How Much Money Do You Need in Singapore To Live Comfortable Nowadays?

There are plenty of warehouse sales... dun need to go for regular items... it can save quite a bit of money...

Just need to know where to hunt for it...:cool:

Spend within your mean.

A shirt is a shirt but it can cost from a few dollars to a few hundred.

but those who spend a few hundreds will say it "blah, blah, blah" quality. like photography equipement.

hmmm, if its fireproof, mozzie proof, waterproof. maybe... can consider. ;p

Hey friends

I want to ask, without asking you to reveal what you earn, say someone around 35-40 with a Masters or more, what would be a reasonable salary?
10k? more?

Hey friends

I want to ask, without asking you to reveal what you earn, say someone around 35-40 with a Masters or more, what would be a reasonable salary?
10k? more?

Depending on the industry and experience you are in.

Hey friends

10k? more?

is there a link? :dunno:

All cost will increase with your wealth. Property tax, income tax, even the interest on your savings are taxed so therotically, the more wealth you have the more you have to pay taxes.

You will need at least S$2million for a comfortable life in SG but with that amount of money, I would have migrated to other country where I can have bigger house, bigger car and more places to shoot.

Earning S$10k per month is just enough to pull you and yr family of 4through and you still have to work to earn your keeps. I'm talking about those who start without any assistance from parents.

Shucks, my company canteen just increase the cost of my breakfast from S$2 to S$2.20, thats 10% increase compare to a 3% pay rise. How can we keep up. I remembered my mom only gave me 30Cents a day for pocket $, including bus fare of 7Cent x 2. Meehoon cost 5cents and coke also 5 cent. Oh that was donkeys years ago... heehee. now you know how old I'm.:lovegrin:

it seems like the average wage in singapore is around $2-2.5k a month or $24-30k per annum?

in australia, the average uni graduate can expect around $48k per annum ($4k per month) base salary - albeit with much higher taxes bringing it down to around $3.2k per month. then again, our cost of living is higher than singapore so maybe it is around equal. a cheap meal here will cost $7. a decent restaurant will cost $22 for a main course and expensive restaurant about $35.

i think that a comfortable wage to be on in australia would be between $8-10k per month. houses are ridiculously expensive now, cost of education, food, energy, everything is so expensive and tax is high =(

Good food makes us Singaporeans happy lah, no need car all, just some good sg food

I had a colleague who earned less than $2k, has his own flat, wife (not working), 2 kids. And he is happy.

Good food makes us Singaporeans happy lah, no need car all, just some good sg food

:thumbsup:Miss s'pore foods when i am out-stationed in other countries..:bsmilie:

I had a colleague who earned less than $2k, has his own flat, wife (not working), 2 kids. And he is happy.

Depend on individual and what life style you live in,u don't have to be .... rich to be happy.Ever the rich might not be happy.$$ can't buy everythings.;)

Good for him! :thumbsup:

u guys very cute leh, but i find that u guys are the ones who faces up to the reality of singapore and like wat DeSwitch said, we need $10k to survive relatively ok without parents assistance.

HOWEVER, maybe u guys can take a look at my thread here to look at the opposite view of reality. http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=395078

Depend on individual and what life style you live in,u don't have to be .... rich to be happy.Ever the rich might not be happy.$$ can't buy everythings.;)

but $$ can buy lenses and a better body (camera lah, not plastic surgery)

The last I read, wages should not be raised to counter inflation. Instead we are told to tighten our belts and bite the bullet....

Having said that.... we now hear that public transport is going to see a price increase due to the same reasons of inflation but on contrary this increase will most likely be improved.

We were told to learn from Vietnam how to manage inflation as they are facing a 25 percent inflation.... well... if we are DO learn from them... will we be seeing our workers dropping their tools in frustration? Everything increase but pay cannot increase....

Read the following

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest+News/S-E+Asia/STIStory_263806.html

be creative and think out of the box

instead of saying "not enough money", think "how to make more money"
or "how can i make my money work harder for me"

This should be the right direction. Thank you Ortega for pointing out.

Expenses are always going up, and that includes Food, Water, Energy, etc. But surprisingly, pay don't go up as fast as expenses. A lot of people may say, eat less, don't spend so much and tighten belts. But how long can we last? If our bills really went sky high, can we call Singapore Power/HDB or whichever agency and say that the costs are too high, can you charge lesser? No way.

Therefore, we should look into alternatives to generate alternative sources of income.

Like we learnt a trade from our Degree/Diploma. That paper will earn us a job, which will then earn us a pay check. If we look into learning another skill (for example, since this is a photography forum, lets use photography as an example of a new skill), this new skill can bring in another source of income. Look into more alternative sources of income to make more money for you, or grow money for you, instead of just trying to save up. Everyday, we are losing money due to GST and inflation, therefore look into ways to generate more money.