Eastern Snappers FALL IN!?

good afternoon... i feel too much pp makes the picture look too fake which i dun really like

coz at times when i see photos..they seems too good end up wondering if they are being photoshop-ed to get such effects too...haha

For me - i am like Koplady as well.
The editing i do based on my liking and also the photos taken.
One thing that always happen to me is the photo i see on my CAMERA screen and LAPTOP monitor is always different and normally worsen then what i expected.
So i will post edit.

Fine tuning is always needed (in my opinion)

Acceptance level is up to the viewer and user.
Like i add extra birds to the nest i taken with my camera i think thats totally wrong ..

Initially i had the same doubt with you
After seeing so many discussion in Kopitiam about post editing i had already see open.

A nice photo - you think is nice - just appreciate.
A nice photo - you think its being edited or over-edited - just think that - beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder will do.

Editing saturation, exposure etc sometimes quite straight forward.
If the person is confident with his / her shoot upload nude ... thats perfectly fine too.
Anyway most photos had been fine tuned before i guess ... :>

Also there is never too good photo or too bad photo - its always subjective to comment i guess coz you think is good others might think is bad ...

Well this is the hidden mystery of photography :>

Enjoy. :bsmilie:

For me - i am like Koplady as well.
The editing i do based on my liking and also the photos taken.
One thing that always happen to me is the photo i see on my CAMERA screen and LAPTOP monitor is always different and normally worsen then what i expected.
So i will post edit.

Fine tuning is always needed (in my opinion)

Acceptance level is up to the viewer and user.
Like i add extra birds to the nest i taken with my camera i think thats totally wrong ..

Initially i had the same doubt with you
After seeing so many discussion in Kopitiam about post editing i had already see open.

A nice photo - you think is nice - just appreciate.
A nice photo - you think its being edited or over-edited - just think that - beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder will do.

Editing saturation, exposure etc sometimes quite straight forward.
If the person is confident with his / her shoot upload nude ... thats perfectly fine too.
Anyway most photos had been fine tuned before i guess ... :>

Also there is never too good photo or too bad photo - its always subjective to comment i guess coz you think is good others might think is bad ...

Well this is the hidden mystery of photography :>

Enjoy. :bsmilie:

wow long post... anyway i felt that it is oso a skill to edit a boring photo into something special rite? anyway for me a good photo is something that really give me the "WOW" feeling...

ya lor .. actually i will keep looking at my photos the photos i taken .. then see see see till bored then get slightly sad coz ... why see already no feeling.

PS: your photos does give me wow feeling

ya lor .. actually i will keep looking at my photos the photos i taken .. then see see see till bored then get slightly sad coz ... why see already no feeling.

PS: your photos does give me wow feeling

actually i felt the same wif my photo too... that push me to improve .... we are all learning along the way :bsmilie:

As hobbyist, some of those discussions are really a waste of time.. badly taken, just discard.

But if anyone is planning to make photography their rice bowl, these are very interesting topic.

If a wedding photographer makes a mistake, took a shoot, blown.. missed the moment, no retake, how?

That's where damage control comes in.

Anyway.. as mentioned, to a hobbyist, it's just a waste of time to do all those.

As hobbyist, some of those discussions are really a waste of time.. badly taken, just discard.

But if anyone is planning to make photography their rice bowl, these are very interesting topic.

If a wedding photographer makes a mistake, took a shoot, blown.. missed the moment, no retake, how?

That's where damage control comes in.

Anyway.. as mentioned, to a hobbyist, it's just a waste of time to do all those.

you mean waste of time to ?? do editing ah? uncle?

There was a few posts where we're discussing extensively to salvage a picture with blown highlights (i.e. severely over exposed). I'm referring to those..

A lot of effort to make a picture usable. Normally a hobbyist would just discard those..

Me too, I don't really care if its heavily edited or not, what I look at is the end product. No matter how real or clean or untouch the photo is, no one is going to appreciate or say it looks nicer than a "heavily edit but nicely edited" photo if its not. Of couse you if you are happy then so be it. Photo editing/post processing is part and parcel of digital photography. During the film days, the processing was done in the lab. Burnnig & dodging, cross processing etc.. So in digital age, instead of the labs, we are to do the post procesing ourselves.

