Felt so cheated... @ Photocam

It is important to clarify, and please do so asap. Maybe it was a human error when keying the value $48 instead of $18. Maybe it was communication error, he said wrongly or you heard wrongly. Or maybe they are out to mislead you simply.

Double check with them first and we can at least proceed forward with our options.

I agree. Juz act blur and go back to the shop and say that you thought it was $18 and checked with other shops (please check with other shops as well) to realise that it is a lower price.

Whatever it is, this is a case of willing seller and willing buyer. Cant really grouse too much and like what megaweb said, let this be a $30 lesson.

I have learnt through the years that if I decide to buy something in the spur of the moment cos I need the stuff, never ever try to check out the price afterwards. As long as I think the stuff is worth it, be happy.

sad to hear such thing... for me i am more kiasu... make sure i do my homework before buying thing... even if it is a dry box. normally i will consult my bro who is selling camera in SLS

PHOTOCAM ELECTRONICS CITY #01-04 @ PENINSULA PLAZA:thumbsd::

*Updates: Really can't take it; went down to the shop today 28 Jan (Monday) in the evening; after doing "homework" n the general advice given by many here. When i made payment yesterday; I wasn't thinking straight; really tired at that time... didn't put in too much thought....

It states free box worth S$24.90 (actual selling price will be lower); yahoo auctions (those offering brand new ones also around there---> rexlim: yahoo auctions do offer brand new items too)
http://www.digihub.com.sg/Uploads/pdf/93ebdd3b0a6e49a6b75603078a50292a.pdf

I entered the shop; too bad no customers at that time; went to the "boss" (around 1.6m; wear specs; middle aged around 40s; with a slight pauch). He sort of recognize me after me asking him the price of the box. I confronted him; he insisted that its S$48; I could sense his hesistation. I told him abt the findings and stuff... he still got the cheek to say its S$43; asked if e price i saw include 7% GST... best can refund S$5. To make things worse; he asked me abt my mode of payment: visa got to add 3%.

It doesn't take a rocket scientist to calculate S$25 + 7% GST + 3% Card Charge does not equal S$48...

I told him I would take dire actions against him... finally settled for S$10... n he didn't bother to check my receipt... it proves he's really out to "kill"....; just ask me to sign on the petty cash form.... but at least thats consumer's rightZ; cheers!... :)

Lesson learnt;
1) learning to be street-wise; with the intro of internet; almost all prices can be checked online... (do homework)
2) Go reputable shops with price tags clearly imprinted
3) Check with sales personnel on price / discounts
4) Do price comparsion around the vicinity (too bad thats the only shop - Photocam; maybe weekday no business; need to make it up...that's open on sunday)
5) Seek advice from friends who are knowledgable in this field
6) Don't need to feel embarassed after stating ur intention to buy but not paying in e end...
7) Maybe we can set up a forum to "blacklist" all the :thumbsd: shops.... so consumers are aware... of the dirty n nasty sales tactics deployed....

Thanks viewwing; night86mare; spping83; micky; bluebull; megaweb; nomoney; jerrysh; girlizz; chan xj; canonG9; SabaDen; ymmij; eng keow; egnaro for ur generous contributions and advice... certainly learnt a lot from this experience... after hearing from different perspectives from all contributors... thANKS.....:thumbsup::)

Lesson learnt;
1) learning to be street-wise; with the intro of internet; almost all prices can be checked online... (do homework)
2) Go reputable shops with price tags clearly imprinted
3) Check with sales personnel on price / discounts
4) Do price comparsion around the vicinity (too bad thats the only shop - Photocam; maybe weekday no business; need to make it up...that's open on sunday)
5) Seek advice from friends who are knowledgable in this field
6) Don't need to feel embarassed after stating ur intention to buy but not paying in e end...
7) Maybe we can set up a forum to "blacklist" all the :thumbsd: shops.... so consumers are aware... of the dirty n nasty sales tactics deployed....

this is quite a good guide, but to add on;

2) and 4) are not very valid - most of the reputable shops (cathay, john 316, i hesitate to add alan photo but oh well, ms color, op) do not really have price tags - even if they do sometimes those are for the tourists. 1) and 5) are probably a much better bet, as are the immense resources regarding this on clubsnap - do a search please, i am tired of seeing "what is the current price" now threads for people who are too lazy when there are relatively regular updates.

for 4), well, if you're in a chop-carrothead area like sls ground floors, all just chop you together and you end up getting chopped if you use that. :) on another note, even the reputable shops sometimes have differing prices for differing customers.. so be streetwise and insist on the price you want - of course be within reasonable limits, you don't expect a dslr body for $200 right.

