iMac or MacBook ?

fabianaino

Hi Guys,
Need some mature advise here. Can't seem to see things correctly in this dilemma.. :(

I am going MAC. But previously I had purchased a Samsung 245T monitor for my lappy 6 months ago. And now I had sold off my lappy.

My question in mind is : should I go for a macbook( 2.4GHZ ) and use back the monitor OR should I go for the 24" iMac ( 2.66GHZ ) instead??

The Imac's spec is definately better than the macbk and it's $140 cheaper. ( makes business sense ) but also being larger and impossible to carry around, I cannot bring the imac around and somehow "loses" the glam factor of a mac when meeting clients.. :(
Also if i purchase the iMac, I will have TWO 24" monitors sitting side by side which sounds alittle silly. Unless there's a very good reason for haviong TWO instead of one.

The macbk on the other hand can be carry around and I can use back my monitor ( which is not wasted or lose out if I sell it ). Of coz there's also the feel good factor when it is being carried around.

Anyone out these who has convert from PC to Mac and has these similiar dilemma? care to share?
What do you guys think?

You have already answered your own question....
Bottomline, do you need the mobility? If yes, go for MB. If no, iMac is a better choice. :D

BTW iMac also allow you to connect another monitor and use it as an extension.

i guess since you already have a monitor, you should just buy the macbook because you can bring your work around with you with the laptop. convenience.

but if its purely a cost factor, you can sell away your monitor and buy the 24 imac, in that case you won't have a redundant monitor.

You have already answered your own question....
Bottomline, do you need the mobility? If yes, go for MB. If no, iMac is a better choice. :D

BTW iMac also allow you to connect another monitor and use it as an extension.

yes I know :( both has its pros and cons ..and I have seen two 24" side by side and it's HUGE. and I felt silly having two monitors.

i guess since you already have a monitor, you should just buy the macbook because you can bring your work around with you with the laptop. convenience.

but if its purely a cost factor, you can sell away your monitor and buy the 24 imac, in that case you won't have a redundant monitor.

Few wants to buy such and expensive monitor... hard to sell. :( If I can sell my 245T i will definitely go for the iMac but now with my current monitor, it seems well too to get something mobile.... but I cannot ignore the higher specs of the iMac when compare to Macbk. :( such a good value for money when compare to macbk..

if space permit, two monitors are better one, i use two monitor when i use
PS. one for PS,another for opening up folders and mail. you will find that your workflow is a lot better and save time.

cheer

if space permit, two monitors are better one, i use two monitor when i use
PS. one for PS,another for opening up folders and mail. you will find that your workflow is a lot better and save time.

cheer

Are u using the extra screen as a desktop extension?
mmm ... that's a thought... Perhaps Bridge in one screen and PS on the other? :think:

Are u using the extra screen as a desktop extension?
mmm ... that's a thought... Perhaps Bridge in one screen and PS on the other? :think:
Which model are you buying?
24" 2.93Ghz @$2,888?

any special deal? :think:

Which model are you buying?
24" 2.93Ghz @$2,888?

any special deal? :think:

I was thinking about the 24" 2.66Ghz one...
No deal ler ... just from Epic center lor .. U have any lobang? I still work with Excel, Powerpoint and Word from MS .... u reckon I should get the office for Mac ... or just get the MS OS instead? I already have the MS Office version ..

I had the same dilemma a few days back. I currently own a black Macbook, and was thinking of upgrading to a Macbook Pro. I finally decided to order a high-end iMac as I don't really need the mobility. It's more powerful, got better graphics, bigger and faster hard drive, and cheaper to boot. And since I already own MS Office and PS for Windows, I just ordered the upgrades for the Mac version. Using the Windows versions under Bootcamp or VMware is still a pain...

If you don't have any use for your existing monitor, just sell it off. You'd be surprised at the number of people willing to get it off your hands, specially if the price is good.

I had the same dilemma a few days back. I currently own a black Macbook, and was thinking of upgrading to a Macbook Pro. I finally decided to order a high-end iMac as I don't really need the mobility. It's more powerful, got better graphics, bigger and faster hard drive, and cheaper to boot. And since I already own MS Office and PS for Windows, I just ordered the upgrades for the Mac version. Using the Windows versions under Bootcamp or VMware is still a pain...

If you don't have any use for your existing monitor, just sell it off. You'd be surprised at the number of people willing to get it off your hands, specially if the price is good.

Hey thanks for your inputs.

What do you mean when u said upgrade your windows PS and office for the Mac version?
I was thinking to use bootcamp when switching between MS office and MAC PS or simply using VMware . What do you mean a pain to use?

Ya I am also selling my Monitor now ..Had already out an ad on ebay and Hardwarezone ... not in CS though ... they don't allow monitor advertisment.. :(

The 2.66 imac has the same integrated graphics as the macbook so I'd probably go with the notebook since you already have a 24" now. Unless you go for an imac with dedicated graphics, they are pretty much the same except for the screen size (notebook versus imac).
Ram and HD are upgradeable in both systems.

hi bro, since you already have your own monitor, maybe you can consider about the mac mini also. since it can connect to any monitor and it is small in size. ps: you need to buy extra keyboard and mouse for mac mini.
:) sorry if i out of your topic (macbook VS iMac). :p

Since you post in this forum, I assume one of the purpose of the new computer is for photo editing. If so, then iMac is definitely a better choice, bigger screen, faster, etc.

