EM5 qn - Shots lag like milli seconds after button click?

microcosm, thanks for the advice. Although I don't call myself a pro, or expert in photography but I have been taking pictures of my kids since I got my D70 9 years ago, since then i upgraded to D7000 when my son was born. But my age disallow me carry my heavy DSLR gear around and carry my heavy son at the same time while chasing my girl for a perfect shot.... so I bought the GX1 last year... when EM5 was introduced I must say I hate the design (I prefer M43 to look like a M9, not a mini DSLR). However, many bros here gave very good reviews/feedback on this camera so I was poisoned and bought one. It is a GREAT camera! I love the result of it. The color is much better than my GX1 (but I still prefer the result from my D7000 + 24-70mm f2.8). I am not trying to say EM5 is bad but I agree with TS, there is a lag to this camera. Feel bad that I can't attend the kopi session as I will be travelling with my family during the last week of holiday. I will try to attend the next one and will bring my two camera to prove myself. Also to learn from all the old bird here... thank you!

Old school film guys will say that this is a case of "chimping habits". And in your case, if you need to review every shot, that would be considered "extreme chimping". I guess your problem is, you are not able to quickly cut the review and go back to shooting mode (some cameras I know does this) therefore it feels like a lag. This is probably a habit. I also started "chimping" when camera processors became faster but I only do that when I have a "rest moment" and not after every shot. Therefore I turn review off.

Truth is, if you get it, you get it, if you missed the shot, no amount of chimping is going to help. If you think you have many missed shots then delete them on the computer when you get home. So it pays to use a larger memory card. Unless, you shoot thousands upon thousands of images on a daily basis. Again, that is about shooting habits more than anything else.

Like all camera systems, there are pros and cons with every system, and I think this can hopefully be fixed by a software update (half press to skip review) or quickly turn back to shooting mode (Olympus, you reading this?) else like most of us, we change our workflow and shooting habits to accomodate the system. No one system is perfect, so there is always some kind of compromise.

the only time i noticed any lag was when i was shooting from a train trying to time the shot through a break in the trees. but then again, that perceived lag might have just been my reflexes being too slow.

other than that, no noticeable lag with either LCD or EVF and with or without auto-preview. i don't sense my E-M5 to be slower than my D7000 either. having said that, there is a lag for sure, as all cameras have, but not to the degree being described here.

this info might be useful: Olympus OM-D E-M5 Camera Performance - Initial Test
note the "Prefocused" lag of 0.056s which is fast and compares well with 0.053s for the D7000 and is faster than the 0.072s of the GX1.

and just for fun, try this: Human Benchmark - Reaction Time Test
i was pretty much on the par with the average at 0.22s, and the one time i got 0.13s was when i was using my jedi premonition skills ;)
so reaction time is nearly 4x longer than shutter lag. technicalities aside, this means one is unlikely to perceive shutter lag unless shooting something really fast, or is moving really fast (like i was on the train).

this leaves some possible scenarios for the perceived lag: A) reflex- you clicked the shutter later than you think you did or B) the perceived lag includes AF lag and not just shutter lag or C) your camera does indeed need servicing

expounding on the possibilities for B:
B1 - you half-pressed but the AF didn't actually engage. hence at full press the total lag is AF lock + shutter lag
B2 - you half-pressed, the AF engaged but wasn't locked yet (no beep or green dot) when you did full press. hence total lag either included remainder of AF time to achieve lock, or the camera restarted on the AF before firing
B3 - you half-pressed, achieved AF-lock, but unknowingly lifted your finger (or eased off the pressing). hence camera again did the whole AF lock sequence before firing

note that all the other shutter response times (from the link earlier) involving AF (straightaway full press, no half-press) are longer (~1/4 to 1/5 s), and this i think is noticeable. also consider that AF speed is dependent on the lens and lighting (eg. shooting children indoors, AF is slower due to less light).

so, to test and isolate whether your perceived shutter lag is actually involving AF, please try the following:
- set camera to shutter release priority
- enable audio beep on AF lock or just make sure the green AF dot is on (and stays on) when you full press
- shoot something moving. nothing too fast and preferably something that stays in the frame while you AF-lock eg. a pendulum, or the second hand of an analog clock

and to test whether it's your shutter button that's faulty/sluggish, set the camera to manual AF, focus, then use the touchscreen to trigger.

good luck!

A quick question, will using "Full-time AF" reduce the lag?

yes yes... you're right, I should not review every shot I take. Learned that from DigitalrevTV. As TS pointed this issue, I lso felt the same as TS, so I just write what I observed from using the EM5. Anyway, this is great camera esp when it is paired with 25mm f1.4.... love it!

