E-3 focusing issues...

Just something that I write to Olympus in my field report on what I find and feel about the products. The rest is really up to them. If they feel that this is not a major problem and other markets are not bothered by it, they will not push it up to priority level fixing. There are a billion and one things happening over in R&D and techies's offices.

FYI. the pana oxyrides lasts about 150 shots. overall, i prefer the BLM1 option, i carry with me 4 blm1s on overseas trips.
However, AA is the most easy replaceable batt when there is no charging point.

Well, I guess if no charging option, that would be a reason to demand the 6 x AA option.

Don't flame me. I'm not saying that E-3 should have similar AF performance as compare to Nikon D300. Olympus should take a leaf or two from Nikon on R&D effort that is put into a FLAGSHIP and pro-range dSLR.

Read this article: http://imaging.nikon.com/products/imaging/technology/scene/19/index.htm

I always think that Olympus is 2 steps behind their competitors...

Everyone else is behind D300 and D3 at this point. They work exceptionally well in many areas of functionality. Olympus' low light sensitivity is and has been poor in the digital age, but it's showing marked improvement with the E-3. Even though I often criticise Olympus, I believe that they're on the way to success.

It's a love-hate relationship between Olympus and me which started from E-500 then to E-510 and finally to E-3. Yes, I'm angry because it failed on me last week when I was tracking a speeding boat trying to shoot it on C-AF mode with 11 AF points. Owners of similar class dSLR like Nikon D300, Canon 40D and Sony A700 hardly failed in this situation. Very sad very disappointed eh? I'm not selling E-3 at the moment. The only consolation I have is the quality glasses that Olympus manufactured, especially the SWD one. The image quality is good in my opinion not to mentioned the renowned colour rendition the camera generated.

Maybe it's me. The "state-of-the-art" AF system is too advanced for me to fully understand how it suppose to function and operate. I'm too dumb on that! :bheart:

mine was from the good old om2/om10 days. bought the om10 as backup. had the manual adaptor n dedicated flash on. shoot my elder bro's passing out parade. all pics had the shutter sync problem that duely darken 1/8 of the pic.

sold my oly n switch to canon. kind of miss their smaller than norm size lenses, but no longer fear pics r ruined bcos of cam.

Just wondering if we TURN OFF the C-AF LOCK n probably with AF SENSITIVITY set to SMALL will helps in tracking fast object.

I've also experienced the issues as mentioned by the thread started in FourThirdsPhoto Forum. The lens I'm using is 12-60mm SWD and 50-200mm SWD.

E-3, C-Af and AF points expansion.......

I think it is high time that Olympus should sit up and listen to what E-3 owners' have to feedback! This model is after all the flagship dSLR of Olympus! ;(

just wondering - what's the firmware version of your lens + camera?

mine was from the good old om2/om10 days. bought the om10 as backup. had the manual adaptor n dedicated flash on. shoot my elder bro's passing out parade. all pics had the shutter sync problem that duely darken 1/8 of the pic.

sold my oly n switch to canon. kind of miss their smaller than norm size lenses, but no longer fear pics r ruined bcos of cam.

Looks like Olympus lose a supporter. I guess if they dont do anything near furture, they will lose alot more.

speaking about focusing issue,

I switched from oly to SD14 and I tell you my sigma 12-24 and SD14 CANNOT AF consistently.... crazy right? it is an ultra wide and by right should be super easy to focus because of the large DOF, but NO, the SD14 cannot lock focus consistently for objects at infinity....

sent to local sigma service center also come back same problem. So now I just use MF all the time.

compared to SD14, olympus is like heaven, at least the focusing is consistent and very accurate for stationary objects :)

but I kept the SD14 because I really do find the image quality better and MF with a 12-24 lens isn't too difficult, basically just set near infinity all the time.

I think every camp got their own issues.... you must try first then you know. I sometimes miss the IS from the E510....

just wondering - what's the firmware version of your lens + camera?
If you are thinking that the firmware for the lens and body is not updated then you are wrong...

Just wondering if we TURN OFF the C-AF LOCK n probably with AF SENSITIVITY set to SMALL will helps in tracking fast object.
AF SENSITIVITY set to SMALL is applicable for single point AF only. I mentioned 11 points C-AF.

I've also experienced the issues as mentioned by the thread started in FourThirdsPhoto Forum. The lens I'm using is 12-60mm SWD and 50-200mm SWD.

I think it is high time that Olympus should sit up and listen to what E-3 owners' have to feedback! This model is after all the flagship dSLR of Olympus! ;(
The link is wrong. Please edit your post because fourthirdsphoto have done a restructuring of the forum.

Updated: http://forum.fourthirdsphoto.com/showthread.php?t=36245

So much hate and negativism in this thread. Some posts are almost like DPReview.