6) is very important - one should understand his own right to withhold payment until the price and goods that are promised have been delivered.

doing some work before you go will ensure a pleasant shopping experience (external factors can't be controlled) from your point of view, and also a fair price will be achieved.

Just to add on that price tags on Cathay Photo are tourist prices. Real prices are not indicated on the tags.

After buying it then you found out about Clubsnap ?

Just to add on that price tags on Cathay Photo are tourist prices. Real prices are not indicated on the tags.

Yep... for example... the Lowepro stuff at CP... you got to take 50% off the price tag. The discount can range from 20-50%. I did, however, find some stuff that were fixed price.

My sympathy goes out to the TS. Some practices have not changed after all these years. Perhaps we should start a collection of not-so-honorable camera equipment sales tactics commonly used by some shops in Sgp, something along the line like this link. Hopefully this will help somebody else from becoming unknowing victims in future. I personally have been a victim of the "no-stock-offer-alternate-model" and "sales-receipt-is-your-warranty-card" tactics.

After buying it then you found out about Clubsnap ?
Ya... unfortunately... ya... got to know of this club after buying n doing "homeworK" after buying... coz got gut feeling its not rightZ.. haha

It's ok lah , $$ can be earn back. :) $30 for an experience earned is not too bad. On the bright side.. at least now u know about this club which in the future might give you a better info on certain pricing on item. Happy new year.:)

sorry being ot

you mean they charge diferently for tourists and locals? :eek:

me foreign student here, wonder if they have been charging me more..

Wanna share my shopping experience. Am a newbie; decided to get a dry box; understand that Cathay is very reputable; however its closed on Sundays.

Wanted to get a dry box. Went to PHOTOCAM ELECTRONICS #01-04 @ PENINSULA PLAZA; the salesman told me (what i heard) was S$18 for this i_Case Designer Series Box... however when making payment; it became S$48; I paid w/o thinking... recalling that i'm quite foolish; shouldn't have bought in the 1st place...

went to check online @ yahoo auctions... is around S$20... dun mind e shop earning a few bucks more... but its like close to S$30 difference... oh manz.. can't take it...

will drop by the shop one of these days to confront the boss... will update this thread.... any1 with similar experiences? or any advice? thanks in advance.... :)

I had a similar experience too. These shops at Peninsular can be quite a pain to deal with them. They look like sharks whenever foreigners walk pass.

I bought my first SLR, Nikon FM2 many years ago and to only realise that the shopowner removed the viewfinder protector screen. In the end, I got to buy it at SGD45.

Lesson learnt, check the manual on the accessories list to ensure all items are included in the box. Also the price too;)

sorry being ot

Perhaps you can ask another local guy to go with you? :)

sorry being ot

Most, if not all, electronic shops in Singapore, have their price tags coded in some alphanumeric which is only recognised by the shopkeepers themselves. The prices are substantially marked up and even locals here pay high prices if you do not do your homework.

Exceptions are the megastore like Harvey Norman, Gain City or Best Denki which have the recommended retail prices stated clearly on the products.

Just my 2 cents worth.:think:

I understand from another closed thread in CS that blacklist type threads are not allowed though...not sure how true this is.

My sympathy goes out to the TS. Some practices have not changed after all these years. Perhaps we should start a collection of not-so-honorable camera equipment sales tactics commonly used by some shops in Sgp, something along the line like this link. Hopefully this will help somebody else from becoming unknowing victims in future. I personally have been a victim of the "no-stock-offer-alternate-model" and "sales-receipt-is-your-warranty-card" tactics.

I understand from another closed thread in CS that blacklist type threads are not allowed though...not sure how true this is.

I reckon so... I suggested that and the thread was closed. Probably we should just frequent CS to check out if someone posts a bad experience with any particular shop.

Most, if not all, electronic shops in Singapore, have their price tags coded in some alphanumeric which is only recognised by the shopkeepers themselves. The prices are substantially marked up and even locals here pay high prices if you do not do your homework.

Exceptions are the megastore like Harvey Norman, Gain City or Best Denki which have the recommended retail prices stated clearly on the products.

Just my 2 cents worth.:think:

you'll be suprise that u can bargain with the megastore too :P