I Am So Frustrated.

no problem... its really not your faults :D

I was already aware of the software problem as i took alot of effort to find out about this cam.. so .. haiz :sweat:

Anyway, i checked the software version using the method from alex's link, it's v756-76 :cry:

Thank you to all who have tried to offer some help either by advise or by consolation or encouragement... really appreciate it :lovegrin: :lovegrin:

Alex, u got me abit worried there, u were mentioning, the 2nd set that was exchanged for you, there was STILL something wrong with the frame assist thingy?

I was thinking, if they can't guarantee that the new batch will not cause any more problems months later I am going to.. umm.. don't know if any olympus staff is watching the forum so i don't wanna say.

I'll update.. i guess i'm going on monday or tuesday.. once the new year is over.. *buay da han* :angry:

:lovegrin:

Pinkishy said:
no problem... its really not your faults :D

I was already aware of the software problem as i took alot of effort to find out about this cam.. so .. haiz :sweat:

Anyway, i checked the software version using the method from alex's link, it's v756-76 :cry:

Thank you to all who have tried to offer some help either by advise or by consolation or encouragement... really appreciate it :lovegrin: :lovegrin:

Alex, u got me abit worried there, u were mentioning, the 2nd set that was exchanged for you, there was STILL something wrong with the frame assist thingy?

I was thinking, if they can't guarantee that the new batch will not cause any more problems months later I am going to.. umm.. don't know if any olympus staff is watching the forum so i don't wanna say.

I'll update.. i guess i'm going on monday or tuesday.. once the new year is over.. *buay da han* :angry:

:lovegrin:

FYI, the 2nd set work just fine. :bsmilie:

sehsuan said:
Matrix, you forgot to mention this... "luckily mine got NO such problem".... YET :bsmilie:

seems like the 5060 has been goofed up locally - quite a few owners posting problems. anyone checked out some other foreign photography forums to see if they have the same problems?

Heard so much about this model giving problems and but it's not confined to Singapore. I have read about people from other countries having problems with this cam in other photography forums. Goto the Olympus forum at www.steves-digicams.com. I think the problems are just with certain batches as some people have taken thousands of pic and have no complains. Initially, I was very keen to get this cam before it was launched but held back as I usually don't like to buy from this first few batches for obvious reasons that there might be some problems in new models. I am still undecided and will probably wait for the next Canon G series cam to come out.

redstorm said:
Heard so much about this model giving problems and but it's not confined to Singapore. I have read about people from other countries having problems with this cam in other photography forums. Goto the Olympus forum at www.steves-digicams.com. I think the problems are just with certain batches as some people have taken thousands of pic and have no complains. Initially, I was very keen to get this cam before it was launched but held back as I usually don't like to buy from this first few batches for obvious reasons that there might be some problems in new models. I am still undecided and will probably wait for the next Canon G series cam to come out.

Buy mine lah............100% no problem.

see here on C5060W sale

redstorm said:

Hi Redstorm,

Matrix's set is almost brand new and bought on 6 Jan 04!! I know he's stopped using it ever since he bought his professional DSLR E-1 series on 14 Jan 04!!

He's only selling for $1280 inclusive of grip and filters!!! where to find???

His set has nothing wrong and I have seen it for myself...scratch free 100% and as good as new.

Why buy new at $1400 for everything when you can get 10% off straight??

Hurry up before it's sold....most people wouldn't buy what's in stock now as they are of the same pre-CNY batch---faulty probably.

Pinkishy,

Dun worry, jus bring ur faulty cam to Oly Svc Ctr. I'm sure they'll replace a new one for u. FYI, I hv a s/no 114x died within a week, replaced by HN to 1178, died within a week and currently 3xxx replaced by Oly, working fine still ;)

Updates on my 5060....

Sadly, i do not get the 1 to 1 exchange like CarLim mentioned.
Have went over this afternoon during lunchtime and complain about my menu hang. CUstomer-service officer Dawn was attending to me. Told her i need the camera urgently and i understood that this problem of mine is a known issue internationally. I asked for an exchange but was refused. :bheart:

Have told her that few friends who got this camera have exchanged for a newer set with the latest batch (referring to carlim n guys :D ) and why not me?!? She replied sayig that they used to do 1 to 1 but now they have the spare parts to do the repair instead of exchange now. The problem as she explained lies on the mode dial. I further questioned about the reliability of the replacement of the mode dial as i do not wish my camera to fail me during my trip oversea as i have mentioned to her and she assured me that no problem to the replacement of it so far.

