First Portrait Attempt: Nad & Sel

#1 is focus wrongly, not blur. ;) Note her arm muscle though, her right hand is posed, but her left hand was left to do nothing, note that she looks best if she doesn't smile but gives the more serious quiet look.

#2, your framing is making me dizzy... try tilting it a bit less and give a portrait orientation

#3 left hand muscle... cropping's a bit tight, nice use of the sky,

Work on your exposure, the skin's a bit blown. :)

I too agree with espn's comments. especially #1. my advice for taking models;
1. zoom in close to her eyes.
2. Focus it and lock your focus than zoom back out.
3. From there than you take your shot. SURE sharp!

Venom81 said:
Innocent good mah. Sel look garang when she's not smiling. Don't know its it me or she don't like to smile. Better don't tell her that or later she me. :flame:

hahahaa. sel usually smiles one... she always so cheery... hahahahaa. muz be u guys bully her! :nono:

Where got bully her... she looks good when she act "attitude" lah!

Or when she smile (naturally) that is...

nemesis32 said:
Where got bully her... she looks good when she act "attitude" lah!

Or when she smile (naturally) that is...

Haha.. I totally agree with you.. She looks good with that "attitude" of her's.. When she "dao" people.. Thats the best shot... :bigeyes:

kennyleong said:
Haha.. I totally agree with you.. She looks good with that "attitude" of her's.. When she "dao" people.. Thats the best shot... :bigeyes:
haha.. i couldnt agree more on that.. keke,,

Kelvin Low said:
I too agree with espn's comments. especially #1. my advice for taking models;
1. zoom in close to her eyes.
2. Focus it and lock your focus than zoom back out.
3. From there than you take your shot. SURE sharp!
i using prime lens.. 50mm.. hmm.. how to do that... i often do focusing based on manual focus.. should i turn to AF and set the AF point ?

goo82sg said:
i using prime lens.. 50mm.. hmm.. how to do that... i often do focusing based on manual focus.. should i turn to AF and set the AF point ?

IMO, no reason to discontinue using manual focus.

reachme2003 said:
IMO, no reason to discontinue using manual focus.

Manual focusing is good too. Usually, manual focus is used when you want to capture critical moments, ie. in sports, candid shots etc...

maybe you can do a comparison using a AF shot and a manual focus shot, to see which type of focusing you are better in or suits you...

Sel's very good and sophisticated looking. Good for executive theme.

But you shouldn't have made her pose in such an awkward way in the first photo. She looks kinda suffocated and the double chin is unflaterring.

melissafaith said:

But you shouldn't have made her pose in such an awkward way in the first photo. She looks kinda suffocated and the double chin is unflaterring.

I hope i don get boomed for this but seriously during the shot i felt that for sel, her neck is like abit longer and thick too. Maybe it is the chin and neck distance. Anyone think so? and ya... for the first pic her expression tells me she is uncomfortable.

For nadia, i think she was a challenge. most pics posted had to be cropped coz basically of her height the last thing we want is to make her look smaller. Nadia's face and shoulder size is slightly dispropotionate. For the 3rd pic somehow the angle (or maybe i think it is the raising of the shoulder) minimised that effect. interesting....

melissafaith said:

had a closer look.. it seems true that she seems uncomfortable.. never occurred to me this happen.. i will pay more attention to these details.. especially cropping.. seems like i have chop off lotsa arms n legs.. keke.. i also argee with many that Sel #2 tends to make you dizzy.. the tilt was too much..

Climber said:
I hope i don get boomed for this but seriously during the shot i felt that for sel, her neck is like abit longer and thick too. Maybe it is the chin and neck distance. Anyone think so? and ya... for the first pic her expression tells me she is uncomfortable.

For nadia, i think she was a challenge. most pics posted had to be cropped coz basically of her height the last thing we want is to make her look smaller. Nadia's face and shoulder size is slightly dispropotionate. For the 3rd pic somehow the angle (or maybe i think it is the raising of the shoulder) minimised that effect. interesting....

see la. i give de photographers some challenge... wahahaha..

paiseh. i got so many 'faults' :embrass:

Witness said:
yah...venom where are ya shots??

Still processing. A lot of PS need to be done. :sweat:

nadnut said:
hahahaa. sel usually smiles one... she always so cheery... hahahahaa. muz be u guys bully her! :nono:

Where got? Who dare to bully her? She so fierce. :bigeyes:

veri fierce meh... hmmm... not fierce people will bully me leh.. so must fiercer abit. smiling very tiring u noe. hahaha look dao easier.. heh.. I GOT DOUBLE CHIN FROM SINGING IN CHOIR dammit. roar. i hate my choir conductor! always, lower your jaw! lower your jaw! lower until got double chin. -___-!!! I know i got long neck. *paiseh*

suyi_84 said:
veri fierce meh... hmmm... not fierce people will bully me leh.. so must fiercer abit. smiling very tiring u noe. hahaha look dao easier.. heh.. I GOT DOUBLE CHIN FROM SINGING IN CHOIR dammit. roar. i hate my choir conductor! always, lower your jaw! lower your jaw! lower until got double chin. -___-!!! I know i got long neck. *paiseh*

Very true. You look better with the fierce look although I ask you to smile you don't smile always end up laughing at me. :sweat: You got double chin meh? Can't see leh? :think:

suyi_84 said:

Hey! long neck can be nice.. especially for elegance type of shots.. :lovegrin: Try to move your chin more forward should help to reduce or prevent the double chin can liao... ;p

nadnut said:
see la. i give de photographers some challenge... wahahaha..

paiseh. i got so many 'faults' :embrass:

suyi_84 said:

yoz relax girls.... sorry for being frank... hope you all can forgive my frankness.. sometimes i feel better just saying what i have in mind. :sweat:
Hope you feel better after i send u the pics... keke... :sweatsm: