How to help clubsnap become a world class forum?

For 1, I kind of dislike 2 of the moderators as they pass to me as arrogant and talks as if they are of higher standing and knows better than you.
Anyone got anything to contribute?

One question... could you please tell me what is the relation between your dislike of the 2 mods with the title of this thread? Maybe I'm dumb, but until now I still don't see any relation there...

And if you're angry with somebody, or if somebody angry with you, please... please don't put it here with a seemingly nice thread...

Hmmmm... instead of starting this thread, why don't you invite those 2 mods that you dislike, and the three of you carry your own cameras and go together to a place where:

1. The 3 of you can understand one another better, and maybe exchanging experience?
2. You can take some picture to proof who are actually better than the rest
3. You can just whack each other with your camera... those whose camera still intact is the winner.

My two cents...

i am sure, that if you were a moderator too you'd do a great job? be the emotion-less jellyfish that just serves the will and whim of the great hive that is clubsnap?

like i said, maybe giving mod members a separate account so that they can actually be thinking human beings while carrying out administrative duties without having people kaobehing about them being thinking human beings (which everybody is, actually) with opinions and flaws and dislikes and likes and preferences.

give them a break, please.

Your proposals seem very interesting but need further clarification.
Did you suggest that :
1) Mod have two accounts, one as mod, another as ordinary user where other forummers can feeback without fear of reprisal ? or
2) Dress up as virtual "civilian policeman" and flip their badges upon provocation ?:bsmilie:

Not sure how a separate account can turn them into thinking human beings which they should be regardless of type of account ? It is unimaginable that with your magnanimity that you still earned infractions ! Must be some kind of misunderstanding ? Can provide links to some incidences, so that I can learn how to avoid treacherous grounds ? Thank you in advance !:D

3. You can just whack each other with your camera... those whose camera still intact is the winner.

My two cents...[/QUOTE]

Do not promote violence le NOT GOOD !:nono:

Your proposals seem very interesting but need further clarification.
Did you suggest that :
1) Mod have two accounts, one as mod, another as ordinary user where other forummers can feeback without fear of reprisal ? or
2) Dress up as virtual "civilian policeman" and flip their badges upon provocation ?:bsmilie:

Not sure how a separate account can turn them into thinking human beings which they should be regardless of type of account ? It is unimaginable that with your magnanimity that you still earned infractions ! Must be some kind of misunderstanding ? Can provide links to some incidences, so that I can learn how to avoid treacherous grounds ? Thank you in advance !:D
you gotta be kidding me, i always quarrel in kopitiam so it is natural that i will get infractions.

anyways - i'm suggesting 1.

you see, ordinary user account is NOT tagged as mod, mods are not supposed to reveal. then the mod account just does mod job.

the drawback is that very ley chey for them lor.. but like that won't have people complaining that mods evil, mods very rude, cos they will be expected to be totally impersonal, i.e. mod account robots.

to me , it isn't very right either.. since the grounds for abuse are limitless, i.e. using your mod account to help your normal account until damn obvious.. but then again, mods are supposed to be somewhat mature.

well, he is giving a suggestion. many have already done what you stated, so you can either have the mentality which is "migrate lor is you not happy here" (sounds familiar?), or just here out the suggestions and see if it is useful or not.

if you dun like the suggestion, don't post here. You don't need here to earn living nor here need you too.

this is circular logic.

it will never end, since if you are unhappy with his suggestion about ts' suggestion, then you shouldn't be posting about it either, since you can simply ignore him the way you suggest that he ignores the ts' point (or lack thereof).

this is circular logic.

it will never end, since if you are unhappy with his suggestion about ts' suggestion, then you shouldn't be posting about it either, since you can simply ignore him the way you suggest that he ignores the ts' point (or lack thereof).

