need be). well then, you have made the first step by posting this thread, i guess :think:

roygoh said:
I looked through chelseafc's posts also and find most of them valid and constructive, despite only having 7 posts outside of this thread. Don't understand the comparison you are making between chelseafc's and DP's comments. They have different styles of posting comments and are you saying DP's comments are somehow superior to chelseafc's?
I didn't, you planted that thought into your head, not via my mouth/typing. Now I know what's a comment according to your theorem.

roygoh said:
We welcome suggestions from members regardless of longevitiy and post count in CS. We will also deal with OT and offensive posts the same way reagrdless of longevity and post count in CS.
Yeah yeah, tell me about it. I don't want to quote the example again. I'll just leave it be. Just make sure you do what you preach.

roygoh said:
You remark of 'leeching" and "no contribution" is baseless, and what's wrong with trying to improve SAF? Are we to adopt your RSM's attitude towards SAF here for CS also?
You didn't see my words had a quote/enquote around? Why take it word for word literally. You're too tensed up. I was making the remarks in general, only my "Do what" would be in relation to the quote I posted.

Nothing's wrong in trying to improve SAF but you can't do it even if you tried.

Thanks Roy for explaining again..
kinda get wht u meant and sorry for the previous misunderstanding.

starting this thread would be one of the strong candidate for the most regrettable thing i done in 2006.

from the initial 'try' in helping to the explaination and the final apologise, i think i did all.. James Gomez didn't even have the explanation! hahaha.. :P

i don't want all the OT and yet my own thread create so many.. I want peace and yet i sense hostility. i want to end all this by closing this thread yet i can't find the CLOSE button!! Arrgghh.. things just not going my way :(

cool it, everyone!! until the mysterious close button appear again, i plead that we just let this thread get thrown to the page 2.. 3 .. 4... and gone!

if u think it's not enough and want more explanation from me, pls do it via PM.. apologise also not a problem!

Thanks everyone who contributed to this thread and have a nice weekend!

chelseafc said:

starting this thread would be one of the strong candidate for the most regrettable thing i done in 2006.

from the initial 'try' in helping to the explaination and the final apologise, i think i did all.. James Gomez didn't even have the explanation! hahaha.. :P

i don't want all the OT and yet my own thread create so many.. I want peace and yet i sense hostility. i want to end all this by closing this thread yet i can't find the CLOSE button!! Arrgghh.. things just not going my way :(

cool it, everyone!! until the mysterious close button appear again, i plead that we just let this thread get thrown to the page 2.. 3 .. 4... and gone!

if u think it's not enough and want more explanation from me, pls do it via PM.. apologise also not a problem!

Thanks everyone who contributed to this thread and have a nice weekend!

stop being so apologetic lah! aiyo! have a thick skin.....like DP! :bsmilie:

chelseafc said:

Doubt our Chelsea fan will be back to read this, but just in case.

If starting this thread is a strong candidate for the worse thing you did in 2006, you have a very very good year.

Damn, you are thin skinned, and you love to apologise. Stand up for what you believe like a man, you may still be wrong, but go down in flaming glory. Just as a Klingon would say, "it's a good day to die". But I doubt you will do that, becasue aside from being a apologist, you quit when things not going your way.

If you so happen to read this, and disagree, proof it, proof that I am wrong, because what you had done so far, proofs me correct.

Actually, I find that most of these complains are lodged by users who are only interested in information and has no interest in sharing their own thoughts/comments at all.

It's interesting to see that we actually have to humour those who 'leech' information and respond to their whims and whines because they cannot 'leech' in peace. Whereas those that are active (be it constructive or not) are constantly targetted for OT etc blah blah.

What's wrong with coming in just to "leech" information. Its the net, you come in to look for information. That's also the fundamental business model that makes search engine companies profitable -- to search for information.

Its silly. Its silly if there is a need to further filter out OTs when the search for a particular topic is supposed to drastically narrow down to your topic of interest.

Its great revelation when you agree that these people cannot "leech" in peace due to your massive OT contribution to the forum. :thumbsup:

The Nikon Subforum really sux in substance and MY *subjective* (here's your chance, humour me) view is you people have a great deal to do with the bombardment of OT comments.

i've seen a surge in the amount of posts that say "KRW rocks" in many threads, some even totally unrelated to the OP