Help: EF 70-200mm f/2.8 IS USM user

DEADMETAL said:
I try out the 100-400 IS at f5.6 1/25, picture is sharp, so no worries about tripod or monopod unless u r holding for like few hrs.

I have this lens too. At times, I do regert having it. But when the shots turns out, GOSH..... it is like a daddy holding his little kid after a hard day's work - SHOIK only.....

Been travelling a bit for work and hence takes only my S50 with me, otherwise I'd shoot more often.

Yup. I too was eyeing on the 70-200 F4L as a walk about travelling lens. It was asking for HK$4700 when I last checked. Very very tempting and it compliments my 17-40L & 28 - 135 IS well......

Sunbirds at SBG anyone ?

Hi guys

Noticed a more practical version for walk about is f/4 varient.

With f/4, is there any restriction for indoor shoot? Does it need a solid flash like 580Ex to compliment when doing indoor?

I am impressed by mpenza model shots. Looks like the f/4 is a very good compromise for f/2.8 IS weight. Somemore it cost less than half ot the price of the IS version.

eAgles said:
Is it really that bad? *sigh* How to carry good lens for tour then? Just 24-70L and the whole street look at you?? Man! :sweat:

I am still thinking of bringing a 70-200L to places like Moscow or Venice... Looks like I got to think twice... What lens to bring then? The shortest of L-zoom? 17-40?? hehe... :sweatsm:

Well, I brought a 1D II + 24-70 + 550EX for a tour in Japan this year, no problems with stares from ppl..

+evenstar said:
Well, I brought a 1D II + 24-70 + 550EX for a tour in Japan this year, no problems with stares from ppl..

Experienced that too... No prob in Japan. Not sure abt Europe. :)

The 2.8 and IS will save lots of your shots indoors in poor light. Other than that, f/4 is a great lens for use in good light.

slacker123 said:
The 2.8 and IS will save lots of your shots indoors in poor light. Other than that, f/4 is a great lens for use in good light.

Particularly for indoor shooting. May I know how often f/2.8 is used. How is the DOF at this stop? Thanks.

Besides the weight issue, is there any hardware problem that you have encountered with the IS USM version?

hardware problem, unlikely. however, electronics do fail, so get a local warranty set to protect yourself. no point penny-wise and pound-foolish to try and get parallel imported grey sets. one might end up paying even more than a local set should things go awry....

just mi worthless opinion....

Heaven100 said:
Besides the weight issue, is there any hardware problem that you have encountered with the IS USM version?

you can take a look at the ef lens works page 108 on this model and see for yourself. it shows the seagull prepping for take off at f/4.

alternatively, go to http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html to do some online calculations and free programs to determine how much DOF u require.

all zoom/telephoto lens can have shallow or deep DOF, you dun need a 70-200 to do that, it's the quality of the background blur (as a result of shallow DOF) that stands out.

Heaven100 said:
Particularly for indoor shooting. May I know how often f/2.8 is used. How is the DOF at this stop? Thanks.

user12343 said:
hardware problem, unlikely. however, electronics do fail, so get a local warranty set to protect yourself. no point penny-wise and pound-foolish to try and get parallel imported grey sets. one might end up paying even more than a local set should things go awry....

just mi worthless opinion....

The problem that I happened to read about it something like "Code 00" error. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I tried to do a search again but nothing pops up.

Anyone encountered similar problem with you IS USM version? Or in other varient?

i think those issues mentioned in the foreign forums are over-exaggerated with IS lens causing entire camera lockup. i tin those lockups account for an extremely small portion of users.

which is why i say again, unless you're able to get canon sg to support greyset purchases, you might be better off (1) not buying or (2) buying local sets.

Heaven100 said:
The problem that I happened to read about it something like "Code 00" error. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I tried to do a search again but nothing pops up.

Anyone encountered similar problem with you IS USM version? Or in other varient?

user12343 said:
however, electronics do fail, so get a local warranty set to protect yourself. no point penny-wise and pound-foolish to try and get parallel imported grey sets. one might end up paying even more than a local set should things go awry

Well said....:cheers:

+evenstar said:
Indeed, Japan does have a great photography culture. :D

U wun look outta place with a MkII. :)

Heaven100 said:

This problem is very specific to only a very few IS lenses, with the 70-200mm being the most commonly reported. The others which occur very rarely will be the 28-135mm and 100-400mm. The rest do not have this problem. Also, the bodies which seem to get this problem are the 20D(having the most occurrences of this happening) and the 10D(which I have seen some report).

What usually happens is that before you shoot, the aperture reads as 00 instead of the aperture setting you have selected. When you fire the shutter, an err01 or err99 will immediately happen. The only way to resolve this would be to remove the lens and replace it or remove the battery and replace it.

Canon Singapore has indicated that this is an IS problem, whereas Canon Canada told me this is a contact problem. Whichever it is, my 70-200mm and 20D continually gives me problem. However, there is a way to mitigate this problem. Using an extender or extension tube with the 20D and 70-200mm magically causes this problem to go away.

edit: Stupid me. There is another way to mitigate this problem. Turn off IS.

If you want a web resource documenting this, go to http://www.cps.canon-europe.com/kb/detail.jsp?faqId=1022.

to share some experience...have a lot of reservations before buying the "dabai"...price, weight, IS reliability (read form forum), cabinet bound etc etc... walk into the shop with cam and tried F2.8IS and F4.... instantly forget all my worries! There seems to have a magic aura surrounding this "dabai" that cause you to part with 3K plus...

F4 with flash perhaps is a more "logical" and cheaper option. but being typical "kiasu" singaporean....the 2.8 plus IS is beri "SAFE" lor! if price is not a problem....buy both of them...LOL

chaos72 said:
if price is not a problem....buy both of them...LOL

Yo u shd say... " if prix is not a problem... get all the L lens..." Wahahaha...

chaos72 said:
to share some experience...have a lot of reservations before buying the "dabai"...price, weight, IS reliability (read form forum), cabinet bound etc etc... walk into the shop with cam and tried F2.8IS and F4.... instantly forget all my worries! There seems to have a magic aura surrounding this "dabai" that cause you to part with 3K plus...

F4 with flash perhaps is a more "logical" and cheaper option. but being typical "kiasu" singaporean....the 2.8 plus IS is beri "SAFE" lor! if price is not a problem....buy both of them...LOL

I think "Kiasu Singaporean" is the key word that will determine the "logic" behind the thinking and delibration. I don't deny I'm one of a typical ones who want to get cheap, fresh and BIG. ;) Hehehe