.........which is why i'm asking him not to post such a thing lar...... dun you notice the sarcasm in my last sentence?:sweat:

edit: nevermind. if i need to explain why, it means i done it badly.:bsmilie: like explaining a joke.

you gotta be kidding me, i always quarrel in kopitiam so it is natural that i will get infractions.

anyways - i'm suggesting 1.

you see, ordinary user account is NOT tagged as mod, mods are not supposed to reveal. then the mod account just does mod job.

the drawback is that very ley chey for them lor.. but like that won't have people complaining that mods evil, mods very rude, cos they will be expected to be totally impersonal, i.e. mod account robots.

to me , it isn't very right either.. since the grounds for abuse are limitless, i.e. using your mod account to help your normal account until damn obvious.. but then again, mods are supposed to be somewhat mature.

Sorry for the misunderstanding that I took your feedback as joke. I have read the other's infraction mentioned in this thread and learn something from it. I remember that there is a rule that forummer can't have two accounts. Wouldn't this suggestion tantamount to asking them to kick their own butts or having them all formed a circle to kick each other's butts ? Don't think they would want to contravene their own set of rules, do they ? Else police and thief are the same person ! Maybe for us, we learn to be less quarrelsome, we can be the absent party :) I love skipping....

ahahaha , no la, it's ok, everyone jokes.

here, my infraction-inducing posts:
one
two
three

quite well deserved infractions, to be honest. in fact, i probably should get more but thank goodness for good intentions being seen. :bsmilie: i don't know about all of you, but i think most of the mods here are open-minded people who can be very friendly and listen to reasoning. i was particularly impressed when jason ho (one of the owners, or something) took the time to explain to me where he was coming from, etc when i was unhappy about certain issues.

well, in some sense, the rules can be modified to ease administration, but personally i don't think it's a very solid suggestion.. it is always much better to see things from a bigger picture and see that our mods want to participate and express their viewpoints too. do we really need judge dredd mods who just sit around and be solemn robots that just issue warnings, clear threads, lock threads, delete threads? then who would want to be a mod, you ask me? :dunno:

My last participation in a flame war was bittersweet and yet lingering still:sweat:

Oh,i left out cheesecake btw...he's a nice mod too ^^

well, he is giving a suggestion. many have already done what you stated, so you can either have the mentality which is "migrate lor is you not happy here" (sounds familiar?), or just here out the suggestions and see if it is useful or not.

if you dun like the suggestion, don't post here. You don't need here to earn living nor here need you too.

if you dun like my posting, don't post here. You don't need here to earn living nor here need you too. :bsmilie:

Hi blue monster,

This is not a world class forum !

This is a world class photography site !!!!

I am in Australia right now, I have travelled to Singapore to visit great photographers there that use this site.

We....All of us are using this great photography site "free of charge" and the people that run it and moderate it do it for free.

Do we, "as users of this site," have any standing to question any part of it, when what we contribute is free and what we take is free also.

I am not typing this as a point at you; more so to those that complain.

If I have anything wrong with what I have said... please let me know.

Cheers :)

Hi Pablo,

Seen you somewhere while lurking in FM forums in the alt. section. Nice to see you here!

On the comment I made regarding the moderators, I thought I just wanted to share on something in which clubsnap can be improved on. It's just like eating roti prata and finding flakes of egg-shell in it. While to some it may simply remove the egg-shell and pass it off as if nothing has happened, I have known a few who simply refused to eat the remaining prata.

Their reasoning is that the external part of the egg-shell is dirty and is sometimes laden with chicken poop. :bsmilie:

However, I do agree that clubsnap is a great photography site and is one of the websites I frequent to source for information.

One question... could you please tell me what is the relation between your dislike of the 2 mods with the title of this thread? Maybe I'm dumb, but until now I still don't see any relation there...

And if you're angry with somebody, or if somebody angry with you, please... please don't put it here with a seemingly nice thread...

Hmmmm... instead of starting this thread, why don't you invite those 2 mods that you dislike, and the three of you carry your own cameras and go together to a place where:

1. The 3 of you can understand one another better, and maybe exchanging experience?
2. You can take some picture to proof who are actually better than the rest

My two cents...

