Expensive Equipment, Unprofessional Service

why don't you try writing (e-mailing) to the Nikon head/regional office?
It's obvious the local techies can't be bothered...

This thread regarding poor service at Nikon Service Center is indeed worrying. I purchased 2 D80's recently (one for my Dad), and a whole array of lenses for this new hobby of mine and I would very much hate it if I walked into Nikon and got the kind of treatment the TS got. This is simply atrocious. I have dealt with Canon's service center for my Canon Printer before and I must say that they have excellent service over there. I do hope that Nikon wakes up soon and fix their service attitude soon! Someone also mentioned that we have may have to "kiss ass" to the head technician to get good service ! - Hey - it is his job to provide us good service, cos it is consumers like us who IS the reason why he/she still has a job.

my sentiments exactly. as Nikon users, we paid not only for the product but for the certainty that our equipment is reliable. if it fails, the onus is on Nikon to fix it, not us pestering Nikon "eh.. pls can help anot?" Nikon users should say no to lousy service instead of having to "live with it".

lotusfairy, have you tried bringing up the case via the customer service side (online/phone)? I think it is best you totally forget the service centre route since they aren't very cordial. I used to work in customer service before, all major companies very uptight on customer care, so all call centres are under supervision. my former company had a big LCD screen, if the level or response fall below 95% the manager will come out and scream her head off.

if make enough noise, they cant ignore you.

hehe... maybe one of the nikon manager (who is also CSer) see this thread, should be awaken now. look like some pple already scared by nikon service, and/or want to change their mind to invest on the other brand.
Anybody read liao also will be scared one mah :embrass:

actually, there are ppl from nikon monitoring here. alot of ppl are monitoring clubsnap, the major shops. Thats why prices are not much off from what ppl are quoted on line.

As for the monitoring by nikon, I think its just they couldnt be bothered. Sad case.
Indeed. :cry: Then how? To buy or not to buy? :cry:

Seems like some of the NSC staff (who lack customer service) are not happy working in there. Hope that the nikon head office would look into their service standards - either RETRAIN or REPLACE those who can't give good service. There are so many good examples of great service from other organizations to learn from. As long as there is contact with customers, regardless technician or any other staff, good customer service is should be an in-built attitude.

If the service is like in Japan good liao...see you only greet you first, will try to assist you as much and as far as they can, even if it's out of their job scope and abliities. :thumbsup:

Not to mention the pretty babes too :bsmilie:

just like to share my experience with a certain *** tv brand many years ago.

i had this 14" tv and due to wanting to bring the tv out of the house and use, so need to re-tune all the channels. but being a basic 14" TV, the tuning was not so easily done.
there were 2 or 3 buttons on the remote control you had to simultaneously press to call up the tuning screen and then select VHF or UHF etc...

i forgot how to activate the tuning screen from the remote controller and has also misplaced the menu book. so i called up *** and asked for assistance. i requested if it was possible for them to fax that page of the menu to me, if not, they can simply tell me which buttons to press to activate the tuning screen on the tv.

the operator routed my call to technical and they refused to help. asked for the manager also no use. they told me i had to book a service technician and they will come and tune for me. and of course, you have guessed it: got to pay money la.
i told them it was ridiculous, i just needed to know what to press to activate the tuning screen, i know how to tune, just needed to know how to get to the tuning screen. the manager and technician all refused to help.i believe they must have thinking that the knowledge was worth its weight in gold. i was very very polite and get this kind of lousy service.

i was really pis#ed and wrote an email to the president of the company in Japan. Dun remember how, but surprisingly got the company president email on the internet. i told them i wanted to buy some other brand tv, but was persuaded to buy their brand because of some friends, telling me that *** product good, etc. I wrote to the Japan president that i was totally disappointed by their service standard, and i would never buy another of their product again, nor would i recommend it to friends. i knew that we are small fish, our business dun mean anything to them.

the next day, the Singapore company called me and asked me if they could send a technician to my house FREE of charge to tune the TV for me. i told them no need. just tell me how to get to the tuning screen can liao, cause i know how to tune. they also faxed the page to me and wanted to guide me through the steps. i told them no need, hai, if at first know like that, then help at first ok liao wat. "zao chi zin re, he bi tang chu".
they even call me the next day to see if everything was ok.

wow... 360 degrees change in service standard. i believe the japan headquarters really did something man....

ok, enough OT....

anyway, my experience with nikon singapore has been very good. they have been very professional and helpful.....

cheers

wow... 360 degrees change in service standard. i believe the japan headquarters really did something man....
Hahaha.. Yes.. The people here will get screwed quite badly if you complain to the Japan HQ. I've had the similar experience with Olympus and Yamaha. Then they will come and tell you next time don't complain to Japan because they will get it quite badly.. I was thinking, "You deserve it!"

I was working as a photographer, and I now hold a job in camera repairs. This company that I work for now repairs and modifies cameras from several major brands.

Don't be surprised that some camera "doctors" who perform surgery on your prized possessions have little or no photographic knowledge. Afterall, camera "doctors" surely need electronics knowledge and be good with their hands, and not necessarily need photographic knowledge. Hence, some camera technicians may not talk in f-stops and EV levels as fluently as photographers. When they repair a camera, they follow a confidential repair manual which probably isn't released to public.

