EOS 300D: Its Official!!!

Since DSLR is so volatile, no body would want to invest too much in a digicam as it would depreciate greatly within 12 months. With 300D, more people would invest in this cheapo model until DSLR matures a little. I think 10D sales might suffer a bit with the introduction 300D.

sehsuan said:
where's the mention of taiwan on the url? i see nothing.

Click the menu on the center left row 8.

personally, i can't be bothered about whether 10D's sales go up or down - all i'm looking for is a 70-200... :D

time for me to collect film SLRs for my next generation liao :D

The time has come! We will welcome all the Nikon user to join the dark side..... :devil:

Agpx4 said:
The time has come! We will welcome all the Nikon user to join the dark side..... :devil:
:embrass: :embrass:

see how first lar... :think:

Hi Guys...

Unsure if it's old news in Singapore or anything.

The US has also annouced a Canon Digital Rebel. The US reps sent a mailer out to all the photographers in the L.A region.

Info is also online:

Canon Info Site

The info for the 300D is also there.

Hope that helps.

This is certainly a great news for me!

Many first predicted that the 300D will have alot of missing functions (as compare to 10D) to make up for the low cost, but it still have very good specs. 6MP, same AF as 10D, Adobe RGB etc.. very good for such an affordable DSLR.

Most likely this will be upgrade for me. A DSLR that is affordable to me after using my existing SLR for 3 years.

If only Canon have a black version of the 300D... hmm... :think:

chris_k said:
Hi Guys...

Unsure if it's old news in Singapore or anything.

The US has also annouced a Canon Digital Rebel. The US reps sent a mailer out to all the photographers in the L.A region.

Info is also online:

Canon Info Site

The info for the 300D is also there.

Hope that helps.

I thought Digital Rebel = 300D = Kiss (in Japan market)?

Hmmm, I wonder how many of you are having problems sleeping tonight because of this news? :think:

Hi

i hope they price it real cheap... sounds like it can make a great backup digital body :devil:

Wahahahaha.. the 300D is here.. hahaha.. maybe I can get a back up liaw.... But this time I will wait for the hype to settle first.. Dont wanna genna a front/back focusing issue and a ultra-dirty viewfinder DSLR again :P

TM

after reading thru the 300D manual vs the 10D manual, there are many significant differences btw 10D and 300D apart from the 4 frame vs 9 frame buffer..

One of the more impt ones are the :

1. Cannot manually choose Partial/Eval/Centre metering for each preset mode. Each mode is fixed into either Partial/Eval/or Centre..

2. Likewise for AF(AI serve, single shot ).. Each preset mode is fixed into one. not sure but i think it will auto switch to AI Servo if the target moves...

3. No SEtting of whitebalance via color temperature

4. No srgb color space

5. NO CUSTOM functions

6. Various other smaller details..

I feel the lack of ability to truly customse metering/AF modes is damn POK!!!

Its a step backwards even from my g5.. bleah

Well, now I can see that there are at least 3 of you still counting sheep...or the number of days before the 300D is here. :D

sprockett said:

zhun boh?? step backwards from ur g5?

can ur g5 have an interchangeable lens that range from fisheye to well.. i dunno 1200mm??

let's not talk about money here, but the ABILITY is there for an SLR. and like u, i own a fixed lens digicam, and that ability is priceless.

and btw, the g5 hasn't had good reviews either, much more of an over-priced g3 than a cam on it's own.

Newman said:
Well, now I can see that there are at least 3 of you still counting sheep...or the number of days before the 300D is here. :D
hey dun look at me, i'm usually up at this time anyway if u've noticed eheheh

anyway i'm a nikon user.. as of now anyway... :bsmilie: :think:

sprockett said:
after reading thru the 300D manual vs the 10D manual, there are many significant differences btw 10D and 300D apart from the 4 frame vs 9 frame buffer..

One of the more impt ones are the :

1. Cannot manually choose Partial/Eval/Centre metering for each preset mode. Each mode is fixed into either Partial/Eval/or Centre..

2. Likewise for AF(AI serve, single shot ).. Each preset mode is fixed into one. not sure but i think it will auto switch to AI Servo if the target moves...

3. No SEtting of whitebalance via color temperature

4. No srgb color space

5. NO CUSTOM functions

6. Various other smaller details..

I feel the lack of ability to truly customse metering/AF modes is damn POK!!!

300D has sRGB and Adobe RGB.

http://www.canon.co.jp/Imaging/eosdigital/index.html