lens are an investment and if you use a canon and you tried a L lens before,
sure you will be hooked on the performance and build quality
plus they de-preciatte better.. dont lose so much

Not really leh, now my 17-40 seems to depreciate quite a lot le. ;p

hahaha. ..
just like stocks and share and even rolexes
knowing which L to buy is also another thing
but if you bought it in good health and you are happy with the photos it helps you take then seriously you not going to care about the depreciattion right ?

Unless you buy sell buy sell your L lenses often...lol

but tell you hor... anythingF2.8 or lower esp the prime L are very sought after lor... hehe

all so rich....over 2k for a lens..i just cant convince myself to spend so much until i know i really need it...

Well spending 2k plus is nothing comparing to friends whom buy a 50k to 100k car to drive around. Before we buy anything, we need to ask ourselves will we be using it. If yes, then we see a value to set aside the cash to buy it.

I did consider to get the Tamron 17-50mm len after i bought the 1000D so i came to Clubsnap to read up....the more i read up i got more interested in the Tamron lens....unfortunately....seems like many shop run out of stock.

I went to a few recommended shop to look for Tamron but i was told no stock....so next question i asked them what about the L Lens...Shockingly they not interested to serve me so i just walk off. Then i happen to chance upon one retailer ... and the staff were more keen to service me when i asked them on L Lens. From tamron lens, i zoom down to 2 canon types of L Lens.....24-70mm and 16-35mm L Lens...

in the end i got not just a L Lens but also a Sony Photo Printer... because as the staff demonstrated he also printed out on the sony photo printer. Cool.... i did not know using a photo printer was so easy. lol....

I feel buying the Canon Camera and L lens and Photo printer is better value than my expensive Apple IPhone. Iphone i can only use it for personal use...while a camera, i can share it with my own group of friends to take photos and everyone in the whole group enjoys better photos compared to a Handphone camera. Wonderful experience.

hahaha. ..
but if you bought it in good health and you are happy with the photos it helps you take then seriously you not going to care about the depreciattion right ?

but tell you hor... anythingF2.8 or lower esp the prime L are very sought after lor... hehe

Is Second hand L Lens like mine 16-35mm very sought after in the second hand market?

hahaha. ..

Actually if bought new, never depreciate so much but 2nd hand is another story.

What the difference between first hand and second hand?

I got mine with 3 years extended warranty too.

What the difference between first hand and second hand?

I got mine with 3 years extended warranty too.

Huh what do u mean by that? First hand is new, 2nd hand is used.

Sorry i think i was sleepy when i type that lol

Woah! Bro, u are fast. Just saw u post your first posts on having gotten the 1000D now already have an L. Swee!

I used to stick to primes cos they offer sharpness at a price that is very accessible. After I have gotten an L zoom, I am quite addicted. Looking forward to my next L. ;p

Edit: I voted NO. Cos other than my L, my non-L primes are still very much needed.

Woah! Bro, u are fast. Just saw u post your first posts on having gotten the 1000D now already have an L. Swee!

I used to stick to primes cos they offer sharpness at a price that is very accessible. After I have gotten an L zoom, I am quite addicted. Looking forward to my next L. ;p

Edit: I voted NO. Cos other than my L, my non-L primes are still very much needed.

Hi Parampita, ya lor due to tamron no stock...so well i just went ahead with a Canon L Wide Angle lens for my shooting needs.....now i wondering about my flash unit i got the Emoblitz D728 AFC....wondering should i switch to Canon flash? but then wasted as i just got my flash unit....

For Prime Lens, they are used for what occassions? maybe u quote some examples...since i am new to all this

Hi Parampita, ya lor due to tamron no stock...so well i just went ahead with a Canon L Wide Angle lens for my shooting needs.....now i wondering about my flash unit i got the Emoblitz D728 AFC....wondering should i switch to Canon flash? but then wasted as i just got my flash unit....

I've not used Emoblitz hence can't help u here. I am using a 580Ex II, pretty much satisfies my flash requirements.

For Prime Lens, they are used for what occassions? maybe u quote some examples...since i am new to all this

I have a 35mm (close to a "standard" 50mm on my 1.6x crop sensor) which I use as a general-purpose walkabout lens, very small, non-intimidating and very light.
50mm (Compact macro) for portraits, close-ups.
100mm for macro (favourite).

personally, i'll never buy another 3rd party flash after i owned a Sigma flash.

it's just so inconsistent.

personally, i'll never buy another 3rd party flash after i owned a Sigma flash.

it's just so inconsistent.

Sorry i am new to this DSLR stuff, what do u mean by inconsistent? How do i notice the inconsistent ?

Just wish to ask is this EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM Lens a good shoot to capture people performing on stage and i cant use flash ?

Like some opinions.

Just wish to ask is this EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM Lens a good shoot to capture people performing on stage and i cant use flash ?

Like some opinions.

Depends how dark the situation is like. But if you plan to walk around with the f/2.8 the whole day, you will grow alot stronger physically over time.

I used a f/4.0 as a walkabout at Ocean park a few days back. Check out these stage shots.

f/5.6, 1/400s.
3140321731_1c56638013_o.jpg

f/4.0, 1/200s.
3141150196_a22839bc3d_o.jpg

Not the best I could have gotten from the lens but I believe is quite acceptable.

Depends how dark the situation is like. But if you plan to walk around with the f/2.8 the whole day, you will grow alot stronger physically over time.

I used a f/4.0 as a walkabout at Ocean park a few days back. Check out these stage shots.

Thanks for the nice photo shots, but do you think EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM or without IS for IQ is ok ?

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM price is quite steep too. and i worried i may not use it as often as my 16-35mm.....if i carry a canon cannon (refer to the size) wont i attract lots of attention? LOL.

How u feel when u carry a long canon lens beside been heavy?

I do hv a EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM which i seldom use yet.

Thanks for the nice photo shots, but do you think EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM or without IS for IQ is ok ?

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM price is quite steep too. and i worried i may not use it as often as my 16-35mm.....if i carry a canon cannon (refer to the size) wont i attract lots of attention? LOL.

How u feel when u carry a long canon lens beside been heavy?

IQ isn't affected by IS. It's more handshake blur that IS tackles. Why not u try out the f/2.8 for a day first? I read that the f/4.0 is a sharper choice, altho I have not tried out the f/2.8 yet.

As for attention, it doesn't matter what size the lens is.. as long as it is white, you WILL have the attention. Hang the cam at chest level and you will feel like a beautiful lady in a low cut top with sparkling dust on the cleavage.. people will look at u boob-face-boob. :sweat:

I do hv a EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM which i seldom use yet.

U got this as part of the $59 deal right? I know the IQ is not as good as some of the other lenses but why not just use this first until you have enough of it? Also, if your shooting style seldom use this range, don't u think the 70-200mm will also be under utilized?