GST up to 7%

well, before the next ge, the electorates will again be 'sweetened' by $$(progress package, etc) so much they forget about the increases in gst, etc. still can't see thru their strategy. pity, pity.

Remember Remember... the next coming election...

we need V...

shh... do u know " Clubsnap " was being mentioned during Rally Speech before ? shh...
:angel: :angel: cheers to p a p!!! equality to all!!!!
U want equality? How does communism sound to u? Equal enuff? :think:

Just make sure u stay true to ur own integrity & dun abuse it. :bsmilie:

Does not make sense at all. The lower income need every cent to make it through every day, the gst will result in them having less to go around. The middle income and high income, what is 7 percent to them? Any increase is not felt as greatly. And as for the schemes to help the poor? My goodness there are so many citerias and conditions that so many people dont quality. Like a fund that was set up for helping the lower income, seems that the government only found 6000 families that passed their citeria and of these less than 1000 families actually were part of the scheme.

So end of the day the GST increase will hurt the lower income the most, as for the plans that PM Lee says about giving the lower income money for education.... well that is provided they can stay alive till then... and provided they have the money to support themselves when they are in school. I would say do things like increase ERP, COE, Propery Tax for land properties. This way, you are REALLY taxing the rich to help the poor and not give some lame excuse about a safety net.

well, before the next ge, the electorates will again be 'sweetened' by $$(progress package, etc) so much they forget about the increases in gst, etc. still can't see thru their strategy. pity, pity.

By the time ppl will be "immune" to the 7% liao. Unless they increase GST again during election year. :think:

Better learn how to love them. Later u kena left right centre, esp by the elite. U be glad that we are one of the lowest GST in the whole world, thats why we must catch up with them! Then first world is form. Oh dear... how wonderful.... 1 cam... hmm... Gst... gray set better...

How to give money to poor? How abt those less fortunate? hmm... Sooner, they are Poorer and we turn needy. While M.I.W. enjoy the peaceful life with earplug on, so during anytime, they cant hear anything..

Mee Siam... Mai Hum... Rem... you get money for no good reason... woo... legal bribe..

:cry: sign.so ts time for all to start saving $5 per day min when u retire 30 years later.bring your money s$54750 and start living in thailand or vietnam............a land of many >>>>>temples!!!! and peace....this money will never enough to stay in sg when retire!!!remember ,the casino is coming soon.all your saving will goes into the casino if u are a gambler!!!;) i'm a gambler but lucky me.no casino in sg yet.only ready in 5 years time..........so i will sure die if i remain in sg.temptation of gambling is high.so i am flying off asap if suitations allow!!!!:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

actually i feel that the low income group should be exempted in some essential areas. :think:

:cry: sign.so ts time for all to start saving $5 per day min when u retire 30 years later.bring your money s$54750 and start living in thailand or vietnam............a land of many >>>>>temples!!!! and peace....this money will never enough to stay in sg when retire!!!remember ,the casino is coming soon.all your saving will goes into the casino if u are a gambler!!!;) i'm a gambler but lucky me.no casino in sg yet.only ready in 5 years time..........so i will sure die if i remain in sg.temptation of gambling is high.so i am flying off asap if suitations allow!!!!:bsmilie: :bsmilie:
I hope u factored in 2% annual depreciation into that cos the monetary value of S$54750 30yrs from now would be 60% lower than what u have now. :bsmilie:

money moeny money..............all they want is money...just give to them law....what to do.
Just play hard and earn hard. the gove...... is trying to learn the show call ,money not enough.:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Wa lao....

CP, AP and all the other Photo company call Mr Lee lah....

They told him... Die la... business damn bad nowadays..... how ah??

Mr Lee says... No problem la.... I increase GST lor... then your sales these two months will be fantastic....

So tomorrow, salesman will tell you buy before the GST increase hor...... haha... isn't this a good way to increase the sales?? Fantastic idea isn't it!!??

So guys, check you wallet and rush in!! Get your dream lenses before their prices increase by another 2%!!

Does not make sense at all. The lower income need every cent to make it through every day, the gst will result in them having less to go around. The middle income and high income, what is 7 percent to them? Any increase is not felt as greatly. And as for the schemes to help the poor? My goodness there are so many citerias and conditions that so many people dont quality. Like a fund that was set up for helping the lower income, seems that the government only found 6000 families that passed their citeria and of these less than 1000 families actually were part of the scheme.

So end of the day the GST increase will hurt the lower income the most, as for the plans that PM Lee says about giving the lower income money for education.... well that is provided they can stay alive till then... and provided they have the money to support themselves when they are in school. I would say do things like increase ERP, COE, Propery Tax for land properties. This way, you are REALLY taxing the rich to help the poor and not give some lame excuse about a safety net.

pro comment! but transport related costs are usually not taken as only costs affecting the rich.
in most countries, its part of a basket of necessities. hence might not want to implicate COE or ERP. landed property tax yes.
luxury tax yes (we do not have that yet).

Sg will soon become a land of the richs. & Best of all crime.
Poor get out???
sad:cry:

As I've mentioned before the election this year. All planned properly liao. This is what all will get. What's there to complain? Vote liao don't complain!

More coming hoh...expect price increase in everything, cos GST increase mah...:bsmilie:

If it really means the poor will have a safety net then I agree with the 7% GST.
Am I the first one here to do so?
But as another member said, it is likely to hurt the poor.
The extremely rich own businesses and can pass on this GST tax to the consumer. Meaning the middle class and the poor will bear most of the brunt. When the extremely rich pay less tax, they call it tax planning.
When the poor pay less tax, maybe they call it tax evasion.

you think p_p are stupid to do it before a election. i think it is the electorates who are suffering from short-term memory and greed.

By the time ppl will be "immune" to the 7% liao. Unless they increase GST again during election year. :think:

a lot of so call benefits is given to families whom had to have both parents working and the total income must be less than S$1500![this is consider low!]
provided both husband and wife must work ! both income total of not more than S$1500!
If S$1500.01 is not eligible for the benifits....what a joke:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

I did some researching while trying to input something useful for this thread, so this is what I found (it addresses many of the questions you guys have put forward).

Ministry of Finance Goods and Services Tax FAQ Page

I leave it up to you guys to formulate cohesive arguments against the answers to the FAQs.

Sg will soon become a land of the richs. & Best of all crime.
Poor get out???
sad:cry:

If life which is something money could buy;
The rich will live and the poor will die.
In fairness that God has made it so;
The rich and the poor together must go. :)

If life which is something money could buy;
The rich will live and the poor will die.
In fairness that God has made it so;
The rich and the poor together must go. :)

????????????????the suituation is making more sgreans to leave the country.and thats why more foreign workers are coming.........:)