Final Cut VS Premiere Pro

our FCP now oni support DV, but also able to capture thru component but still compressed to DV editing. We are looking into getting the STI card in future. do let me know if in anyway we can help each other. :)
i reachable at 9738 0901

What?! Avid software costs SGD$125,000??!! Then what about Final Cut Pro?!

Just found out the price for Final Cut. USD$1300. Still manageable.

USD$1300 is oni the software.. not forgeting abt the hardware tat u need.. say a Mac pro with suffiecient hard disk and ram can ez cost u abt $6K or more. plus the software can hit around 10K.. but it is diffinately a muscle system tat can do most of the job.

Avid is not so a value for $ system.. and oso personally find not so fun to play with as compare to FCP.. anyway very long time no tourch Avid liao.. think rusty liao.

Well, read somewhere in this forum someone offering hands on experience on SMOKE! wow.. tat system will really cost more then a Bomb! think oni few set in SGP! :cool:

What?! Avid software costs SGD$125,000??!! Then what about Final Cut Pro?!

Just found out the price for Final Cut. USD$1300. Still manageable.

if you can get a 2nd hand copy of final cut pro 4, the upgrade to final cut studio 5.1 is about s$350. more apps for a low price :thumbsup: :)

Final cut which runs on macbook pro is the best for me. Simply put because it works well with tools which premiere never ever think of creating. Using Final cut with Livetype and Motion-- it's superb! One can produce professional looking video in a snap.
Don't waste your investment on pc-- go for the pro.. Final cut/macbook pro is worth it. Swear!

our FCP now oni support DV, but also able to capture thru component but still compressed to DV editing. We are looking into getting the STI card in future. do let me know if in anyway we can help each other. :)
i reachable at 9738 0901

Bro,

Look at the Decklink cards if you going SDI. I used to work for the distributor here in tech support.

www.decklink.com

Hello can advise on which is better to use .
what is the pro and cons.

Thinking to switch from pc to mac.
is it advisable?

If you can afford it, go for Final Cut Pro. Easier to find jobs also.

Beware if you want the best performance, must go for MacPro.

Incidentally, both FCP and PPro came from the same developement team. Problem is the word "Premiere" sounds too consumer lah.... in terms of features, they are about equal, I'd say.

can i safely say that if you know how to handle premier pro, you can also pick up FCP easily? i'm a premier pro user, but haven't touch FCP yet. :dunno:

i prefer final cut pro but i am too used to adobe premiere =x quite easy to handle

the last time i check with Apple, they have a problem with Macbook Pro using FCP due to the switch to intel chip. I am not sure if they have resolve the problem...

also, using FCP requires a substantial amount of speed... make sure you have enuff speed if not it would get hanged most of the time esp with HDV...

if you do not intend to switch anytime soon, try Vegas 7 before jumping...

can i safely say that if you know how to handle premier pro, you can also pick up FCP easily? i'm a premier pro user, but haven't touch FCP yet. :dunno:

If you know one, it's not difficult learning the other. ;)

the last time i check with Apple, they have a problem with Macbook Pro using FCP due to the switch to intel chip. I am not sure if they have resolve the problem...

also, using FCP requires a substantial amount of speed... make sure you have enuff speed if not it would get hanged most of the time esp with HDV...

The only thing I know is that your old plug-ins cannot be used with the Intel version.

But HDV is slow to edit by nature of it's Mpeg-2 roots. You might want to tr DVCPro-HD for much better quality.

If you can afford it, go for Final Cut Pro. Easier to find jobs also.

Beware if you want the best performance, must go for MacPro.

Incidentally, both FCP and PPro came from the same developement team. Problem is the word "Premiere" sounds too consumer lah.... in terms of features, they are about equal, I'd say.

actually looks same but diff in the way they handle coding which fcp is better than premiere pro as i use both system and find out fcp almost accept any file systems from pc to mac but not premiere which accept a limited assets of file system which can be frustrated to some of us. But just remember to download those codecs. premiere pro do not accept some avi convert using mpeg streamclip and it must be those natively created by microsoft.

never or ever think of using laptop to do high end precision editing as laptop do nt have those horsepower that a desktop computers have.so to make full use of the native speeds either get a imac alu latest series which supports up to 4gb of ram or a macpro but no macmini becoz it uses intergrated graphics which is not highly recommended as editing needs to use alot of resources to perform well.

I'm a FCP user, I work on my macbook pro, 2.4ghz, 4Gb Ram.

I agree with you that an imac or a mac-pro would have done the job abit faster, but its all worth it when i need to move around and bring my macbook around.

I can edit hours and hours of HDV with great ease.

I'll have a 1TB Raid 0 Ext HDD to store my footages if I need to work with tons of footages directly.

And I agree FCP does code videos better than Premiere. (I use both)

I'm a FCP user, I work on my macbook pro, 2.4ghz, 4Gb Ram.

I agree with you that an imac or a mac-pro would have done the job abit faster, but its all worth it when i need to move around and bring my macbook around.

I can edit hours and hours of HDV with great ease.

I'll have a 1TB Raid 0 Ext HDD to store my footages if I need to work with tons of footages directly.

And I agree FCP does code videos better than Premiere. (I use both)

premiere the only one i trial it which i thinks is still oky is premiere cs3, still not as good as final cut pro especially the 6 which is better than before but i am still using the old version fcp 5.0.4 which works faster than my g5 when i transfer to the latest imac.

I've done lots of Discovery Channel, National Geographic, Disney & Mediacorp programs all with FCP, from offline cuts to online cuts, to color grading, audio mixing, & final transmission mastering......there's definitely no doubt about FCP other than a few little bugs here and there. :thumbsup:

Speaking of Avid, it cost a lot of money & tech support sucks! I bought my Avid system a few year back and I'll never think twice about going back to Avid!
No doubt editing functions of Avid (Mediacomposer, Symphony, Xpress family) is quite superior, but if you're paying lots of money for it and tech support sucks, then I'd rather settle for a cheaper alternative and find workarounds for my post-production solutions.

:thumbsd:

Totally agree with Bro DXNMedia. The Avid tech support really Sux like hell. I called them regarding about tech issue. They push here and there. Tell u to call phillipnies local call charge. After i called to phillipines, the operator message saying that they only support their own local..Call avid again they cant really do much,tell u to call who and who so and so dont know from which retail shop, in the end I still cant get my problem solve. U can imagine we spent so much money on their products and yet cant get a decent help from them. I called to usa, they said i have to call our local avid for help. Then our local Avid saying i have to call phillipines for tech support. Wah lah..In the end i found out that im learning tai chi quan from them. Not bad arh nowdays avid also giving free lesson on martial art issue.:thumbsd:

i don't have the money for a mac now so i'll stick to premiere for now and make the best out of it...

premiere can still do basic editing with no issues but i believe sony vegas are now slowly catching up in the professional market especially in broadcasting market.

Ya.. premiere can still do lots of decent editing
generally, Broadcast > FCP or Avids... Corporate > Premiere. vegas no comends cos never use b4 :embrass:
well, of cos can use for vice versa..
all boils down to skills ba??

May I know if FCP rendering depends on the grpahics cards or just the processor? I m PC user thinking of switching n it seems a decent setup for Mac Pro is like 6.5k to me excluding the monitors. BTW it can work with any monitors right?

What kind of specs r needed to edit HDV or HD? Will the basic Mac Pro with a 4GB ram be sufficient? I do not really understand what is the RAID for.. can someone enlighten me? Thks!