PetaPixel I Review Gear for a Living, This is What I Actually Use

RSSNewsFeeder

Apr 9, 2018
The World
www.clubsnap.com
I-Review-Gear-for-a-Living-This-is-What-I-Actually-Use-800x420.jpg

I review a lot of photography equipment and have for the last nearly 10 years. That means that I have had extended hands-on experience with basically every system out there, and though I may have mostly good things to say about the equipment everyone makes, I do of course have preferences.

Recently Planet Unicorn, the company in which I am proud to be a partner, produced one of our biggest projects yet with some of the most compelling challenges we’ve ever faced, all right before a global pandemic dramatically changed timelines and the ability to work as a team.

I don’t normally put a ton of emphasis on equipment when I talk about what makes a production successful, but in this specific case, I thought it would be worth looking at exactly how we shot this project, and why the equipment we chose was the best choice for the task.

The Project

Toby Harriman, my director at Planet Unicorn, is perhaps the hardest working, hustle hustle hustle, brilliant creative visionary I know. If there is one guy who can see the big picture and actually make it happen, it’s Toby.

He had been in conversation with a company called Volansi for some time regarding the production of content for their very cool delivery drones. He stayed on their radar for a while before they finally let him know that a new maritime-focused drone was coming out in 2020, and they wanted us to produce the launch content. Called the VOLY M20, it would nearly double the size of their next largest drone, and take up a footprint about the size of two Mini Coopers side by side.