Do you think this is a fair photography package??

I dunno wat was the school's criteria for selecting this photographer over the previous one which has a proper registered studio. I can't even find the company name (which we supposed to indicate on cheque payment) on the web!! He may be a good photographer but if he wants to get a slice of pie from the childcare / kindergarten market, he should learn to package his products from a parent's point of view. Afterall, his customer is the parent!?!?

So sian...told my boy the most no photos for him this year. :cry: A few other parents I spoke to also don't want to order the pics anymore.

Why not pay a little more and let your boy have his memento? Just something for him to look back at when he grows up, i'm sure he will appreciate it.

I'd rather bring him to a studio or get the other CS "uncles" whom are definitely more experienced than this one to do it than to let this photographer get things done his way.

Come to think of it, maybe I should even do the video and photoshoot for his concert myself. Better still....share the pics with any parents who are interested so that they don't have to order from the photographer!! :devil:

I'd rather bring him to a studio or get the other CS "uncles" whom are definitely more experienced than this one to do it than to let this photographer get things done his way.

Come to think of it, maybe I should even do the video and photoshoot for his concert myself. Better still....share the pics with any parents who are interested so that they don't have to order from the photographer!! :devil:

LOL. later all the Pros no biz. Eh. you could charge them a little :devil:

Actually, there's no need to let the school's photographer to take the pictures. You can take the same photos yourself if you have a dslr. I did that for my grandson graduated from K2/Sec 4/Uni. Get all the parents to band together and take the photos yourself or if you don't mind I can do it for all of you at no charge. That's what ClubSNAP is all about isn't it? Share and give back to the community. :cool:

Ever wonder what happened to the previous photog? The guy probably already out of business due to low profit and incessant demand from stingy parents or probably feb up with low balling parents?

LOL. later all the Pros no biz. Eh. you could charge them a little :devil:

No lah...not doing this to make photographer no biz or earn $$ from it lah. Just don't agree to how he and the school management handled it lor. :)

Actually, there's no need to let the school's photographer to take the pictures. You can take the same photos yourself if you have a dslr. I did that for my grandson graduated from K2/Sec 4/Uni. Get all the parents to band together and take the photos yourself or if you don't mind I can do it for all of you at no charge. That's what ClubSNAP is all about isn't it? Share and give back to the community. :cool:

Thanks for your offer :) At least there's one more kind soul here :angel:

If it's K2 graduation, think we can arrange something like that. Would be more fun and meaningful for all the kids and parents. Thanks for the good idea, hotwork77!!:thumbsup:

Ever wonder what happened to the previous photog? The guy probably already out of business due to low profit and incessant demand from stingy parents or probably feb up with low balling parents?

The previous photog has an established studio and I've been very happy with their pics for the past 2 years. They charged, I think, $35 for an individual pic (slightly smaller than A4??) and 2 smaller ones, all nicely pasted onto a "hard-cover" (dunno wat u call it :embrass:). The 2 smaller ones were a class photo and a school photo last year.

Understand there had been a changed in the school management not too long ago. It's now under a "well-known", LOCAL group so...not sure if that's the reason for the change or if there had been complaints from parents. :dunno:

HAHA, that's exactly what I was thinking ;)

Racoon, I have no idea how this photographer calculated his costs and worked out the packages so I won't comment on that, but there's little you can do this year except take the photo yourself, or at a studio (more ex of course). But if you and many parents feel that strongly about it, get together and ask (demand?) that the school get another photographer next year, one who will give you the packages you want. Prob is most people complain then do nothing about it (till next year).

I doubt if you're seriously thinking about it, but if you are I'd seriously advise against taking over the job (taking class and individual photos yourself). You'll find how demanding and time-consuming a group of parents can be, esp when there are free/cheap things on offer. No offense to the parents out there -- I'm talking about a group situation.

As for individual shots, why don't you just take them yourself. Any halfway decent photographer can do it. I help my friend take shots like these (doing some tomm, in fact) and the truth is it's hard to get great expressions from most of the kids. They are scared, stiff or distracted. We do our best with the difficult ones, but there are always some that you just have to settle for a merely acceptable shot. You can probably coax a nicer expression out of your son than a stranger can, and spend more time at it :)

Thanks for your advice, Edwin Francis. If we are to really take for the class next year, it will be a fun, f.o.c. session...maybe at a party or something. Since it's free, parents cannot complain ;). As for the kids, they are very comfortable with us. In fact, they posed very nicely and naturally for us during our boy's birthday celebration in school.

Just had an update from the school principal and I just can't help laughing. Conclusion: newby school mgt meet newby photog = MESS!!

School didn't know that individual photos will not be taken for ALL kids as before. Deadline for orders is 1 week after photoshoot. If anyone order individual photos, photog will come back to take!! Wonder if the photog ever consider what disruptions it will cause to a school!

Best of all...the photog can say he'll take in all suggestions and improve next time round. Ya...right!!! Next time?!?! That is if he can still get the job next year! :bsmilie:

Oh well...no individual or class photos for my boy this year! Will go snap some nice ones during his birthday party instead! ;)

I believe if the school management engages a photographer, the school should try to negotiate for a reasonable price. By saying reasonable price, not sure if there is any formula to calculate or guideline to follow?
Also to be fair to the photographer, he/she needs to be paid for his/her time, cost of developing the pictures and picture frame.

TS and other parents of the school have few choices:
1. don't take up the package
2. form a group and talk to the school management to negotiate down the price or shortlist another photographer
3. TS can try take your kid pictures yourself
4. Lastly aceept the package, treat it as once a life time event and move on.

Actually why not tell the school management you'll engage a photographer for the school and dismiss the current one. I'm sure its an idea that will be heard if it is favorable. Since photography of students is not their main business and probably doesnt care how well its done.

Won't be easy cos it's for the whole chain of childcare centers and a few centers had their pics taken already. The school management will be looking into this so...let's see if changes can be done. At least make sure they don't use the same photog next yr.

Option A - Please select at least 1 item from the STANDARD PACKAGE:

A3. 1 x Graduation Concert DVD + 1 x Super 8R Class Photo with stand + 1 x 6R Class Photo @ $35.90
A4. 1 x Super 8R Class Photo with stand + 1 x 6R Class Photo @ $22.50

Parents whom want to have a copy of their child's photo HAVE to select 1 item from the standard package before they can purchase the child's individual photo!! And the standard package includes 2 class photos! Who would need 2 class photos? Isn't this forcing the parents to spend more before they can have 1 copy of their child's individual photo??

I'm not a parent but...

Understandably class photos will almost always be part of the package since it's more cost effective for the photographer and is good for the kid to remember his/her classmate by in future, but 2x class photos? If it's one formal and one "fun" shot then I may consider purchasing but I will still feel uncomfortable being held ransom to pay for the additional photo. (Would be nice if the photographer can break it down into 3 options - formal, fun, or both. Then at least parents would feel as though they have a choice.)

As to the alternatives if you don't wish to pay for the package options offered... I guess you have plenty of suggestions already. :)

I remember my uni days in the states. My graduation photos were USD$65 per SINGLE piece for 8x5 print. And that was when 1 USD was 1.7 SGD.

It's not about the price in this case I think. Perhaps the price is fair for 2 photos (excluding the child's) but what the parents are upset about is, why do they have to pay 2 when they may not even want 1 (other than their own kid's photo). If they only want their kid's photo, being forced to pay for 1 additional photo is bad enough, 2 is worse, even if the price for each photo is fair.

arctos....YES...my sentiments exactly.:)