Old school film guys will say that this is a case of "chimping habits". And in your case, if you need to review every shot, that would be considered "extreme chimping". I guess your problem is, you are not able to quickly cut the review and go back to shooting mode (some cameras I know does this) therefore it feels like a lag. This is probably a habit. I also started "chimping" when camera processors became faster but I only do that when I have a "rest moment" and not after every shot. Therefore I turn review off.

Truth is, if you get it, you get it, if you missed the shot, no amount of chimping is going to help. If you think you have many missed shots then delete them on the computer when you get home. So it pays to use a larger memory card. Unless, you shoot thousands upon thousands of images on a daily basis. Again, that is about shooting habits more than anything else.

Like all camera systems, there are pros and cons with every system, and I think this can hopefully be fixed by a software update (half press to skip review) or quickly turn back to shooting mode (Olympus, you reading this?) else like most of us, we change our workflow and shooting habits to accomodate the system. No one system is perfect, so there is always some kind of compromise.

A quick question, will using "Full-time AF" reduce the lag?

it could, theoretically.
however, it will drain your battery more and i feel that it adds another layer of unpredictability. for example: when the subject or the camera moves, i can't tell if the AF has successfully adjusted or if it's still at the previous successful lock. nor do i know when the AF will start to adjust or hunt, or when it might have acquired a different subject (eg. the background or something crossing the foreground. by design, it shouldn't have these issues and will always maintain the correct AF lock, thereby skipping (or at least shortening) the AF lag.

full time AF probably works well on most occasions, but i just can't trust it. i'd rather stick to basics: half-press when about to shoot, acquire AF lock, anticipate the moment, then shoot. i have my fair share of missed shots and nearly always it's because i was reacting rather than anticipating.

Oly5050, normally I use single or low burst. This lag is more "obvious" when I am taking single shot mode...

It is more like a "feeling" thingy... You see the "moment" on the screen, click for the shot and the preview screen appear the "next frame" moment...
Thank you for trying to solve the problem Oly5050, as some bros here suggest to turn off the preview but people like myself can't wait to see if I got the "moment" shot, esp taking my kids... that's why I notice this lag quite often with this camera...

One bro told me to use the EVF, I haven't tried it out if there is a lag when using EVF as I am don't like to use the EVF with this camera as my nose is damn oily and always leave an oily mark on the screen after using the EVF... ha ha... will try and see later...

OK, well I guess then its probably not what I thought.

In any case, I took out my EM5 and tried it. Once you pre-focus, the shot is instantaneous. But like microcosm, I switch off preview so I only preview on demand. Not automatically. If you have a lag between shutter press and shutter opening, then there is something wrong.

To me, the camera is not faulty... I can't send it to the service and demand a fix... it is just a milli second lag/slow after button click... maybe it is just me and some bros here who "feel" the lag... I think the people at the service will not be happy if I ask them to fix it or for an exchange... ha ha... I also think I am unreasonable if I really do that...

OK, well I guess then its probably not what I thought.

In any case, I took out my EM5 and tried it. Once you pre-focus, the shot is instantaneous. But like microcosm, I switch off preview so I only preview on demand. Not automatically. If you have a lag between shutter press and shutter opening, then there is something wrong.

116520 said:
To me, the camera is not faulty... I can't send it to the service and demand a fix... it is just a milli second lag/slow after button click... maybe it is just me and some bros here who "feel" the lag... I think the people at the service will not be happy if I ask them to fix it or for an exchange... ha ha... I also think I am unreasonable if I really do that...

Wa.....ok.

In some modes the shutter will not fire until the camera is stable. If you are in such a mode, you will feel the lag as the camera waits for stability. This is normal. You can turn the function off and the shutter will fire instantaneously.

Daniel

Sorry lazy to check the manual, may I know what and how to turn it off?

Thank you!

In some modes the shutter will not fire until the camera is stable. If you are in such a mode, you will feel the lag as the camera waits for stability. This is normal. You can turn the function off and the shutter will fire instantaneously.

Daniel

Dear all,

I am having abit of query regarding OM-D's long exposure. Was doing some night shots on tripod for long exposure. So for example I set it to 5secs exposure, the total time it needs to capture and save the photo before I can take another photo is a whopping 10secs!!! 5 seconds exposure, 5 seconds saving the photo. I am already using the sandisk Extreme Pro 8gb card(which is the fastest). I switch of IS too, tried with IS on and no difference. When I try with my D7000, there is not significant lag(saving was almost instant) and I could snap another photo immediately. Did I set something wrong? or issit one of the limitations of this m4/3? Apologies as I am a first time m4/3 owner... Hopefully someone can enlighten me... The lag cost me to miss some nice moments while taking the MBS laser show... :embrass:

Dear all,

I am having abit of query regarding OM-D's long exposure. Was doing some night shots on tripod for long exposure shots. So for example I set it to 5secs exposure, the total time it needs to capture and save the photo before I can take another photo is a whopping 10secs!!! 5 seconds exposure, 5 seconds saving the photo. I am already using the sandisk Extreme Pro 8gb card(which is the fastest). I switch of IS too, tried with IS on and no difference. When I try with my D7000, there is not significant lag(saving was almost instant) and I could snap another photo immediately. Did I set something wrong? or issit one of the limitations of this m4/3? Apologies as I am a first time m4/3 owner... Hopefully someone can enlighten me... The lag cost me to miss some nice moments while taking the MBS laser show... :embrass:

Ok... sorry again... problem solved...... nothing to do with OM-D limitations... Is the Noise reduction function. Now I tried doing long exposure with NR off, there is no significant lag... but if NR is on or at Auto, the lag can be as long as the exposure time.... paiseh..........

Hi! This is not shutter lag but I think that is shot-to-shot performance. Not only OM-D, my GX1 also take a long time to save when taking long exposure shots. So I think that's normal for M43 cameras.

Dear all,

I am having abit of query regarding OM-D's shutter lag after long exposure. Was doing some night shots on tripod for long exposure shots. So for example I set it to 5secs exposure, the total time it needs to capture and save the photo before I can take another photo is a whopping 10secs!!! 5 seconds exposure, 5 seconds saving the photo. I am already using the sandisk Extreme Pro 8gb card(which is the fastest). I switch of IS too, tried with IS on and no difference. When I try with my D7000, there is not significant shutter lag(saving was almost instant) and I could snap another photo immediately. Did I set something wrong? or issit one of the limitations of this m4/3? Apologies as I am a first time m4/3 owner... Hopefully someone can enlighten me... The lag cost me to miss some nice moments while taking the MBS laser show... :embrass:

ic, I learned something new.... :embrass:

Ok... sorry again... problem solved...... nothing to do with OM-D limitations... Is the Noise reduction function. Now I tried doing long exposure with NR off, there is no significant shutter lag... but if NR is on or at Auto, the lag can be as long as the exposure time.... paiseh..........

ic, I learned something new.... :embrass:
This little camera is quite sophisticated.. needs some time to play around and go thru the labyrinth of menus... So I am still learning and trying to understand it. ;p

Hi! This is not shutter lag but I think that is shot-to-shot performance. Not only OM-D, my GX1 also take a long time to save when taking long exposure shots. So I think that's normal for M43 cameras.
Yes, I realized I use the wrong "description", therefore I edited it lol..... :embrass:

I can imagine the technicians coming out and worship you... "sir, you are right, the unit you brought in was in fact 89.3ms off, how you can detect being a human is remarkable... please accept our apologies and here is an invite for you to become our beta tester for all future models".

Sorry, too much happy food this morning.

Dear all,

I am having abit of query regarding OM-D's long exposure. Was doing some night shots on tripod for long exposure. So for example I set it to 5secs exposure, the total time it needs to capture and save the photo before I can take another photo is a whopping 10secs!!! 5 seconds exposure, 5 seconds saving the photo. I am already using the sandisk Extreme Pro 8gb card(which is the fastest). I switch of IS too, tried with IS on and no difference. When I try with my D7000, there is not significant lag(saving was almost instant) and I could snap another photo immediately. Did I set something wrong? or issit one of the limitations of this m4/3? Apologies as I am a first time m4/3 owner... Hopefully someone can enlighten me... The lag cost me to miss some nice moments while taking the MBS laser show... :embrass:

This happens for any DSLR when NR is on for long exposures due to dark frame subtraction method to reduce sensor noise (though for different sensors the dark frame subtraction kicks in at different exposure lengths) As another poster mentioned, if you switch it off, the write speeds should improve dramatically. You can try this out on your D7000 as well : )

Different topic from the original OP though.

Sorry lazy to check the manual, may I know what and how to turn it off?

Thank you!

I have to join microcosm and go "wah lao eh..." hahaha

I can imagine the technicians coming out and worship you... "sir, you are right, the unit you brought in was in fact 89.3ms off, how you can detect being a human is remarkable... please accept our apologies and here is an invite for you to become our beta tester for all future models".

Sorry, too much happy food this morning.

Lol, I can imagine that scenario

I guess a lot of the moderators here are amased with my posts... that's the fun of photography, you learn new things everyday... Still waiting for Daniel Wee to teach me what function to turn off and how to turn it off in order to make my camera faster... ;)

"wah lau eh"...

I have to join microcosm and go "wah lao eh..." hahaha

Lol, I can imagine that scenario