Before I say further, I want to state that I'm writing this as carefully as I believe necessary since there's a possibility that Nikon Singapore (or anywhere) may be reading it. I won't state model numbers, but recommend ClubSnap members to check Nikon websites for product updates / recalls / repairs (if any).

Once you peel away the external of your Nikon camera, the internal may not be as fantastic as you would like it to be. I have dismantled Nikon cameras, and I work in an environment where several other Nikon cameras are dissected and repaired by my colleagues.

As I have said before, I won't state model numbers.

I have seen fingerprints on some mirror surfaces inside many brand new pro DSLR bodies. (I would expect them to be clean even though they may not affect optical/reflective performance.)

On other digicam models, the built-in flash doesn't pop up or fire in many units (a widespread problem). Others have smeared or black images captured due to imaging sensor contact deterioration in many units (another widespread problem).

The gist of this is to say that glossy product brochures are written to embellish the product and make it look good but some really aren't that good. I have a colleague who describes some Nikon models (again I won't state which ones) as "absolute rubbish" and suspects Nikon didn't make them but got another company to make them for cheapskate or low-income customers.

Every product will have its flaws and faults. Just to balance this thread so that Canon users don't go popping champagne, Canon cameras seem to have weaknesses in component build quality.

Hahaha.. Yes.. The people here will get screwed quite badly if you complain to the Japan HQ. I've had the similar experience with Olympus and Yamaha. Then they will come and tell you next time don't complain to Japan because they will get it quite badly.. I was thinking, "You deserve it!"
You got Nikon Japan president email? :dunno:

hehe... maybe one of the nikon manager (who is also CSer) see this thread, should be awaken now. look like some pple already scared by nikon service, and/or want to change their mind to invest on the other brand.

Yeah...what if he act blur.....you know......It's very common..,,.even myself doing that all the time so that I have less thing to do everyday......and better still get the same pay every month......after a while people will forget and buy Nikon again :lovegrin:

Aiyoh... how can like that :embrass: :embrass:

Be careful, Nikon can sue you for damaging its reputation because of this posting.

My experience with Nikon service.

Bought my camera on 2 weeks ago. found the SD card slot too tight (have to use substantial force to pull out the Fragile SD card). Went to Nikon centre (within 7 days) and repeatedly explain to the customer service gal and technician.

They insisted that there was nothing wrong with the camera (using a thin 64MB card) on my camera and refuse to acknowledge that there was a problem.

Was told that they will change a new cam for me.
Come back only when they call.

Finally ...they call, says that they only fix the card slot.
Well then, so I went down to Nikon Centre, guess what happens:

1. My same D80 was brought out. Check the camera, noticed the Connector Cover was "crumpled" and unable to close (I have not even touch there yet). The gal tried and got worried. She went in and came out says "we change for u liao".
Wah lao, They used force to handle our camera?

2. The SD card slot is the same, still hindered the card from getting out properly.

3. Technician came out and say aloud (with all the customers around): Its all the same with D80. (hmmm..). He took out a new box with another new D80 and challenged me to try myself (while he stand there and look...hmm I am customer leh). I raised my voice (to let other customers to take notice) and tried it and wah la!! it is smooth and proper. I have to demonstrate in front of him and other customers to prove to him. I pass both cameras to him and asked him to try it out himself. He tried and immediately his face colour drained and darkened. Without a word, he quickly marched back into his backroom, without any explaination. The rest of the customers were shaking their head at atttitude of the technician. My camera was with them for a week, he did not noticed/felt it/tried it? The other customer service woman start closing her cabinet with loud noise/bang and showed unpleased expression.

4. The customer service gal came out later and told me that his manager is going to change a new set. I ask the customer service gal is the slot is really faulty. She nodded her head and quickly rework on her paperwork.

5. The technician came out thereafter to collect the box that he left on the counter. He totally ignored me and walked right back in.

6. The customer service re-do the receipt and ask me to sign. Luckily I check again. The expiry/warranty of my camera was shortchanged from Dec 07 to Jul 07 (6 months). When I highlighted it, the lady just use pen to amend the receipt. I asked her isn't she need to update her system accordingly, she then changed it in her system. She insisted that she cannot give me the original receipt that I signed, with the amended correct date. OMG!

7. I asked for the CUSTOMER SERVICE feedback email/form, she insisted that Nikon do not have any feedback email for customers. She only gave me her dept manager email, which is the same people who tried to "con" their way through, without making any effort to work on the SD card slot and problem.

The journey down to Nikon centre took time, taxi fare and effort.

Nikon, expensive equipment, yet so unprofessional service.
Tried calling them and left messages, never reply.
Nikon,...Image, What image?
:thumbsd:

Be careful, Nikon can sue you for damaging its reputation because of this posting.

But the TS is just stating what happened to her..... must she stay in silence and
pretend nothing happened (like a typical Singaporean)? Hiaz..... :rolleyes:

Next time just put N!k0n lor. Just like we put M$ for micr0sof+.

ayio... still cant get over izzit? Move on la.. Each industry have got their own black sheep wa. ..Btw, any other users wa to share more abt D80??:devil: