How much water can the D70 take...

ParkertR said:
thanks for the heads up ;) living here in thailand so i know what to expect. hehe~ last year i was in the thick of the action up in chiang mai :P riding at the back of a DMAX (one of thailand's most popular pickups, next to the Hilux) with gallons of ice-cold water shouting "Nam Wun!" (warm water) while hurling out the icy cold water on others! haha so fun! :P

parker bro, use a ziplog bag with black tape will do... make sure stick some allowance for the zoom lens... thats what i did everything for my eq when i'm in bangkok and changmai for songkran shoot..

i ziplogged my fm2, sony PD150. bring a towel to standby... incase ur ziplogg spoil... and some back up ziplog too..~

how u gonna shoot thru the ziplock bag?

I used my D70 last Sep at the Hyakuri Air Fest in Japan. It was pouring on and off the whole day. No problem with the camera or kit lens and AFD80-200mm. Just bring a small towel so you can dry it every now and then.
Also don't change your CF card unless you're under cover ;)

torchf4 ah .... the songkran festival ... its like getting a bath in the streets ... or jumping into a pool? .. ok ok .. maybe not that extreme ... but it's getting BUCKETS of water thrown all over ... don't think a towel will be enough to dry it off ... don't think it'll survive without being in a ziplock or a underwater casing ... it probably won't survive even with a rain-hood ..

shoot through ziplock lor ... ziplock bag is transparent wad =/

ParkertR, all I can say is... take care and good luck!! HA HA HA. No experience shooting in wet weather. Only experienced light drizzle and no, it wasn't with the D70. :)

Oh, and come back with good pics and tell us exactly how much water D70 can take. ;)

ParkertR said:
is D2H/D2X weather proof? ehh.. i should borrow an E1

D2H is 'environmental' sealed.
If i am u, i will just buy a few underwater disposable cameras and join in the action. :think:

icarus said:
If i am u, i will just buy a few underwater disposable cameras and join in the action. :think:

exactly... get those water proof P&S... flim also OK... in fact flim is better in such situation.

well... i'll 'rain test' it and 'drench test' it and see how it performs :) might do a shrink wrap over the body though...

not sure how much water it can survive as i only kena once a splash from the kids at bugis, half my body is wet. camera still able to shoot at the splashes

Garion said:
You are right, only 1 series are weather sealed. 20D/10D are not!!

Get D2X lah.. at least its weather seal..... :confused: ;p ;)

heh... looks like plans changing. will not be here when the water throwing starts... i'll be back home in sg for a week. dont have to wrory about water then........ *sigH* a little sad ah...