Great service from Sony Service Center

Was charge $85 for half done aperture blade cleaning and $64 for dusk spot cleaning.. what a rip off.

Hart

That's quite expensive, but still reasonable considering the 3rd party lens service center quoted me $125 for a cleanup of their lens.

i dont mind paying at all, only if the job is done properly.

Hart

According to Sony here, the Shanghai shop should have given us an international warranty card. But they just left the local warranty card in the box. The Shanghai salespeople insisted that we had everything we needed for the international warranty, but they were wrong. So if you do buy something up there, make sure you see the international warranty and that it says it's so and that it goes into the box. I was too excited about the new camera to check on what they were saying... lesson learned.

Wow! Does that mean that the SONY bodies also come with international warranty?! How cool is that? Potential savings of a few hundred dollars, any takers?!:o

Sent in my 5D last Fri for shutter jam. Today tech called to quote $140 for shutter pcb replacement...so not so lucky.No choice actually.... I'd just say oklah.

6 mths ago, same 1st symptom kena $80+ only. The 3 mth warranty not enuff bcoz further 3mth cam conked again. I think they clever, know how to predict when to give warranty. Anyway I feel my fault too, shoot like machinegun burst during Airshow practice, after 150+ shots kena jam. Remind me during army days with the M16 at Sudong live-firing.

Anyway,just bought the A700 and Tamron 17-50mm, also today. Haiz...., now waiting to collect the 5D.

Big, big hole in pocket now..............:sticktong:sweat::bigeyes:

Sent in my 5D last Fri for shutter jam. Today tech called to quote $140 for shutter pcb replacement...so not so lucky.No choice actually.... I'd just say oklah.

6 mths ago, same 1st symptom kena $80+ only. The 3 mth warranty not enuff bcoz further 3mth cam conked again. I think they clever, know how to predict when to give warranty. Anyway I feel my fault too, shoot like machinegun burst during Airshow practice, after 150+ shots kena jam. Remind me during army days with the M16 at Sudong live-firing.

Anyway,just bought the A700 and Tamron 17-50mm, also today. Haiz...., now waiting to collect the 5D.

wahhh...welcome to A700 camerahood...with 17-50..not a bad combi...

hey bro, how is your shutter jam like?

is it like when the camera turned on, the shutter cant fire? and anti shake indication blinking?

my cam also has that problem anyway :embrass:

hey bro, how is your shutter jam like?

is it like when the camera turned on, the shutter cant fire? and anti shake indication blinking?

my cam also has that problem anyway :embrass:

No, different. When switch on, everything working. Can focus lock and AS not blinking, like normal. Only when press shutter button, cam becomes inoperable like dead. LCD goes off and nothing works. Switching off and on again cause the mirror to flip once and everything looks normal.

Activate CCD cleaning function will also freeze cam, mirror flip up but shutter still close so cannot see sensor. A off-on will cause the mirror to flip once again.

Further playing around, I found removing and reinserting battery will cause mirror to flip once too, with cam still switch off.

Yours looks like AS faulty, try use with AS off.

Bro Dewakarma, thanks for the Tamron info.:thumbsup:, shiok lah.

No, different. When switch on, everything working. Can focus lock and AS not blinking, like normal. Only when press shutter button, cam becomes inoperable like dead. LCD goes off and nothing works. Switching off and on again cause the mirror to flip once and everything looks normal.

Activate CCD cleaning function will also freeze cam, mirror flip up but shutter still close so cannot see sensor. A off-on will cause the mirror to flip once again.

Further playing around, I found removing and reinserting battery will cause mirror to flip once too, with cam still switch off.

Yours looks like AS faulty, try use with AS off.

Bro Dewakarma, thanks for the Tamron info.:thumbsup:, shiok lah.

seem different from mine..

tried to turn as off, still cant work.. when i turn on ccd cleaning mode, the sensor wasnt in the middle :bigeyes:

My 2nd hand KM5D shutter got stuck couple of weeks ago and I've got to send it back to Sony service center last week to get it fixed. 2 days later, recieved a call from the technician to tell me the shutter component is not working. And to my surprise, he say they will replace a newer, modified shutter component for me FOC. He explained that the old design is not very good, so they have a improved version of it. I was totally surprise that Sony is will to provide such level of support for KM products. It wasn't their generic products after all. Got back my camera last night and so happy that it came back in time for me to go shoot the airshow this weekend.

I was originally still undecided if I will move on to Sony's new DSLR range for my next camera but I think I am quite sold on it now. But still hopeful that their lens prices could be a bit nearer to HK prices.:p

Good work to Sony Singapore Service Center. Definitely won over a strong supporter and I have been telling my friends about this.

At last collected my 5D. No FOC for me. Parts cost $47 and labour cost almost twice that. But service was prompt both sending and collection. No more separate queue no. for KM stuff.

I'm surprised they use a A100 shutter assy to replace my KM one. Now my cam is a 5D/A100 hybrid. Will do testing tommorow.

At last collected my 5D. No FOC for me. Parts cost $47 and labour cost almost twice that. But service was prompt both sending and collection. No more separate queue no. for KM stuff.

I'm surprised they use a A100 shutter assy to replace my KM one. Now my cam is a 5D/A100 hybrid. Will do testing tommorow.

That's the good thing about Sony Service. :thumbsup:

about sony servicing...
have sent my A350 for sensor cleaning last last SUNDAY,
today collect, bring home check then found out the "spots" still there,
like before lor~ doubt they ever clean the sensor at all...
so now how?
send in for cleaning again(wait for another week), gosh i just play the cam for ~7days only... bought it during IT SHOW.
or should i buy sensor cleaning kit to DIY?

about sony servicing...
have sent my A350 for sensor cleaning last last SUNDAY,
today collect, bring home check then found out the "spots" still there,
like before lor~ doubt they ever clean the sensor at all...
so now how?
send in for cleaning again(wait for another week), gosh i just play the cam for ~7days only... bought it during IT SHOW.
or should i buy sensor cleaning kit to DIY?

buy those blower, diy yrself and save yrself the trouble, u can't forever depend on them to clean for u

got blower, try few times oredi, cannot get rid of the dust then send in,
now thinking gonna get those sensor wand to wipe sensor...

u r rite i should not depend on them, but when i send in they should hv done their job what. :angry:

got blower, try few times oredi, cannot get rid of the dust then send in,
now thinking gonna get those sensor wand to wipe sensor...

u r rite i should not depend on them, but when i send in they should hv done their job what. :angry:

not all blower are good. get those giotto rocket blower

Another thumbs up from me, my KM5D's shutter assembly replaced :)