Feedback on Canon EF-S 17-85MM IS USM?

if wide-angle is important to you, then look carefully.

Sorry.. What's your msg mean.. So if wide angle is impt, should I get the EF-S 17-85mm or not? As I'm comparing to the Tamron 18-200 XR Di II, the wide angle is very similar, only 1mm difference..

hwchoy said:
if wide-angle is important to you, then look carefully.

jeryltan said:
Sorry.. What's your msg mean.. So if wide angle is impt, should I get the EF-S 17-85mm or not? As I'm comparing to the Tamron 18-200 XR Di II, the wide angle is very similar, only 1mm difference..

I mean, the 17-85 exhibits significant CA at wide-angle and on the fringe. so if you primary reason for this lens (other than just good range coverage) is for the wide-angle, then you want to consider whether it is something you can live with.

Well.. My primary reason for wanting this lens is because of the range.. Secondary reason is that I want to have something that starts from 17~18.. What would you recommend that gives good range and starts from 17~18mm?

hwchoy said:
I mean, the 17-85 exhibits significant CA at wide-angle and on the fringe. so if you primary reason for this lens (other than just good range coverage) is for the wide-angle, then you want to consider whether it is something you can live with.

jeryltan said:
Well.. My primary reason for wanting this lens is because of the range.. Secondary reason is that I want to have something that starts from 17~18.. What would you recommend that gives good range and starts from 17~18mm?

I still looking. So far I don't think there is an equivalent, meaning you need two lenses to cover the range. I might be interested to sell my 17-85 if you like ;)

JediForce4ever said:
Sigma 18-50mmf2.8

like I said, doesn't quite cover the "normal" range so still will need two good lenses.

How much you asking for it?

hwchoy said:
I still looking. So far I don't think there is an equivalent, meaning you need two lenses to cover the range. I might be interested to sell my 17-85 if you like ;)

But my kit lens, EF-S 18-55mm has a wider range than that.. Quality aside..

JediForce4ever said:
Sigma 18-50mmf2.8

:dunno: So you think the Tamron 18-200mm XR Di II is a better lens than the EF-S 17-85mm IS USM? Apart from range..

JediForce4ever said:
18-200mm lor....

jeryltan said:
:dunno: So you think the Tamron 18-200mm XR Di II is a better lens than the EF-S 17-85mm IS USM? Apart from range..
difficult to compare the two...different class of lenses...only can tell you which one i prefer....you compromise one thing for another...in the case of the 17-85mm, IS for range...

Ok.. I get your drift.. Well, like I said before.. 17-85mm is enough for me as I intend to use it as a walkabout lens, so quality within this range is more impt than overall range.. Also, I have another 75-300mm which I use only for very specific occassions..

JediForce4ever said:
difficult to compare the two...different class of lenses...only can tell you which one i prefer....you compromise one thing for another...in the case of the 17-85mm, IS for range...

but if I were you..I would get the 18-200mm,then used the money saved to buy an external flash...

:dunno: Alamak bro, you make me sibeh confused leh.. Anywayz, I already got a 430EX, find it more than sufficient for my intentions :)

JediForce4ever said:
but if I were you..I would get the 18-200mm,then used the money saved to buy an external flash...

ok..sorry to confuse you..enough advice given liao..up you now....

Tks for all your feedback.. I went ahead to get the 17-85mm IS USM and I must say the quality is really good. .Much better than the 18-55mm kit lens anyway.. I'm just a holiday photograher so that quality already looks pretty damn good to me ;)

jeryltan said:
How much you asking for it?

well, it'll be $700+ with UV and Cirpol filters. but I haven't decide to let go yet, need to decide on a replacement. at this point it appears to be a Sigma or Tokina 12-24 ultra-wide, then a 24-105 or 28-135 for walkabout.

jeryltan said:
Tks for all your feedback.. I went ahead to get the 17-85mm IS USM and I must say the quality is really good. .Much better than the 18-55mm kit lens anyway.. I'm just a holiday photograher so that quality already looks pretty damn good to me ;)

ah! so you got one. :thumbsup:

Bleuwhale said:
Hiya.

Like yourself, I had purchased the 17-85 lense on the following considerations:

a) Had to be fast Auto-focus since I do photo-journalistic shots. I need the Auto-focus to capture the split-second smile and emotions

b) Perfect for wedding / events without a need to switch lense often. ie, to take "intimate personal shots" or "view from a third party"

c) I had no money for L lense.

d) its the only lense I am getting for now.

Given the above, I do doubt that there was many options available for me other than the Canon 17-85 IS USM. Certainly, I have yet to be impressed with the color-quality ...but hey, maybe it just is that my skills suck. *Grins*

o...but i did manage to get mine at a pretty reasonable rate. So yep.. that pretty much settled it for me.

Still taking more pics to decide on the worth of the lense - jury is still out on it.

I doubt it's your skills. The 17-85mm provides only a slight improvement in overall picture quality over the kit lens. If you're looking to be blown away by its superior images then you'll be sorely disappointed. Its still better than the kit lens, though not by as much as we want it to be.

However, its still worth considering if it meets your needs. Just a little pricey.