EF 24-70 f2.8L

I dont know why people always complain about the weight of this lens. In my opinion this lens produces pictures that are as good as primes. Really worth carrying around. I took mine hiking in Peru for 3 weeks and also up Mt kinabalu. It is quite manageble. If the complain is about weight then I strongly suggest that guys with XXXD series body stop carrying a battery pack with them. Just keep your battery in your pocket. That is really carrying excess weight for no better reason. I like the XXXD body for the compactness, great for travelling.

Fully agreed with you..!!!

Sometime I'd carried both 85mm F1.2 and 70-200mm F2.8 IS around...
Weight is not an issue for me but because I want good IQ photos.
Don't mind to carry it at all...

How is it different than the 24-70l?

The 2470 is something which can be kept for a long long time
Just look at how old say the 135 and 35l is .

So really it is a question of weight more than anything else for the TS since based on the gear I presume pricing is not as big an issue

ermm i am complaining cos its no joke carrying it with a 5DMKII + 24-70mm f2.8 L + occasionally a 580EX II for events shooting (luckily not using a battery grip yet!)

I also have the same set up as you. I carry my cam for 8 hours a days, still can tahan. I don't see what's the fuss with weight issue. There are many other lenses that are heavier out there.

haha i dun really have 24-70 but tried it for a while.

anyway now i am only using 17-40, 35 and 135 (decided to go for 135 over 24-70).

also those complaining the weight may also be complaining about having difficulty with focusing (since its heavy for them, without IS, they may have problem focusing as well), but not for me, i am rather more of the weight issue.

i had rented this for a ROM photoshoot before.

and i would say the IQ is really fantastic, so dunno how much improvement would the new lens make.

actually the image was so sharp that i have to smooth out the face of the bride as it captured the contours of her face, even to her pores. else she will kill me if i give her the originals.

i was using it in low light outdoor with flash, and well, no IS needed.

weight-wise i would say that its still acceptable. probably heavy for ladies though. (its a man's lens.... lol :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:)
i keep telling everybody around me that i am carrying a bag of rice running about....

my two cents:bsmilie:

not selling mine. i don't think the IS is needed as well. Those selling if u check thier history, u can see alot of buying and selling of gear. Most of them.

How's Mt K? Can share some shots??:)

I dont know why people always complain about the weight of this lens. In my opinion this lens produces pictures that are as good as primes. Really worth carrying around. I took mine hiking in Peru for 3 weeks and also up Mt kinabalu. It is quite manageble. If the complain is about weight then I strongly suggest that guys with XXXD series body stop carrying a battery pack with them. Just keep your battery in your pocket. That is really carrying excess weight for no better reason. I like the XXXD body for the compactness, great for travelling.

Well, thanks for your views. I've more or less decided on getting this lens, and judging from the BnS prices, I'm better off getting it from Hong Kong. Might sell it once the MkII comes out...

Cheers.

Well, thanks for your views. I've more or less decided on getting this lens, and judging from the BnS prices, I'm better off getting it from Hong Kong. Might sell it once the MkII comes out...

Cheers.

Well dont think you will regret, so have fun with this lens! :)

I dont know why people always complain about the weight of this lens.
Is it a difficult concept to understand that some people are weaker than others? Some people cannot ride bicycle, snowboard, skate inline, jog 2.4Km to save their lives, etc. We should accept not everybody has the exact same muscular-skeletal composition and stamina.

Me, i don't bother about the weight of the lens but i sure as hell cannot hold it steady at 70 x1.6 = 112mm

T__T

The TS is assuming strong BnS sales of the 24-70 is somehow associated with Canon rumours predicting a release of the IS version of the same lens.

I would not make such an assumption because sales of the 24-105 lens are just as strong. Also, as someone else pointed out, the sales of the 70-200 are equally as strong (both IS and non-IS versions).

I bot 24-70L for almost 6mths and it never failed me for sharp pics.

Love it ! Weight wise, i think still ok. ;)

But really recommend a Battery Grip for this lens .

Happy Shopping !!!

Hi everyone,

Just an observation here...

Saw a lot of the above lens going on sale at BnS, I'm personally interested in acquiring one, but on Canon Rumors, there is a strong possibility of an update on this lens, possibly with IS. Are people here selling in anticipation of the mkII being released soon? Otherwise, this is a very good lens, versatile and perfect as a walkabout lens on a FF.

What do you guys think? Besides, this lens has been around for 8 years, released in 2002, and it replaced the 28-70 which was released in 1993... So the timeline does indicate an update soon...
Even if there is a replacement for this lens, the price will definitely not cheap.
I personally think this lens is as good as it is now. IS or not doesnt really matter to those skillful people.

ermm i am complaining cos its no joke carrying it with a 5DMKII + 24-70mm f2.8 L + occasionally a 580EX II for events shooting (luckily not using a battery grip yet!)

2 weekends ago i was on a 2 day wedding assignment. my main gear was 1DsMk2, 24-70 and 580 ex2. took 800 plus shots with it which included the preparation, ceremony, makan, outdoor potraits and family potraits. i din find it a problem but everyone has their limits. the weight does not include my backup body, flash n lens.

true, the quality does make the weight a lil lighter. a worthy investment i would say. im used to using primes event for event but no more now due to the convinience of the 24-70.... but would love to have IS for taking stills.

i am the opposite, i prefer primes now (with exception to my 17-40 but even so i intend to find a suitable prime to replace it! haha). but i dun have so many paid jobs so until then i just have to be quick enough to change my lens. when i have enough paid jobs, i will consider getting a second hand 5D classic as a second cam so i dun have to switch my lens as and when required.

I love primes too. For leisure i use my prime alot.

i got whole set of primes but picked up a 2nd hand 24-70 to check out if i can live with it. primes may be nice, but can be troublesome.

but its odd... so many 24-70 selling on forum suddenly.

why ah ?? the selling price still high!!

i got whole set of primes but picked up a 2nd hand 24-70 to check out if i can live with it. primes may be nice, but can be troublesome.

but its odd... so many 24-70 selling on forum suddenly.

Ya... seems to notice that for the past 2-3 weeks... the sudden surge of sale of 24-70

Maybe because of the rumour that the new 24-70 IS might be releasing early next yr.

The new one in HK is around 1700+, nice price already.