Hi voldisinarta,

I was thinking along the line that to run a country effectively, you need good leaders. Similarly, a good forum needs good moderators. What do you think?

As for the 3 suggestions,

1) It doesn't seem to serve any purpose to both the moderators and myself as I believe that there are no grievances between oursleves to begin with.
2) A good photographer is not necessarily a good moderator, and the converse it true.
3) See point 1.

Similarly, a good forum requires quality contributions from quality forummers.

A country with good governance will attract good people. Similarly, a good forum with good moderators will attract great forumers.

Or is it another way round? Hmm...

A country with good governance will attract good people. Similarly, a good forum with good moderators will attract great forumers.

Or is it another way round? Hmm...

it is both.

if the people do not respect the mods, the mods will turn bad.

if the mods do not respect the people, then the people will turn bad.

you know, i am really irritated by the fact that this thread is called "how to help clubsnap become a world class forum", which encompasses a lot more than just having nice friendly mods who soft touch and give sugar candy out.

next time, please name your thread appropriately if you only want to focus on what you want to focus on.. your motives are impure.

mod bashing. anyways most of the better mods here are keeping a low profile. The rest are very dubious in their capacity.

I would like to suggest something.. I am directly referring to the title of this thread.

How about photo of the month or photo of the week in each photo gallery??

Mods can be the judge and/or the forumers. Mods may pick certain images from the posts and the images will be voted (may be in the form of a sticky thread). There may not be a prize but good to have though. It will be an hounour for the photographer for his/her hardwork whether there is a price or not. I am sure there will be photos of higher quality posted in the forums.

"CS photographer of the year" competition is good but it may not be the interest of every forumer as they may not be interested in certain categories or may not have the time to do so. It will serve different purpose.

:):):)

I just opened another thread for better feedback on this idea.

it is both.

if the people do not respect the mods, the mods will turn bad.

if the mods do not respect the people, then the people will turn bad.

you know, i am really irritated by the fact that this thread is called "how to help clubsnap become a world class forum", which encompasses a lot more than just having nice friendly mods who soft touch and give sugar candy out.

next time, please name your thread appropriately if you only want to focus on what you want to focus on.. your motives are impure.

Hi night86mare,

The title of the thread is clear and acts like a suggestion box. I can create a suggestion box but can't control who leaves the feedback and the nature of the feedback.

Why question the thread only when you have contribute a number of posts regarding the moderators?

If you would to sift through the information on the 70+ posts, you would realise that there are nuggets of gold in which are excellent contributions that addresses to the thread that will help CS scale greater heights:

1) Lens review section
2) Etiquette of all particapating members (You contributed in this one too)
3) Photo of the week / Month
4) Ban use of singlish (Not so sure about this)

I may have missed out some other suggestions but do contribute if you think that there are more but not listed.

1) Lens review section
2) Etiquette of all particapating members (You contributed in this one too)
3) Photo of the week / Month
4) Ban use of singlish (Not so sure about this)

maybe some self-reflection is due with regards to your motives

just to make sure, i had gone back to sift through the thread, unless you seem to be posting with another account and forget that you are doing so, the account blue monster has ONLY made posts with regards to moderators

and at very appropriate timings too, when discussion about mods has died down

you tell me what your motives are, i do not care, actions speak louder than words and i think that you should have the courage to not pretend otherwise and not use other people's suggestions to cover up your ulterior motives.

I am closing this thread for now since I have seen various kind of feedback along with the TS post.

I am preparing a good detailed response to all the comments made irregardless its good, bad, facts or lies. This started off as a mod bashing thread and it turns into various discussion like questioning how Mods are picked and even the 2 accounts idea . And I will give a good reply to that as well :)

When I reopen the thread, I will make sure everyone is clear on whats happening behind the scene and why and whats the motive of TS for starting this thread.

Thanks