I heard Leica M9 only can 1-2 frames per sec

artspraken

I read alot of praise for the M9, but only one review mentioned that it has a limitation of 1 - 2 frames per sec.

I find this very difficult to accept leh. do you?

The Major Flaw of the M9

For all there is to recommend the M9, there are a few things where cameras selling for thousands of dollars less put it to shame and may affect the suitability of the M9 for certain pro applications.

These include the following:.

* Capable of only 1-2 frames per second
* Lack of weather sealing
* No live view
* No integrated dust removal system
* Absence of any video mode

http://www.digitaljournalist.org/issue0911/camera-corner-the-leica-m9.html

I don't find this a limitation at all.

Prevents over-shooting and gives you a real feel of a rangefinder. ;)

Hm, for all you know they purposely made it as such to make the experience feel more "authentic"... :)

I don't think it's a big deal, most traditional RF shooters shoot WAAAAAAAY slower than that.

any serious leica shooter would have shot with film leicas before and 1-2 frames was acceptable back then and no one complained. Neither do they now. You don't buy leicas because of features. You buy them because they are leicas.

I read alot of praise for the M9, but only one review mentioned that it has a limitation of 1 - 2 frames per sec.

I find this very difficult to accept leh. do you?

http://www.digitaljournalist.org/issue0911/camera-corner-the-leica-m9.html

why is it so difficult to accept leh?

It's not meant to be used for shooting football matches. You can buy a cheaper D3 to do that...

Even if the M9 body is capable of shooting at 8 frames per sec, can someone focus that fast in 1 sec? :)

Sounds ok to me for a RF. :bsmilie:

Anyways most ppl can dream about owning a Leica. ;P me included.

Even if the M9 body is capable of shooting at 8 frames per sec, can someone focus that fast in 1 sec? :)
how many other high end cameras can say that it comes with an unique one-point manual continuous servo focusing. :bsmilie:

you want to burst shot?

poor hcb must be turning over in his grave, the decisive moment has become captured by machine gunning.. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

I have been using a Leica M8 for almost 3 years, I nave not use continuous mode more than 5 times. To be frank, I can't focus that fast either.

Question. When sports photogs shoot in burst mode, do they change their focus mid-burst?
If they don't, then rf users not being able to focus that fast seems to be a moot point.

I have been using a Leica M8 for almost 3 years, I nave not use continuous mode more than 5 times. To be frank, I can't focus that fast either.

Even if the M9 body is capable of shooting at 8 frames per sec, can someone focus that fast in 1 sec?

yah hor. how come i never think of this. very true.

Not say sports photography (dun think M9 the tele zoom got so power enough for sports),

But hor, lets suppose I am GWC and want to use M9 to pewpew during a model shoot.

If the fps is only 1 to 2, then I might miss the model's pose lei. That means must play slow music so that the posture dun move so fast

Not say sports photography, lets suppose I am GWC and want to use M9 to pewpew during a model shoot.

If the fps is only 1 to 2, then I might miss the model's pose lei. That means must play slow music so that the posture dun move so fast

I think you answered your own question ya? :bsmilie:

Leica's simply aren't built for optimal functionality, in comparision to other professional digital bodies out there :p

M9 is almost the ideal digital rangefinder to me.

Do I need fast burst mode?
No. Not for digital rangefinder. I will use a DSLR with auto focus lens for this purpose.

Do I need weather sealing?
Yes. It will be perfect.

Do I need live view?
No. Not necessary.

Do I need auto cleaning sensor?
Good to have, not a must.

Do I need Video mode?
No, no, no way. I will use video cam and not a rangefinder.

poor hcb must be turning over in his grave, the decisive moment has become captured by machine gunning.. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

You think so? :devil:

Wonder which camera would HCB choose if he had a choice of an autofocus SLR with burst mode, and a rangefinder? I suppose we will never know. HCB never had the choice, did he? :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Leica's simply aren't built for optimal functionality, in comparision to other professional digital bodies out there :p

Wow!

You mean people actually buy Leica knowing that these cameras are not built for optimal functionality? Or maybe I got you wrong?

Not say sports photography (dun think M9 the tele zoom got so power enough for sports),

But hor, lets suppose I am GWC and want to use M9 to pewpew during a model shoot.

you're better off with a dslr :bsmilie: