true. not everyone is diligent. and face it oso...the really diligent singaporeans were targeted by the gahmen for scholarships and fast foward their education to go to overseas. the creme de la crop is not studying where the ft has a chance to study lor. <--not sure about this...lol.
it is double standard. in politics, usa calling china is hogging all the action is like a school bully telling the teacher the bullied is too clever. if u remember, singapore also has more money flowing into the country than money flowing out...even accounting for the money remitted by FTs here.
and for ur comment in blue...very true. the gist of the principle.

now tell me something, consider this situation: FT if they want to enroll in a local school, has to pay double the school fee. they have second dibs at earning a place oni after the locals have their pick. they came from a foreign country, thus does not necessary speak english or chinese well, and yet they study in a local school where the medium of instruction is english or chinese. the score stands at locals 3 to FT 0. is this fair playing ground?
sure, local school is built to cater to local students, paid for by the taxes...but know oso that PRs pay taxes as well, as do all FT who works here...granted, local school is for local students (or if u want, local company is for local workers...if they willing...) so oni a handful of school actually accepts FTs, but despite this, the FT are doing better...this begs the question:
why, despite all the odds against them, do they still do so well?
and did u know that being the child of FT (i'm assuming PRs), they are liable for NS? is this the citizen requirement?
edit: saw ur edit...yeah...a plate of jell-o...lol!