F31d vs F30 - Is it worth the wait

You might be right that setting ISO of 100 on the D100 would result in a "noisy" image, and that was the reason for disabling it. (any linkage?) But I would expect it to be something more than that, or for the difference to be so severe that it was completely unacceptable. Even if ISO100 produces images which as noisy as ISO400, it's still not a horrible idea to include the mode?

There were some discussions and speculations during the D100 launch quite some years ago, but the gist of it is that the sensor is probably so insensitive at ISO100 that the signal cannot be picked up accordingly. Err... I suppose something like using a lousy mic against a good low bass singer, where the mic can't even pick up any of the low notes, such that no matter how much the sound engineer ups the amp, you can't hear the bass simply because the mic didn't 'hear' it.

I suppose the discussion on D100 and ISO should end here, it is F30 vs F31fd after all. I'll say, "Pay less for F30, value for money" (hey, it rhymes!).

got the latest e-quote from MS color.

F30 at $499 (w/o GST) and free 1gb xd card and case. Looks like F31fd will be here any minute.

F30, here i come !!!

Wow, $499 is very good deal :thumbsup:

Just get my F31fd at $599 from mscolor, incl. gst + 1g xD + case + mini tripod + extra batt

Yes, forgot to mention that.
Florence the one who serve me, and she is very friendly :thumbsup:

Can start posting some test shots? especially the fd thingy? TIA!

I thought it's going to be launched in Dec. Wow, gotta get my hands on a F31fd soon for a test shot.

Cheers :)

Hi armadillo,

Thx for the update.
The deal not bad.
I think i will go and get mine soon.

Generally F31 is ok, only the IR comm can't communicate with my PDA :(

Wah, armadillo, you are super fast!

Is the camera very responsive? Fast startup, autofocus and shutter release?

In macro mode, does it still produce that fluttering noise that earlier models (F1x) did?

hehehe, waiting for quite some times already
The camera seem quite responsive, I think typically same as F30.
In macro mode, also have the same noise, I think most of camera do so, my kodak V550 also same noise

Just get my F31fd at $599 from mscolor, incl. gst + 1g xD + case + mini tripod + extra batt
Hi, the deal includes 2 batteries? What's the second battery? original?

2nd battery is OEM (not original).

yeap, 2nd battery is OEM capacity 1500ma, the original 1800ma.
so far still can't tell the oem battery performance, need more time to judge :)

armadillo, you must be one of the first to get it, congrats and thanks for posting samples! :)

maybe some people shots would be good, if u have time

hope u enjoy ur cam, i'll probably get it soon too

duepeace, check it out my F31 pics samples, have posted 1 sample on people :)

Oh yes just saw it, thanks!

Looks well exposed and low noise for ISO800, but some detail loss and doll off focus.

Btw is your cam made in Japan?

Me too just got F31 cam from MS Color. Haven't even turn on the cam ah. Charging.
The uncle (the oldest among all) stick the screen protector until WOOE WOOE leh... ... :sweat: Anyway no big deal lah.
The uncle also told me 2nd year warranty free if you go register online. ;p Dunno. Cannot register now cause the website does not have the model for you to choose yet. Too new liao I think.