How Much Have You Spent on your Equipment?

Oh man I am officially spent over 1k already. :(
I cannot spend anymore.
Still a student, very broke now. :cry:

$1k?
Wat about $1000 wide angle lens to capture the grandeur of the landscape?
then the $3000 telephoto to capture the unsuspecting target?
wat about $1400 for scrutinising the black widow's eyes?
Oops, I need a $1k Ring Flash for that,
and another $350 for a medium range flash?
arrgh, need another $100 slave flash to light up the shadows,
oh no, ran out of batteries, need a battery grip and 2 more spare batteries : $200
hey, photo's not sharp! need a tripod to prevent camera shake : $200
erm, how to fix the camera? Buy ballhead: $200
hey, wat's this spot on the lens? Buy dry cabinet/box/dessicants: $100
Alamak, too many things to carry out: Buy camera bag: $100
eh, flash recharge too slow: Buy flash pack and rechargeables: $100
Aiya, tripod too heavy, Buy monopod: $70
eh, how to fix camera on monopod? Buy swivel head: $40
Aiyo, no more space to store fotos: Buy external hard disks: $150 x 2= $300
eh, memory full: Buy memory cards: $70 x 4 = $280
eh, need to give friends DVD: Buy DVDs $70 for 200pcs
Hey, got dust! Buy UV Filters: $10 for 58mm, $20 for 57mm, $40 for 77mm (Multicoated)
erm, how to show u my fotos ah? Buy laptop : $2000
Why my fotos colour so dull one? Buy ND / CPL Filters: $50 for 67mm, $100 77mm (midrange)
hmm, why my sky no detail one? Buy GND filter: $20 - $100
Why my portraits face so bright one? Buy diffuser $8 - $20
Why got camera shake? Buy wireless/wire trigger: $10- $40
Why my photo not as sharp as yours? Buy Primes: $500 - $20,000
hey, how'd u do dat? Buy Tilt Shift, Lens baby: $1500 - $3000

Did I miss out anything else $$$

End of the day:

Aiya, too heavy, just bring along Point n Shoot go out: Buy $200...
:sweatsm:

$1k?
oh no, ran out of batteries, need a battery grip and 2 more spare batteries : $200
Hey, got dust! Buy UV Filters: $10 for 58mm, $20 for 57mm, $40 for 77mm (Multicoated)
Why my fotos colour so dull one? Buy ND / CPL Filters: $50 for 67mm, $100 77mm (midrange)

End of the day:

Alamak, too short, ppl blocking, need to buy ladder to stand tall: $50
Ladder too bulky, need transport, buy a car: $60,000

i just bought my 500D 4 months back.. since i bought it till now, i've spent 1k (not including 500D) but seriously if i spent this over 10K, i dont regret. its already my hobby, my passion:)

Haha yea ^fives dude.
But you're a working adult? :)

someone with a point and shoot who then upgrade to a brand new dSLR would already go pass the 1K mark. :bsmilie:

My total bill $1045 so far.

2nd hand D40 + 18-55mm kit lens $550
2nd hand 55-200mm VR Lens $265
Aipo 48L dry cabinet $210
DIY camera bag $20

My total bill $1045 so far.

2nd hand D40x + 18-55mm kit lens $550
2nd hand 55-200mm Lens $265
Aipo dry cabinet $210
DIY camera bag $20

woot , around the same as me..

2nd hand D40 + 18-55 VR lens+bag -- $600
2nd hand 55-200 VR -- $300
AIPO 38L ---$170
RAYNOX-250 ---$118

Total : $1188

Still need a decent and light tripod + Prime lens + cool bag + external flash :bheart::bheart::bheart:

woot , around the same as me..

2nd hand D40 + 18-55 VR lens+bag -- $600
2nd hand 55-200 VR -- $300
AIPO 38L ---$170
RAYNOX-250 ---$118

Total : $1188

Still need a decent and light tripod + Prime lens + cool bag + external flash :bheart::bheart::bheart:

Wise choice. Good value for money. :)

$1k?

End of the day:

WOW, I have done most of these already:sweat:

Canon 40D
18-55 f2.8 IS USM
Gitzo 2531
RRS BH40
580 EX II
Bags...

I think more than 5k liao...

next on the pipeline will be 70-200 f2.8 is usm and 100mm f2.8L Macro and possibly 7D...

got more money spend more lor, less than less, no point tracking lah, buying camera like buying car, money down the drain lah, best forget it hahahahahah.

d300 -
18-200
50mm 1.8
grip + battery
memory cards
bag
dry cabinet
remote cable
books
lens pen
chimos cloth
tripod total - $5K

other hidden cost accessories:-
upgrade bigger notebook just to see photo (sigh...)
more petrol for shoots
more nagging from MOF for assisting in carrying cam bag.
earful from MOF standing in front of cam for modeling instead of model.
uninvited relatives hearing u-g0t-a cam to shoot (pls shoot me-)
printing more hard copies to friend and amahs and ah gongs
medcine for back sprain, neck sprain, knee pain for climb bt timah hill, macritchie, rain coat to protect cam instead of wife, sigh....
waking up 6am to catch the shoot but ended raining and getting flu...

reward:- nice picture end of the day. satisfaction max out.

:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

nooooooooooooo, indeed i've caught the BBB virus dips dips liao.
less than 1 week into with my new P6000, i now eyeing D5000 liao.. cannot... must tahan...

sigh, just couldn't resist temptation.. finally bought a 1000D on Monday.. next keep on eyeing second lens in B&S :(

$1k?

End of the day:

lol. funny post but i'm sure its reality for some pple

personally just got a 500D with 18-55 kit lens.'
+ 50mm f1.8
+ 18-250mm
+ akarui dry cabinet

almost 2.5k liaoz ;p

still need to get extra battery for travel overseas, extra memory card
planning on getting 10-22 wide angle zoom, 90mm macro lens when got the $$, and probably more filters :sweat:

D3 - 6,300
Sigma 24-70 f2.8 HSM - 1,400
50mm f1.8 - 250
70 -300 f4.5-5.6 - 800
Crumpler Camera Strap - 30
SB600 - 340
Wired Remote - 30
Lens Cleaning acces. - 40
Tripod - 90
D70s - 650
18-70 - 300
70-300 G - 200

hidden cost:
IMac - 2600
Dry cabinet - 1300

Total : 14,330

Now i really feel like killing myself.
Never knew i spent this much!
Need to save!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D90 + Kit Lens = 1,750
SB600 + 50mm 1.8 = 500
150-500mm = 1,790
Extra Warranty for Camera = 300
--------------------------------
Total Damage = 4,430.00

I didn't remember how much was drybox.
Still need to buy tripod. Planning for full Wimberle (:hung:) (i think >$1k).

Let's be forward looking!

Planning to get these within the coming 6mths period

1D/1DII/5D
17-40 f/4
70-200 f/2.8 or f/4IS

below 5k if can get all 2nd hand ;p

I spend 12K on lenses within 6 months, buying.... buying & buying, so damm :cry:sad and really poor now!!!!!!,

So my 2 cents worth, in any hobby especially 'Mens' there is always two side of the 'Dollar' one side is the 'Face' value, and the other is 'dollar & cents' value. Which to choose is subjective, so which is yours 'Wants or 'Need'