I think we will always have people who are less happy because their expectations were too high and because they take advertisements literally. Yes, I believe there are some E-3 with bad and serious problems, I had one like that. But after having changed the one I had, I must say I am very happy. It is not a 100% error free camera, but is there such a thing? Or is this a problem of "The grass is always greener on the other side of the valley" syndrome? I find it strange that people are nagging so much about this and that, yet many do nothing about their problem, they nag on forums but never contact Olympus and even less send in their supposedly faulty camera for service. Why is that so? Did any of you ever read about my problems with my first camera? Definitely not BEFORE it got fixed, but AFTER. I see no point in nagging, if something is wrong than let them fix it. It is an expensive camera and it supposed to work.

But...

I think it needs engagement from the user in a different way, not just :flame: and :ipuke: and :mad2: and :thumbsd:, but also some proper tests to prove that there is something wrong with the camera and than using all the foruming energy to discuss the problem with Olympus mainly and not on forums. Of course, I am not saying these problems should not be mentioned, but I think the negativism is un-proportional in cyber space; it is an attention grabbing magnet.

I have also problems to understand all these "The D300 is better" type of posts. Yes, it is probably true that the D300 is better in some ways, but if I'd regard it as a better camera I'd sell all my Oly gear and start a new life with the D300, or whatever. What's the point of keeping a bad E-3 and continue bashing it? It is just a camera, if it is bad and can't be fixed; just get a D300 or whatever. I know it is an expensive change, but it is better to take the loss than not having a camera I am happy with.

Personally I was also thinking of the D300 as an alternative to the E-3 before I bought the E-3. I ended up with the Oly and I never turned back so far, in spite my first lemon. The second one is working as expected. It is not 100%, but I don't recognise all the problems people are having with the AF, the HLD-4 or the banding. Yes, the banding is there, but only in severely underexposed images. Yes, occasionally the AF misses, but so what? I see it immediately in the VF, so just releasing the button and pressing once again. So the grip won't work with AA batteries. So what? Use BLM-1s. Those are more powerful anyway than alkaline batteries, and it won't even be more expensive than the AAs considering the BLM-1 is rechargeable.

OK, I have to admit, I don't have SWD lenses (yet) but I find the E-3 focusing very fast and accurate with the 14-54 and all my other lenses, even the 40-150 and the 50/2, and in fact, the C-AF works also well with the 14-54. OK, I haven't tested in the same way the adverts with the cheetah so I still have some testing to do before I can say how it is, but come on, it is an advert.

Happy shooting. Sorry for my naggings and negative contribution.

The E-3 AF is indeed fast... that is only for S-AF. Try to track a moving subject with 11-points or 5-points dynamic C-AF and you will know what I mean.

The contents in any advertisement is important. It actually tells potential buyers of the capability of the product. When a buyer bought a product that fall short of what the manufacturer has advertised, do you not think there is an element of misrepresentation?

Thanks for the update.

Now, that's what I mean about negativism and not doing anything about a problem. The guy is not even clear about what he is talking about, and In spite the fact that EB tries to clear tings out, he is not even bothered to get back on the issue. OK, for all i know, he may have had an accident or some other problems preventing him from giving feedback and helping the helpers.

I think posts like that are hardly worth commenting, since they usually end up in a long discussion. To me it is a basic to use the terms accepted or used by Olympus in the manual. If one invents new terms, that should be explained clearly. If one is not familiar with the right term, one can always ask, but it is an absulte minimum one should expect is that a thread starter comes back and help the people who are doing their bests to help him. As it seems, I think it is a pure user error, and it does not seem to be important enogh for him to get back to maintain his own thread. Maybe he is a bit affraid to admit his mistakes or unfamiliarity, but anyway, I find that forum is full of similar pointless discussions, some times with a lot of endless ongoing and very few facts. The forum has only a few knowledgable people according to my opinion. There are a lot of photogs, but most are quite mediocre, both when it comes to technical and photography knowledge. They earn their living on photography that's all. At the same time, they look down on every non-pro, especially with a non-pro body. CS is a better mixture and in general, images have higher quality as well. OK, that is just my own opinion, but I find very little facts over there.

OK, please somebody, tell me to stop being so negative...

I have to go out and shoot to chear up, but I'll get back later.

The E-3 AF is indeed fast... that is only for S-AF. Try to track a moving subject with 11-points or 5-points dynamic C-AF and you will know what I mean.

The contents in any advertisement is important. It actually tells potential buyers of the capability of the product. When a buyer bought a product that fall short of what the manufacturer has advertised, do you not think there is an element of misrepresentation?

Go learn about contract law, then see if you are going to tell us the same thing as misrepresentation.

You brought up something interesting... maybe you can enlighten us further since you hint of knowledge in that area?

Long story, basically unless the advertisement backed its claims with guarantee, example "This is the lowest price you can get, else money back guarantee", it is as good as TCSS. You go see HSBC Revolution advertisement, you think its really about you? Please, it is about your money they want to earn. Wake up the idea lah.

In any case, in a contract, there is an offer (which is from us), with a consideration (money) and an acceptance (company selling). The company never offer to sell you something that does not work, but we offer to buy something from the company that does not work, ironic right?

Anyway, I believe in black and white only. All these things they say about fastest AF, supersonic results, speed, precision all bullshit lah. So long as you feel comfortable, you buy and use. Not comfortable, dun buy and complain later. People are like that, buy liao cry mother cry father, in the end go no where.