[emlee] Italy, Switzerland and France in the November rain, 2010

ooo.. nice pictures on italy.. totally missed that place. :(

my fav is #8.. :thumbsup:

OMG DanMan, where have you been?! So honoured that you dropped by. This shot was 7:30am local time, the tourists are still having breakfast.
I did free and easy via Eurail. comparing with Japan free and easy (which I also did via rail), this is a lot tougher. If you are keen I can share more.

He he... been around :) Me planning going on a tour package as I'm bring my aging parents for the trip. My main job is to take nice photos of them at the tourist spots. Keep you pictures coming. Looking forward to see some of Tuscany.

ooo.. nice pictures on italy.. totally missed that place. :(

my fav is #8.. :thumbsup:

Thanks yun10. I can't say I missed any of those places that much, probably because I had bad weather most of the time. It dampens the mood a bit.

He he... been around :) Me planning going on a tour package as I'm bring my aging parents for the trip. My main job is to take nice photos of them at the tourist spots. Keep you pictures coming. Looking forward to see some of Tuscany.

I see. Joining tour to have someone take care of you is much better. Hope you enjoy. Do take a few from your trip and share, if possible. I won't have much more of Tuscany pictures to share, this is the last piece. High failure rate for this part due to unfamiliar terrain, weather, and caught by police for making an illegal turn. Lucky they let me off with a warning after seeing that I am a tourist.

This is taken near sunset, at the carpark of San Gimignano. The light and the landscape make this suitable for miniature processing. That and I just acquired a tablet pen, so it makes for easier masking of the odd shapes (e.g. the trees).
5206865682_b7c808f059_b.jpg

This is taken near sunset, at the carpark of San Gimignano. The light and the landscape make this suitable for miniature processing. That and I just acquired a tablet pen, so it makes for easier masking of the odd shapes (e.g. the trees).

Shiok shiok new purchase... :angel: Cant wait to see some swiss pics... simpleliving has some real awesome shots from swiss at the same time u went... *drool*

#1 Piazza della Republica in Rome.
the 2 buildings are arch around the fountain, but the stitch made them look straight. the road down the middle is Via Nationale, a very busy road in this part of Rome.
5194363558_66e36fb8e3_b.jpg

Like this one the most..:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Shiok shiok new purchase... :angel: Cant wait to see some swiss pics... simpleliving has some real awesome shots from swiss at the same time u went... *drool*

Thanks kuantoh. really? i'll go check out.

Like this one the most..:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Thanks Jacobs, glad it worked for you.

Very nicely done. I think the miniature treatment did wonders to a somewhat normal shot :thumbsup::thumbsup:

#11 Trevi Fountain
By now the rain is pouring down. we waited a bit at the Macdonalds before going forward. The Macdonalds has a roof terrace which would have been nice on a good weather. This shot was taken with rain gear on. but i still needed to pan up hence cannot avoid the rain drops. YOu can see all the tourists are not deterred by the weather. this is the case everywhere we went.
5194365954_543144d8f9_b.jpg

This is great capture and the movement of the umbrella adds in more mood to the image...

Great tonality and a little dodging of the highlights revealing more on the falling water would be great to make the fountain more prominent

reaching the Pantheon, the rain is on/off (x many times), and the wind is strong. for the record, we broke 2 umbrellas throughout this trip. you can see the crowd + rain + wind is a very bad combination.
5193766453_e7ac34c134_b.jpg

Beautiful and perfect timing capturing the moment...

Great highlights revealing the expression of the lady...

#11 Trevi Fountain
By now the rain is pouring down. we waited a bit at the Macdonalds before going forward. The Macdonalds has a roof terrace which would have been nice on a good weather. This shot was taken with rain gear on. but i still needed to pan up hence cannot avoid the rain drops. YOu can see all the tourists are not deterred by the weather. this is the case everywhere we went.
5194365954_543144d8f9_b.jpg

love this shot! nicely composed and echo ^soulfly's sentiments about the moving umbrellas.. great work!

WOW!!!! very nice series.. you make me miss Italy and Switzerland even more now!! was there last winter and it was freezing bitter cold...:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Morning at Piazzale Micheangelo. My rare good weather day.
5211117421_69325501eb_b.jpg

Very nicely done. I think the miniature treatment did wonders to a somewhat normal shot ::

Thank you mimik07.

This is great capture and the movement of the umbrella adds in more mood to the image...

Great tonality and a little dodging of the highlights revealing more on the falling water would be great to make the fountain more prominent

Beautiful and perfect timing capturing the moment...

Great highlights revealing the expression of the lady...

Thank you Thomas. I threw in layers of multiply in order for the lady's expression to stand out. glad you liked it.

love this shot! nicely composed and echo ^soulfly's sentiments about the moving umbrellas.. great work!

WOW!!!! very nice series.. you make me miss Italy and Switzerland even more now!! was there last winter and it was freezing bitter cold...:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Thanks guys. wow, winter. i dont dare go at that time.

Pano of the view from the Piazzale Micheangelo. Pardon the narrow view, this is the max i can get from flickr.
5211117613_78777737f3_b.jpg

Similar angle, with the sun just above the mountains.
5211719000_3e5554bf2f_b.jpg

Similar angle, with the sun just above the mountains.
5211719000_3e5554bf2f_b.jpg

U always seem hit it off well with sunrays. :thumbsup:

Btw, wat is the focal length that u took for each shot to stitch the pano? Did u take it in portrait or landscape. Would really love to see more of the bottom though. :)

Nice shot...did you went back in the evening for the sunset ?

Thanks simpleliving. No, we returned the car in the morning and found it too much of a walk back here by the time we finished walking around Florence (we climbed the Giottos Tower, and not to mentioned the shopping my wife did).

U always seem hit it off well with sunrays. :thumbsup:

Btw, wat is the focal length that u took for each shot to stitch the pano? Did u take it in portrait or landscape. Would really love to see more of the bottom though. :)

Maybe hor.
No, that was a 23-shot stitch, I think at slightly more than 70mm (about 85mm maybe). Any lower, I'd get the bushes in the foreground liao. The Piazzale Micheangelo has a nice view, but not at 1 single spot. So it was hard to look for a good pano angle.

Like the minature pic and #28! Good stuff! :thumbsup:

:thumbsup: nice!

Like the minature pic and #28! Good stuff! :thumbsup:

Thank you yun10 and galmen.

I originally had the intention of climbing the Giotto's Bell Tower near sunset, but we went up at about lunch time. I chose to climb Giotto's Bell Tower as it'd give me a good view of the Duomo. And it was a fun climb. There are about 3 or 4 levels, so you wouldn't have to climb up all at once. There are a total of 414 steps. Take your time.
5217177633_3065b9195b_b.jpg

5217178155_f15bc991eb_b.jpg

Roofs of Florence
5217766080_00a71f2da1_b.jpg