Info Needed on Anilao, Philippines

diver-hloc

Staff member
Hi....

Me and my diving Kakis are planning for a dive trip next year (around late Feb to Mar) to Anilao, Philippines.

I know that place is quite famous for their Muck dive (Macro photography :thumbsup:). Looking at some of the 'Old' posting here is really helpful. Would like some help in recommonding of some good Dive Centre around the area.... or any thing we should look out for (food, must see dive site, weather, timing, giant squids sightings that would be at a certain place ... at a certain time :bsmilie:..... etc)

Thxs in ADV :thumbsup:

Hi....

Me and my diving Kakis are planning for a dive trip next year (around late Feb to Mar) to Anilao, Philippines.

I know that place is quite famous for their Muck dive (Macro photography :thumbsup:). Looking at some of the 'Old' posting here is really helpful. Would like some help in recommonding of some good Dive Centre around the area.... or any thing we should look out for (food, must see dive site, weather, timing, giant squids sightings that would be at a certain place ... at a certain time :bsmilie:..... etc)

Thxs in ADV :thumbsup:

Would suggest trying out Planet Dive. That's where I usually jump off when I dive in the Philippines. Although I saw once that somebody stayed in Monte Carlo - haven't tried though. If money is not an issue and you want hotel-type amenities, you should try Solana.

Dive sites where they normally go for muck diving is Basura (literally translated as garbage), Aphols, Beatrice, Batok (located at the back of Sombrero Islands), then they have the new/secret muck place, but you got to ask the DMs of Planet Dive where that is.

Happy diving.

Cheers,

Art

Would suggest trying out Planet Dive. That's where I usually jump off when I dive in the Philippines. Although I saw once that somebody stayed in Monte Carlo - haven't tried though. If money is not an issue and you want hotel-type amenities, you should try Solana.

Dive sites where they normally go for muck diving is Basura (literally translated as garbage), Aphols, Beatrice, Batok (located at the back of Sombrero Islands), then they have the new/secret muck place, but you got to ask the DMs of Planet Dive where that is.

Happy diving.

Cheers,

Art

Thxs Bro..... :thumbsup:

ask eric leong la!

Ya i agree. He told me the other time he knows the best guides there. :bsmilie:
Actually what are your dates? Thought of making a return trip there next march as well during school holidays. :think:

i will be in Anilao again from 25-29Oct, sorry no space liao.
Next visit most likely end Nov.

Ya i agree. He told me the other time he knows the best guides there. :bsmilie:
Actually what are your dates? Thought of making a return trip there next march as well during school holidays. :think:

Not too sure yet.... as most of the kakis can't commit before the beginning of the year.... :sweat: only when I have the 'manpower' list could I start planning dates and length of the trip.

i will be in Anilao again from 25-29Oct, sorry no space liao.
Next visit most likely end Nov.

No problem..... since we can't make it this year anyway :bsmilie:

does any1 dive with 'Dive & Trek' in Anilao b4 ?

No worries man.

There are plenty of resorts in Anilao to fit diff budget. The diff is whether can get a pro photo guide to spot for you. The going rate for a pro guide is S$100/day. The guide will make sure you get the photos.

Anilao in Batangas Philippines is a diver's haven,but i would like to suggest that down south in the Philippines which is Cebu is also a perfect place for divers especially in Moalboal and Malapascua Island where you can have a close encounter with the friendly trsher sharks,mantay rays and large size cuttle fish.

Just came back from Malapascua this june..... No sighting of Thesher... but did saw 2 Manta :thumbsup:

Thats why we are planning to go Anilao this time for Muck Diving..... The problem I'm having now, is that most of the DC doesn't reply to me or my friend.... We are trying to confirm with a DC call 'Dive & Trek'..... they have answered before, but have now remain slient :sweat:

Make worst by the fact that we have already brought Airticket :sweatsm:

Just came back from Malapascua this june..... No sighting of Thesher... but did saw 2 Manta :thumbsup:

Thats why we are planning to go Anilao this time for Muck Diving..... The problem I'm having now, is that most of the DC doesn't reply to me or my friend.... We are trying to confirm with a DC call 'Dive & Trek'..... they have answered before, but have now remain slient :sweat:

Think my friend heading to crystal blue. Nice place but not sure about the dive guides. If not ask eric leong loh... ;)

Ask Eric Leong already..... he gave me some very good information. :thumbsup:

My problem now is that the DC we have emailed to, have a very slow respond speed..... I think, could be due to the internet system there, and have yet to answer our question on a few issue. Mainly the amount to downpayment and how to pay them..... (DC wants 50% and us to send them a cheque or something....). :sweat:

Due to the date of the trip.... still more than 3mths to go, we offer them 20% and settling everything the moment we got there.... so, still waiting for their reply. :(

oh i see..too bad no trsher,but happy to have a good dive..actually philippines has a lot of dive sites and that includes Bohol, Philippines and in Dumaguete where the Apo Reef is...then there is Davao down south where(if lucky)you will came across the frequent Sperm whale visitor(hehehe)along Samal Island in Davao City(its good to have Muck Diving where you can find pygmy sea horse only as big as pencil's eraser head!;))

FYI - last week Anilao area has 2 Whale Sharks very close to shore line and loads of Jellyfish too. I jumped in without a suit....and you know la......painful!!!!

WhaleShark.jpg

wow!nice..very nice

thanks for sharing sir!

FYI - last week Anilao area has 2 Whale Sharks very close to shore line and loads of Jellyfish too. I jumped in without a suit....and you know la......painful!!!!

Yeah.... kena alot of Jellyfish also at Malapascua. So much so that the dive boat have a few bottle of vinegar on standby. :bsmilie:

Yea.....I was bathing with Vinegar lor

Hijack this thread.

Any suggest which DC /Resort for Anilao ? planning of doing some diving after biz meeting at manila :embrass:

Hijack this thread.

Any suggest which DC /Resort for Anilao ? planning of doing some diving after biz meeting at manila :embrass:

Larry's :)
Solana has closed now unfortunately.