One thing to note, that doesn't mean to simply just snap away without caring for details, exposure, framing etc... sure you can salvage lots of things using photoshop but not necessary worth the time as time = money. I believe that one should try to get basic things right in the cam and then enhance it to your personal liking and taste.

As hobbyist, some of those discussions are really a waste of time..

Hi Lim, if this statement meant that as a hobbyist, its a waste of time to spend hours and hours into post processing then this is something I beg to differ. Different people have different expectation of themselves, its doesn't mean that as a hobbyist it a waste of time to put in as much effort as a professional to achieve the desired end products. Probably if one feels this way, then I guess he is not passionate enough.

Its not about generating income from the hours of work put into, its about feel like satisfied and taking pride in the end product at the end of day. At least for, that's what I felt. :D

Edited: Hi Lim, I just saw your replies..then I would agree with you that most people would just discard those bad photos away ^^

There was a few posts where we're discussing extensively to salvage a picture with blown highlights (i.e. severely over exposed). I'm referring to those..
A lot of effort to make a picture usable. Normally a hobbyist would just discard those..

Maybe i am a perfectionist.
To me if my photo doesn't have at least a pass in my eyes, i will not show it out to public.
I am also hobbyist but the least i put effort for myself and for ppls viewing i guess.
This is the minimum respect and effort i do for my hobby - other then spending time and effort maybe in the HOT sun to take photos lah ... ha ha ...

By the way the photos that u are saying yes i saw it ...
on the first place i think (Personally) i think no need to really salvage lor ... i believe u all should have way better photos that that ... secondly, i thought that one is not really salvaging but just cross discussion on editing method and skills?

Me too, I don't really care if its heavily edited or not, what I look at is the end product. No matter how real or clean or untouch the photo is, no one is going to appreciate or say it looks nicer than a "heavily edit but nicely edited" photo if its not. Of couse you if you are happy then so be it. Photo editing/post processing is part and parcel of digital photography. During the film days, the processing was done in the lab. Burnnig & dodging, cross processing etc.. So in digital age, instead of the labs, we are to do the post procesing ourselves.

One thing to note, that doesn't mean to simply just snap away without caring for details, exposure, framing etc... sure you can salvage lots of things using photoshop but not necessary worth the time as time = money. I believe that one should try to get basic things right in the cam and then enhance it to your personal liking and taste.

Yes .. i agree with you.

oh man .. my office network should be faster!!! ... LOL
Or i think my replies are too lenghty ...
haiz age is catching up hah

Hi Lim, if this statement meant that as a hobbyist, its a waste of time to spend hours and hours into post processing then this is something I beg to differ. Different people have different expectation of themselves, its doesn't mean that as a hobbyist it a waste of time to put in as much effort as a professional to achieve the desired end products. Probably if one feels this way, then I guess he is not passionate enough.

Its not about generating income from the hours of work put into, its about feel like satisfied and taking pride in the end product at the end of day. At least for, that's what I felt. :D

True.

I put it in wrong way.. :)

I should say, for those who feels that extensive PP-ing is disgusting, then those discussions are a waste of time..

For others who enjoys doing it to present their pictures in the best form, then why not..? :)

Personally I do PP a lot. But partly it's also to makeup for equipment limitations..

True.

I put it in wrong way.. :)
I should say, for those who feels that extensive PP-ing is disgusting, then those discussions are a waste of time..
For others who enjoys doing it to present their pictures in the best form, then why not..? :)
Personally I do PP a lot. But partly it's also to makeup for equipment limitations..

Ha ha ha ... aiyoh dun say until like that leh !!
HDR consider extreme PP a not ?
combining of 3 photos or more .... quite a huge effort but HDR photos are nice too leh.

By the way the photos that u are saying yes i saw it ...
on the first place i think (Personally) i think no need to really salvage lor ... i believe u all should have way better photos that that ... secondly, i thought that one is not really salvaging but just cross discussion on editing method and skills?

Those are just discussion only.. :)

Actually I'm not sure if anyone actually notice the single 1 most aspect of those discussion.. it was never explicitly mentioned..

hmm.. wanna make a guess?

maybe I'm too bored.. haha.. :)