For those who are buying LP-E6 battery

There could be various versions of "fake" batteries.

Here is my version.

LP-E6.jpg

The original is on the right.

Having said that, I cannot say that the one on the left is non original.

There could be various versions of "fake" batteries.

Here is my version.

LP-E6.jpg

The original is on the right.

Having said that, I cannot say that the one on the left is non original.

hmm, this is complicating... so which is the real original?

I bought my 5D II on Christmas 2008. It looks like the above right. I don't think it's a fake since no one was producing that battery before it and you can't even find original LPE6 on the market then. Anyway, if it's a dud, I would just like to know where I could get more :)

Yes, the one on the right is the original one.

But I cannot say that the one on the left is fake.

I believe that the question is not whether which one is fake or not. It is whether you are paying the right price for the right product.

If the so called "fake" battery is selling the same price as the original one, then it is an issue.

All of us have no issue to pay $30 for example for 3rd party or fake battery.

Instead of the taking the risk, might as well just buy the SDV ones. =P

It works pretty well.

the batteries look different because made for different markets. Canon Japan have packed their cameras (7D and 5D2) with the so-called 'fake'. happens that there are some counterfeit which look like them.

Thanks for the explanation USM. Glad to know I got the real one, I thought that mine is fake. The 4 letter serial is the key.

Yes, I think you are right bro.

Different region/country has different safety/environmental regulation.
If you work for manufacturer like HP, etc., there is this yearly mandatory trainings on those regulations :confused:

Actually I think the 2 different labels shows batteries meant for different export markets..

Top: Korea, Japan, USA, Australia
Bottom: Europe, Russia, Japan, USA, Australia

I'd say both of yours are originals judging from the quality of the battery casing.

Cheers,
Andrew

hi all,

i did make a call to Canon and the staff explained that as long as the word Canon that is engraved on the battery plastic has the same font and size as any other canon battery, it should be original.

like some of you explained, the different sticker at the back is probably due to different country's import/export requirements.

I have a piece that is like what Promethus posted but slightly different chinese characters. I think mine is for HK or China market.

I think the best proof other than the logo would be the fact that my canon could read full information on serial number, battery condition and register it with my camera just like the one that came with the camera. i seriously doubt a fake can do this.

If you guys are so concerned about so-called "fakes" bring it down to Canon and let them do the work instead of forging all kinds of conspiracy theories. I mean, if not Canon who else could make some reliable comments?

hi all,

i did make a call to Canon and the staff explained that as long as the word Canon that is engraved on the battery plastic has the same font and size as any other canon battery, it should be original.

like some of you explained, the different sticker at the back is probably due to different country's import/export requirements.

I have a piece that is like what Promethus posted but slightly different chinese characters. I think mine is for HK or China market.

I think the best proof other than the logo would be the fact that my canon could read full information on serial number, battery condition and register it with my camera just like the one that came with the camera. i seriously doubt a fake can do this.
There are actually OEM batteries that has the chip built-in and functioned exactly as the original LP-E6 using the original battery charger.

yup,I bought one third party batteries which has the build in chip and the camera read the battery info well,just as the original LP-E6.

hmm..seems like i got a "fake" one that came with my 7d...I'm thinking it's just a design change...performace wise it's great. anyways, quite a timely thread...quite alot of LP-E6 batteries on sale in BnS lately..good reference for buyers...

May i hijack this thread by asking everyone with LP-E6 to post their average shutter count per usage on their 7D/5Dmkii in a one day shoot?

Examples:

1) 600 photos with 50% left on 7D
2) 1200 with 0% left on 7D

that should tell us on average how well the original battery should perform right? :dunno:

if the count is significantly lower on our current battery, that should indicate its a fake.:nono:

my idea came when i see most forums talking about the fake LP-E6s.

they have most of their counts at about 1000-1200 shots using a original battery.
(not sure if this is correct.) maybe a Canon specialist can tell us better.:bsmilie:

lets try this??? :dunno:

my 2 cents.

hmm..seems like i got a "fake" one that came with my 7d...I'm thinking it's just a design change...performace wise it's great. anyways, quite a timely thread...quite alot of LP-E6 batteries on sale in BnS lately..good reference for buyers...

The battery that came with the EOS 7D should be genuine unless you are buying 2nd hand whereby the previous owner may change it.

I bought my second battery which looks the same with the photo posted in this thread.

However, I can registered this battery with my 5DMK2 body. It recognize the serial number of the battery.

My original 5DMK2 battery is local set and it comes with the battery with silver plate on it.

If the fake one can do this, it is as good as a real one.

wah.. i want to buy a 2nd LP-E6 for my 7D leh but now i very scared liao..

of all things, i wun buy second hand battery. cos i dun know how many times the previous owner charged his batteries.

i rather pay more just to be safe.