HWM Blackbird Stabilizer Review Video

engr

Blackbird Review Video

Review of my latest stabilizer toy, the CMR Blackbird. This is a handheld solution. There are no local dealers yet. It is capable of handling heavy cameras and small camcorders. Kinda easy for newbies due to the smoothtouch. Its pretty cool but not cheap with the freight and GST. I should say, competitive pricing with market offerings.

Website

Thank you for sharing!
is a great video review :)
btw, how much does it cost?

wah damn fast ah ha ha.. about SGD1k ++ with shipping. Have to email them to ask directly.

will be great to see some comparison btw the glidecam & merlin?
maybe in term of weight , cg and more technical comparison.
Thanks for sharing the video.

Hi Sam. Unfortunately I do not have the time to carry out the test with my current workload. I have tired all three with a DSLR and my findings as below. Hope it helps.

1. Bird is the easiest to fly properly (non tech, just from my feeling). Some designs require a heavier load to fly properly while some, do not. Bird does not have this prob as gimbal position can be lowered but only by a limited range.

2. Merlin is the lightest setup < BBIRD < GLIDECAM HD2000. Have not weighted it physically, just by feel so far. By comparison of the raw weight exc counterwieghts, the results are as above. But do not forget the design difference will play a part in how much counterbalance weight you require.

My take is, try out before you buy if possible. Cathay > Merlin, Expandore > Glidecam. Too bad no local dealers for the BBIRD. Anyway if it works for a price you like, its GOOD!

3. BBIRD + Glidecam HD + Merlin are all easily balanced. Handheld or with a docking stand as all comes with thumbscrew adjustment now. BBIRD has better quality screw compared to Glidecam. Merlin uses a long knuring instead of a thumbscrew.

4. BB comes with everything you need. Glidecam + Merlin requires some purchasing of optional parts. Eg: docking bracket (Glidecam + BBIRD).

5. Load: BBIRD 8Ibs max, 3.2kg cam was possible to be balanced and flown. Glidecam has 3 series, if compared to HD4000, BBIRD is much lighter but the HD4000 can handle up to 10Ibs. If compared to HD2000, HD2000 max load is lesser at 6Ibs but the total weight is slightly heavier (inc counterweights)

Why? Cuz the BBIRD has an extra inertia bar provided that helps a lot. The weights are moved further out from the post, doubling the inertia without add weights.

Merlin can handle up to 7Ibs. Sexiest of the 3 but it requires the most skill to handle. It works very well if balanced properly and it does not require a lot of weights to balance as some ppl mistaken.

Dun forget the load is inclusive of the counterweights so you have to divide by 2 and see if your cam fits in. At the end of the day, ask yourself what is the required and whether expansion is required for heavier cam. Its no point to cater for handheld up to 10pounds. Hands are not made of metal!

6. Clamp Mounting plate: Sucks on the BBIRD. Screw in to secure is slow. Need another QR adapter for sure. Merlin best, using a clamp plate and half clamp position prevents accidents of camera falling off. But you also need a quick release adapter if you ask me.

Glidecam plate has 4 thumbscrews to remove and no quick release tripod adapter. Need to remove camera from plate to mount on tripod or get another quick release adapter on top of it.

7. Build Quality: Merlin < BBIRD + Glidecam . Merlin looks and feel very pro. The other two does not look as pro.

8. Price: Glidecam < BBIRD < Merlin

Nice review of the blackbird!

You look and sound really nervous talking to the camera:sweat:
Both your talent look fierce... can cast for some gangster/loanshark flick:bsmilie:

Thanks for all the effort. Appreciate!

.. cuz my car borke down so I damn sianz lor!!! We were shooting while waiting for help ha ha.. had to do it before it rains.

Found some answers from their website but I cant verify all are true.

1. Blackbird has higher ratios of moment of inertia to weight in any axis
Yes. The interesting design to have a longer horizontal bar gives u more inertia without more weights!