Accepted the assurance and proceed with the "repair" instead and "demanded" the camera back in my hand by this evening and she nodded yes. Got a phone call around 3pm (1 plus hour after i left) to ask me collect my camera!?!? That's some fast surgery on my wide-monster :cry: Asked her (Dawn happend to be the one calling me) to make a delivery instead of me heading down to collect and in few minutes time, she called back saying my camera will be sent to my home this evening! I'm somehow delighted. I must admit that. :thumbsup:

With uncertainty of this "fast surgery" on my camera replacing the mode dial, i fear the problem strikes back again. Sad too as my camera is no longer "new" cos it's been "opened". Not due to my mis-handling but manufacturing fault! Pardon me as i might sound like an unreasonable person but i believe anyone of you would feel somehow the same way too for your less-than-a-month-old-over-a-thousand-bucks-brand-new-prosumer-digital-camera. ;(

Waiting for my time to knockoff and rush back home for the arrival of my camera. Hope nothing goes wrong after the repair as few occasions is coming up and i hope to shoot. Trust me on this. GOnna demand a new set from the latest batch if the fault comes back and like pinkishly say : some head are gonna roll.... :hung:

Yeah...Slacker...test the cam intensively tonight and see whether it faces the same old problem. Quite discouraging to hear that many users face problems. Apart from that, this is a great cam.

Update.... my wide-monster....

Holding the camera right now.... .no sign of "open wound" from the "fast surgery" The delivery man waited for me for half hour. Thanks for his patience. :thumbsup:
Took out the camera, tested all the modes and shoot. so far so good. "Wasted" 253 shots since i got it out from the box at 655pm. No sign of menu hang so far. Keeping my finger crossed on it.
Like to check on the version of "firmware". Anyone can post your version? I wonder if they update my firmware as well. :dunno:
Guess it's too soon to say the problem goes away liao. However, keeping my finger crossed that it don't show up at the wrong time when i want to use it.

slacker said:
Update.... my wide-monster....

Holding the camera right now.... .no sign of "open wound" from the "fast surgery" The delivery man waited for me for half hour. Thanks for his patience. :thumbsup:
Took out the camera, tested all the modes and shoot. so far so good. "Wasted" 253 shots since i got it out from the box at 655pm. No sign of menu hang so far. Keeping my finger crossed on it.
Like to check on the version of "firmware". Anyone can post your version? I wonder if they update my firmware as well. :dunno:
Guess it's too soon to say the problem goes away liao. However, keeping my finger crossed that it don't show up at the wrong time when i want to use it.
My firmware is V756-79

hope that all is well, slacker.

jasmine said:
My firmware is V756-79

Thanks Jasmine. Been a great help.
Went through the trouble to install CAMEDIA on my PC and finally i know what firmware is my wide-monster running. SAme like you, 756-79 :thumbsup:
500++ shots till now. Not a sign of menu hang yet. :sweat:
Curious over the problem. Is it really that mode dial that cause the problem of the menu hang? Not logical in my view though i can't switch to other mode on the mode dial as well when i have the menu hang problem.
Guess i leave the technical part to the staff of the Olympus then.
Hope the change of mode dial solve my menu and mode problem. :confused:

Hi Slacker,

Glad to hear that you've got it sorted out. Happy snapping ;)

Carllim said:
Hi Slacker,

Glad to hear that you've got it sorted out. Happy snapping ;)

Thanks man. was not as lucky as you in getting my camera exchange for a newer batch. :bheart:

I think we all should be lucky that Oly customer service in Singapore is absolutely first class. :thumbsup:

at least Oly didn't try to siam the fact about the problem, you know... ;)

slacker said:
Thanks Jasmine. Been a great help.
Went through the trouble to install CAMEDIA on my PC and finally i know what firmware is my wide-monster running. SAme like you, 756-79 :thumbsup:
500++ shots till now. Not a sign of menu hang yet. :sweat:
Curious over the problem. Is it really that mode dial that cause the problem of the menu hang? Not logical in my view though i can't switch to other mode on the mode dial as well when i have the menu hang problem.
Guess i leave the technical part to the staff of the Olympus then.
Hope the change of mode dial solve my menu and mode problem. :confused:
Yios...mine is also 756-79......hee...keep on snapping...i think everything should be fine....start firing away!!!!

Hi people..

Talked to slacker today... wah.. they don't do 1 to 1 already.. :angry: too much man!! :angry:

Anyway, i referred back to John3:16... they'll replace for me .. :thumbsup: service.

heard the latest batch no. is 4XXX already..

:D hopefully no further probs too ... if not.. :cry: and :angry: and ;( !!!!

will update again after i go down

Fantastic!!!!! I wanna change also...just joking...mine is working very well. Takes excellent photos! Hope you'll really get to enjoy the capability of this cam once you get the replacement....it's really something worth drooling over....

Pinkishy said:
Hi people..

Talked to slacker today... wah.. they don't do 1 to 1 already.. :angry: too much man!! :angry:

Anyway, i referred back to John3:16... they'll replace for me .. :thumbsup: service.

heard the latest batch no. is 4XXX already..

:D hopefully no further probs too ... if not.. :cry: and :angry: and ;( !!!!

will update again after i go down

hi pinkishy
sorry to hear abt the nightmare you're going through.. this sounds familiar... like a certain handphone model (which shall remain un-named but which is a popular brand, begins with a N and is a four digit model starting with 8) some time back which would hang and shut down and couldn't be fixed despite replacements or software upgrades.....

slightly OT, but
it's good that john 3:16 is willing to do the exchange, but i'm just concerned abt what happens to the set subsequently....