EPL2 and Vintage Lenses for Bokeh

babyahboy said:

Not at this price, imho. I think it's same as fujia china made cctv 35/1.7 in c mount. U can get that like 40usd and cmount adapter for another 15usd. Cheap in built, performance is mediocre at best. The 25/1.4 would be more fun with a wicked swirly bokeh. Slr magic basically rebrand it and put a different mount, change the outlook a little, and voila!;) anytime tak or many other old lens cost that price will beat it in built and performance.

Oh man, poisonous u, I like jup 3!! Can be misleading too haha.

Good things must share lah bro! One of my favourite lenses is actually the canon 50mm f1.2 in leica thread mount (ltm)

the bokeh is simply mindblowing! Here's 2 pics from a friend's flickr account... this is a lens that draws beautifully!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoomp09/5541093837/lightbox/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoomp09/5627338080/lightbox/

I still feel Super Takumar lens series is still the best lens with amazing price

http://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/lens-clubs/31601-takumar-club.html
This is a link dedicated to Super Tak lens, really no horse run, in terms of bokeh and sharpness :):):)

46462433358817137826432.jpg

This is a shot I shoot with 50mm f1.4 lens, the background bokeh is almost round and smooth :P

Good things must share lah bro! One of my favourite lenses is actually the canon 50mm f1.2 in leica thread mount (ltm)

the bokeh is simply mindblowing! Here's 2 pics from a friend's flickr account... this is a lens that draws beautifully!

I concur too, this is definitely an artist's lens, it paints beautifully just like its bigger sibling the legendary Canon f0.95!

Not at this price, imho. I think it's same as fujia china made cctv 35/1.7 in c mount. U can get that like 40usd and cmount adapter for another 15usd. Cheap in built, performance is mediocre at best. The 25/1.4 would be more fun with a wicked swirly bokeh. Slr magic basically rebrand it and put a different mount, change the outlook a little, and voila!;) anytime tak or many other old lens cost that price will beat it in built and performance.

http://cgi.ebay.com/f-1-4-C-25mm-Mo...mera_Lenses&hash=item3f04fd75b2#ht_2630wt_905
Is this the kind of china made cctv lens you're referring to?

The problem is, can't get this lens easily, I see none in ebay except 50/1.4. Even if have, price will be crazy.

Nice but use Leica leh, i only use poor man's "leica". u have shots on your ep2 with this lens? u seem to have endless fav lens haha

yes bro! this lens has a swirly bokeh a sample taken with slr magic 26/1.4.
5539027093_4dc166c309_z.jpg

and one by the cctv 25/1.4
5640356217_0f40c567af_z.jpg

The slr magic version is same optics as cctv, so u get same swirl. but note the corners are blur too, only centre sharp, just fun not performance. for me, it's more fun than 35/1.7.

Nice but use Leica leh, i only use poor man's "leica". u have shots on your ep2 with this lens? u seem to have endless fav lens haha

yes bro! this lens has a swirly bokeh a sample taken with slr magic 26/1.4.
5539027093_4dc166c309_z.jpg

and one by the cctv 25/1.4
5640356217_0f40c567af_z.jpg

The slr magic version is same optics as cctv, so u get same swirl. but note the corners are blur too, only centre sharp, just fun not performance. for me, it's more fun than 35/1.7.

Thanks pal for the info! :)
shall get one and play around with it

Thanks for all your feedback and links. It is definitely interesting old vintage lenses have been given new lease of life with the introduction of the adaptors and more people using on M43 cameras.
I am using an EPL2 which I got recently, waiting for my adaptor FD-M43 which I got from ebay. Happy to listen to more recommendations on other type of lenses and the bokeh capability!

Just order the Canon nFD 50mm f1.4 & the fd to m4/3 mount from ebay... cannot wait to play with the new len..

Here is one with the canon 35mm f1.8 ltm on EP2... i like how this lens draws bokeh, its very different from the modern lenses :)

Shhh! I have already spent plenty getting a CZ 50mm/f1.5, a CZ 25mm/f2.8 a CV 50mm/f1.5, CV 75mm/f2.5 and a CV 15mm/f4.5 this year! No more! No more! :bsmilie:

its a steep and slippery slope bro... canon 35/1.8, 35/2, 35/2.8, 50/1.2, 50/1.4, 50/1.5, 50/1.8 etc here's another one from the same lens! :)

It's a nice pic! Nice lens! I have been pondering getting the Nikkor 50/1.4 and the Canon 50/1.2. But those really have to wait! To say nothing of my hidden lust to get a Contax G 90mm/f2.8 and convert it to m mount. :)

For vanity reasons, what old lenses are silver in colour (besides Leica) to match with my Pen, lol.

cichlid said:
For vanity reasons, what old lenses are silver in colour (besides Leica) to match with my Pen, lol.

Contax g, Jupiter 3 and 9, c mount cine lenses. But the mount is usually black.