The 2.66 imac has the same integrated graphics as the macbook so I'd probably go with the notebook since you already have a 24" now. Unless you go for an imac with dedicated graphics, they are pretty much the same except for the screen size (notebook versus imac).
Ram and HD are upgradeable in both systems.

Yup the RAM and HD can be upgraded but so is the cost. :(
The macbk is 2.4Ghz and the Imac's 2.66Ghz, you reckon there's any difference?

I am quite particular abt the type of screen as well. If I am not wrong the Macbk is a TN type-like panel whereas the Imac uses a IPS panel (correct me if I am wrong here ). The Imac has a wider viewing angle compare to macbk. That's why if I am getting a macbk I am going to keep my current screen, if I am going for the Imac, I am selling my samsung. :(

hi bro, since you already have your own monitor, maybe you can consider about the mac mini also. since it can connect to any monitor and it is small in size. ps: you need to buy extra keyboard and mouse for mac mini.
:) sorry if i out of your topic (macbook VS iMac).

Nope you are not out of topic bro. In fact thanks for the alternative.
In fact I did consider the Mini before. However the speed is only 2Ghz at $1349. Upgrade the speed to 2.26Ghz, it's 1584. Total = 1349 + 1035( my samsung screen ) = $2619 with 2GB RAM. I find it expensive. My previous lappy is already 2.2Ghz with 2GB RAM. :(

Since you post in this forum, I assume one of the purpose of the new computer is for photo editing. If so, then iMac is definitely a better choice, bigger screen, faster, etc.

Yes...am considering. Only wondering abt mobility as well. :( Plus the possibility that I will have a hard time selling my current screen if I get the Imac ....
Decision, Decision, Decision ...

make up your decision and check the best price now .... and then wait for the next offers from one of the dealers during the weekend. Since there are now so many dealers and retailers, someone is going to give us a good offer (better than the PC show) :bsmilie::sweatsm:
maybe we can pool and buy a few units together ...:think:

I have a mini, used for 1.5 yrs and then send for repair (costly) .... and then it is now somewhere in my house ... too small to take notice :dunno: simply too slow.

now looking for a desktop for some simple video editing ....
was looking at OEM (Pluto) and the guy insisted that there is no need for high end machine, will cost about $1,800 .... no need for Vista 64-bit, no need for Core i7 chipset, no need 4Gb ram, etc, just the Q8200 is good enough.... whapian, sibei confusing ....

so now looking at apple. G5 is nice, but too costly for my application. 24" iMac( 2.66GHZ ) is nice, but dont really like everything built into the monitor, also not cheap la ... $2,488:think:

decision, decision, decision!

make up your decision and check the best price now .... and then wait for the next offers from one of the dealers during the weekend. Since there are now so many dealers and retailers, someone is going to give us a good offer (better than the PC show) :bsmilie::sweatsm:
maybe we can pool and buy a few units together ...:think:

I have a mini, used for 1.5 yrs and then send for repair (costly) .... and then it is now somewhere in my house ... too small to take notice :dunno: simply too slow.

now looking for a desktop for some simple video editing ....
was looking at OEM (Pluto) and the guy insisted that there is no need for high end machine, will cost about $1,800 .... no need for Vista 64-bit, no need for Core i7 chipset, no need 4Gb ram, etc, just the Q8200 is good enough.... whapian, sibei confusing ....

so now looking at apple. G5 is nice, but too costly for my application. 24" iMac( 2.66GHZ ) is nice, but dont really like everything built into the monitor, also not cheap la ... $2,488:think:

decision, decision, decision!

I read here that Imac monitor not as good as what was said.
Any one with experience?

.. hiazz ...

Hey thanks for your inputs.

What do you mean when u said upgrade your windows PS and office for the Mac version?
I was thinking to use bootcamp when switching between MS office and MAC PS or simply using VMware . What do you mean a pain to use?

Ya I am also selling my Monitor now ..Had already out an ad on ebay and Hardwarezone ... not in CS though ... they don't allow monitor advertisment.. :(

You can upgrade your Windows version of your software to the current Mac versions for less than the full version price. And even though Bootcamp or VMware will allow you to run your Windows software in a window, it's still not the same as running in native mode. And you'll soon hate it when you start switching with Bootcamp. Under VMware, not all Windows software can run, so I just try to look for Mac equivalents. Apple download site offers a lot of freebies in that department.

I think you can connect your LCD to the iMac and get 2 24" screens extended desktop right?

Suppose you can compare 2 100% Crops very very big next to each other? :bsmilie:

I have an older macbook (white one from nov 2007), and the intergrated gfx ( I think its x3100 or something) is quite poor, even though it's supposed to be quite good. Ah.

About VMWare right, it takes up quite abit of ram to use. So gotta upgrade RAM if you want to PS in Windows via VMware.

But Mac PS and Mac Office 2008 are the same as the Windows editions, and I dare say slightly better.

Bootcamp.. Is a Pain. You will end up rebooting alot, getting frustrated, and eventually stay on one OS. If you stay on Windows, you loose the whole point of having a mac. If you stay on Mac, you loose some windows apps. If you use VMware, you loose speed. :(