How much data do you burn in a CD-R?

forget about the dye color. U will look funny trying to tell the salesman you want a XXX color dye cdr. Just buy any CDR disk from a reputable vendor like verbatim, sony, 3M, etc, normally come in a pack of 10,25 with jewels. Those sold in a stack of 50 or 100, not so bad either. My personal opinion is

1. By CDR with branded manufacturer, at least 16x above
2. In a stack of 50 or 100, try the black coating which is scratch resistanct. Quite durable. Exellent for backup disk like game disk which you swap alot. Storage for digital image, should be good too. Average in S$0.50 per piece. I am sure you can find value for money CDR in this coming Comex Show in Suntex starting this Thursday till Sunday. Should be a bargain to shop for cdr media. Best time to buy is Sunday when they will slash prices. Thursday's price is the highest.

Personally, I usually 'store power' until my data hits a certain size (maybe the size of 3 or 4 DVD-R worth?) before I back it up on optical.

My strategy is to fill 80 to 97% of the disc. I'd read somewhere frm some hobbyist optical media testers that the dye quality at the edges are pretty bad and deteriorate the fastest.

I dunno how true is that but I dun wanna take the risk. My record on DVD-R was to store like 4GB of data on a 4.2GB DVD-R. No overburning for me. :)

this thread is obsolete
cd-R is also obsolete liaoz
lol:bsmilie:

user111 said:
this thread is obsolete
cd-R is also obsolete liaoz
lol:bsmilie:

yah lor... now what era liao..... DVD lah....

even linux shipping in dvd liao... :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

idor said:
yah lor... now what era liao..... DVD lah....

actually DVD obselete soon, that's why DVD-writer are as cheap as CD-writer like 2 years ago :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

FYI, my first DVD writer was a 1x Pioneer drive that cost $1100 and the DVD-R cost $30 each

I made two expensive coaster because the first 2 disc that I burn cannot be read

Wai said:
actually DVD obselete soon, that's why DVD-writer are as cheap as CD-writer like 2 years ago :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

FYI, my first DVD writer was a 1x Pioneer drive that cost $1100 and the DVD-R cost $30 each

I made two expensive coaster because the first 2 disc that I burn cannot be read

yah lor... 1 dvd cost like 2 dollars.... den burn halfway stop.... heartache man....

when is blue ray coming out? heard there is another technology

idor said:
yah lor... 1 dvd cost like 2 dollars.... den burn halfway stop.... heartache man....
Try coastering one Double Layer disc. U will curse, swear and do all things unimaginable. :)

user111 said:
when is blue ray coming out? heard there is another technology
And 1 blu-ray disc will prolly cost u as much as a HDD. :o

idor said:

dfwyer.png

Pioneer DVR-103

Although the drive is capable of 1x and 2x, i got two $30 coaster when both of them fail to complete the burn at 2x

in the end I burn at 1x and took almost an hour to complete :sweat:

was so worry that the burn will fail again or kena power failure when i burn the disc halfway

imho, audio CDs use melody black diamond dye is the best...see the reviews here...ATF still gota sell some, but not really commonly found now....:)

http://www.genesisloudspeakers.com/whitepaper/White Paper on Black CDs ver 3.1.pdf

Wai said:
wow....are u working in CD-R industry?

now CD-writers are so fast...even 48X CD-writers are now flooded into sim lim. One surly need high speed CD-R in order to write at 48x.....however, i found that actually many 16x or 32x CD-R can burn at 48x without problem

so how CD-R are actually rated?? does higher speed CD-R more durable and better quality???

some pple also believe that the slower u burn your CD...the better it is. Do u all agree? or is it the writing method that will affect the CD? eg. CLV, P-CAV, Z-CLV, CAV....etc

Wai said:

For myself, i will squeeze all data until the very last Megabyte

Same here, usually use up till the last drop of MB.

Wai said:
Pioneer DVR-103

Although the drive is capable of 1x and 2x, i got two $30 coaster when both of them fail to complete the burn at 2x

in the end I burn at 1x and took almost an hour to complete :sweat:

was so worry that the burn will fail again or kena power failure when i burn the disc halfway

if you ever need coasters again allow me to make some for you. cheap cheap $25 only. Can organise MO also..:bsmilie:

I ususaly burn till 80-90% becos if the CD starts to peel.. at least those further off hte edge are safe.

A recent article in Today says the discs prob cos the same as the discs today.

jsbn said:
And 1 blu-ray disc will prolly cost u as much as a HDD. :o

see how much I need to burn. Do try to burn by the date

Bean said:
Any recommended shops where we can get Silver/Diamond CD-Rs at $0.50 per CD?

Intending to get some.

sim lim square.. top level.. there's this shop called Z-Nix that sells CD-Rs and DVD+/-Rs. they have different dye CD-Rs there.

when u take the escalator to the top floor, turn left.. it's just about 2 shops away from the escalator.

silver/diamond CD-Rs sells for $20 for 50pcs.

In the early days where a CDR cost about $10, I squeezed as much data as possible. But today, a CDR cost only about 33cents (you buy 100 pieces for $33), I don't bother about how much data now.

For example, when I takes some pictures in an occation, I just cut whatever in the memory card into CD and pass to the person, sometimes it could be up to 100M by sometimes only 20M bytes. But the information and time is more important than 33cents.