EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM vs 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Status
Not open for further replies.

suede1976

Apr 7, 2005
Hi all, I'm considering between the 2. Any pointers as to which would be more suitable for me?

I'm currently using a Canon 40D with the EF-S 17-85mm and 50mm/1.8. I'm an occasional freelance writer and I do my own photos for my travel and food-related stories for magazines - 4 stories so far and looking to do more this year. Looking to upgrade as I'm not very happy with the photos from by the 17-85mm. I don't think there's sufficient detail and clarity.

I find my 50mm too long for indoor food shots while seated at a table (I don't use flash so a wide aperture is needed sometimes). I'm inclined towards the 24-70mm due to the 2.8 aperture but the 24-105 is cheaper and has IS function.

What should my other considerations be?

efs 1755 f2.8 IS. There are many discussion btw this 2 lens.you can do a search.

Second that. Unless moving to 5D/5D2, on which 24-105/4 is pretty similar to 17-55IS on 40D

Yes, planning to move to a FF in 2 years or so if my freelance writing is sustainable cos if not being published, my current setup suits my needs as fine...

yes get the 17-55IS. You can get the 24-70/24-105 in two years time when you GOT your FF.

I don't think there's sufficient detail and clarity.

if it is detail and clarity, you may want to move to FF earlier. Though the 17-55f2.8 is fast and sharp, it is still used on a APS-C body. If you want to scrutinize, the details may still not be there. But yes, the 17-55 is sharper than 17-85. I made the same upgrade path.

I find my 50mm too long for indoor food shots while seated at a table (I don't use flash so a wide aperture is needed sometimes). I'm inclined towards the 24-70mm due to the 2.8 aperture but the 24-105 is cheaper and has IS function.

What should my other considerations be?