E510 in-body IS vs Leica 14-50mm Lens IS

Sell off 35mm and 135-400,you can have the Leica.But i don't think that an ideal way.
Hello kid...you know the cost of the L1 or not?? The new 135-400 is not even 1/3 the price of that. Add the 35mm. Some more it's 2nd hand. How leh.

I doubt that the in-body IS of the e510 will be very much useful for telephoto lenses...thats where the upcoming Leica D14-150mm with IS becomes very attractive since lens based IS should technically be better or telephoto lenses

Well, the E-510's IS 2-stops shutter speed does work as advertised for my 50-200mm Zuiko ED.
How many stops of useful shutter speed does Nikon or Canon advertise for their longest focal length lens with VR or IS?

Why so pessimistic? At least you have an option.
Even if you cannot afford the Leica lenses now does not mean that you cannot afford them in the future.

Don't discount the chance that you may be able to get a much better paying job or even win the lottery in the future. :D The future holds promise...

And from the consumer's point of view, that's a good thing isn't it? We can choose to use either body-based or lens-based IS as we deem fit. No other brand/system allow such a flexibility of choice.... their users are stuck with either body-based or lens-based IS. :)

exactly, as i was comparing which DSLR system to invest in late last year, i was swayed towards 4/3 from the start. Leica, Sigma and Zuiko optics, SSWF and now the IS.

these made the 4/3 system the most attractive since it would stretch my investment most...more time spent learning to shoot then worrying about dust, having IS to ease the learning curve of shooting at low shutter speeds, etc etc.

Hello kid...you know the cost of the L1 or not?? The new 135-400 is not even 1/3 the price of that. Add the 35mm. Some more it's 2nd hand. How leh.

The L1 kit is being sold in the US for as low as US$1.25k. B&H is selling at US$1299. That works out to about S$2.0-2.1k+ after freight charges. I bought one while it was being flogged off at US$1.1k and managed to sell the L1 body for US$600 so the 14-50 kit lens came to around US$600, a little under the price of the 135-400 :)

Anyway if CA bothers you, don't bother with this lens as you'll have to process all your 14mm outdoor pics to compensate for CA. At 14mm theres plenty of both red/green and blue/yellow CA but they disappear past 20-30mm.

I don't seem to have any CA from my copy of the lens. :dunno:

I think L1 market price is RM4750.I mean Leica 14-150.Just get rid of a few lens and you can have it.

RM4750 = S$2110.90. So cheap... i think at this price many ppl want to buy sia... later can sell the Panasonic body for at least $700 to $800 right? Maybe even $1000? It's still selling at $3500 locally isn't it? I saw it at Courts.

No lah... around $2.9K

I don't seem to have any CA from my copy of the lens. :dunno:

Means its not bothering you enough to notice it. :)

I tried 3 copies, 1 had a slight decentering problem (so it went back home) but all needed the same level of CA adjustment (-28 R/G, +28 B/Y) in ACR/LR. Good thing its not the bloomy type of CA that can't be fixed in post.

Means its not bothering you enough to notice it. :)

I tried 3 copies, 1 had a slight decentering problem (so it went back home) but all needed the same level of CA adjustment (-28 R/G, +28 B/Y) in ACR/LR. Good thing its not the bloomy type of CA that can't be fixed in post.

Seeing that you are so certain, I went back to check some of the my images from the 14-50mm lens in ACR. I had to zoom to 200% before I could see the changes made in the lens correction module. There are some slight CA discernible for my lens but very much less than yours (-18 R/G, 0 B/Y).

To some degree it depends on the image's contrast and where you look. Some images can get by with a -20-26 R/B and no B/Y correction. CA is especially bad around the corners and in contrasty images (eg. building against clear blue sky). Fortunately at the long end theres practically none.

Sharpness of the glass is very good throughout the focal range, the CA characteristic is what annoys me most.