2. Blackbird has the best engineered camera stage for easy horizontal plane adjustment.
No, I think Merlin is better but it is true that it can be adjusted very easily

3. Blackbird has SmoothTouch friction adjustment in the roll and tilt axes to reduce roll and tilt pendulum motion.
Yes. This rocks for small camera but not quite applicable for large 3kg cameras. XH-A1s and Z1, Z5 will benefit. Z7 and HPX-172, 202 , EX1 cant help much.

3. Blackbird on-axis handle design does not produce the wrist torque fatigue associated with the off- axis handle design of the Glidecam® models. Note: Off- axis handle designs do not reduce vertical bobbing.
Yes. Merlin and Bird ties here as the CG is above the wrist, not so tiring as compared to Glidecam where the CG is in front of the wrist so your wrist is strained in 2 axis. Thats why I can control the vertical bobbing quite well in the test video.

4. Blackbird stability with small cameras (0.5 to 1.5 lbs) is much better than the Merlin® while only adding about 0.5 lb to the total rig weight. For cameras weighing more than 4 lb the Blackbird weighs about the same as the Merlin® but has significantly larger moments of inertia in all three axes.
Not sure. Did not test this but I flew a 950g PD100 weight and I needed to add the included gimbal extension to work it or the handle will hit the post. Anyway, it does work for small cams.

2kg cameras will experience more inertia is true based on specs. Experience wise varies but I will say it does help.

Cons:
The only thing I find a hassle during resting is as it is quite big, so it cannot rest on the ground due to the design, unlike like Glidecam. So there is no way to hold it up except to use an additional quick release adapter to remove the camera and leave it on the ground. That way u can get the balance very quickly once u remount the camera.

question!
maybe its not related
but how do you focus e 5dmark2 while its on the stabilizer?
thank u!

5D2 got no auto focus bro ... so only one way.

hi Engr,

thanks for the research. look great. i think the design and ergnomics for the blackbird is not as attractive. having both the merlin and glidecam, i am just looking for a balance of both. Light weight and a balance CG is the main concern for most videographer. especailly wedding and events. For corporate, i will prefer the arm and vest .

Hi Sam, I agree it does not look as sexy as the other two but on the contrary, I find the design pretty good. I think it was specifically designed to address some problems and harness the good points of other products after some thinking. I just felt that the BIRD produces steadi shots easier as compared to the rest but that is fully dependant on camera load and operator experience.

Ergonomics:
The merlin and blackbird have the CG above the handle, making it easier to avoid vertical bobbing. Off axis handle is susceptible to wrist movements. Meaning if you twist your wrist the effect is more prounced. The effect is less if you twist your risk under the CG.

The handle is just right for a proper grip with Asian hands. This is quite unique as all 3 brands have different handles. (Glidecam a little bigger in diameter, merlin is moulded to the hand) Yeah maybe the post can be pretty long but the Glidecam is the same.

Merlin@Below CG
Blackbird@ Below CG
Glidecam@ Off Axis CG

Lightweight:
Unit weights without counterweights and camera
Merlin@0.8Ibs
Blackbird@2.1Ibs
Glidecam HD2k @2.54Ibs

Ultimately there is no perfect solution. I guess it is up to the individual but I do think that the Blackbird is fine for weddings and Events use, just like the Merlin and Glidecam.

Nice review of the blackbird!

You look and sound really nervous talking to the camera:sweat:
Both your talent look fierce... can cast for some gangster/loanshark flick:bsmilie:

Thanks for all the effort. Appreciate!

Sean, can you clarify I looked serious not fierce ha ha :bsmilie:
btw, i am the fat guy in T-shirt and bermuda carrying an umbrella, Sean has managed to made me looked so uncle in the video. In actual fact, I am quite handsome one...:bigeyes:

:bsmilie: I wan to faintz liao...

What's that wrapped around the guy's neck at around 2:05?

sharp eyes dudes.. we got a lot of "weapons" stockpile. Anything goes for nice steadi shots. Can be found at Cathay photo

I saw the Blackbird at Cathay Photo yesterday!

The black bird looks interesting. Am new to this area. Maybe i shld get one to try. I bought a shoulder mount product from China. Havent try if it works yet... haha...