If you have kids, what computer OS will you teach him?

hwchoy said:
just less crappy? :bsmilie:

how come nobody want to teach their kids VM? :think:

vm or vms? :think:

VM lah. it is technically more interesting than VMS :D

but of course if you want to really twist your kids' brains, teach them the B6600 architecture instead
Yellow!%20banana.gif

hwchoy said:
VM lah. it is technically more interesting than VMS :D

but of course if you want to really twist your kids' brains, teach them the B6600 architecture instead
Yellow!%20banana.gif

i thought you pro-vms? change liao ah? :think:

madmacs said:
i thought you pro-vms? change liao ah? :think:

VM is fundamentally interesting mah, just like recursive routines, Burrough 6600 stack machine, and such :) VMS is just a very fine regular OS :cool: unfortunately the virtual-VMS didn't get launch I think.

I will teach them windows, because mac is sooo much easier/simplier to use! Even a 3yr-old can pick it up on his own. :)

Teach him how to write an OS ;)

I'll teach them MacOS followed by Open Source Solutions like Linux and *nix systems first.

Windows will come last.

it is not the OS problem, it is the user problem.

why not teach both windows and mac, i know both pretty well, does no harm!!!

My 8 year old son prefers Ubuntu to Windows.

You just let them lose on the computer and they will teach you how to do things.

strictly speaking so call "teach them OS" is really "teach them the UI (and perhaps API)". there's very little in the underlying OS that is meaningful to casual users.

UNIX - practically unbreakable... (I mean shell programming... not UI!)
MAC
(closest is Linux)

Windows - to show that the world isn't perfect.

hwchoy said:
strictly speaking so call "teach them OS" is really "teach them the UI (and perhaps API)". there's very little in the underlying OS that is meaningful to casual users.

wah...you damn fussy leh. :sweat:

old age ah? :sweatsm:

madmacs said:
wah...you damn fussy leh. :sweat:

old age ah? :sweatsm:

arbuthen, else everyone run around shouting: "OS! OS!". its like saying since I can stop headache by prescribing panadol then I am a brain surgeon. :sweat: