[ Discuss ] EP5 vs GX7. Or EM5?

I tried the LX7 vs DLux6 side by side before jumping in. Prior to that I had the X10, X20, RX100ii too. Each for at least close to a month and brought out for an overseas trip to shoot. As i wanted a light weight high performance zoom, I skipped the RX1, RX1R, X100, X100S and the X1, X2. I've no idea how the RX10 and Stylus 1 will perform though. The 'red dot' wasn't the justification la haha. Pple like us into who picked up MFT when it was in its infancy couldn't care less about branding. I agree with you on how good the glass is on the LX7 / DLux 6 and that was one of the reason i gave up the great RX100ii for it. The RX's a wonderful piece of machine & low light perf wise it is still no doubt the best performer in the high end compact group but i just had issues finding the 'feel of wanting to shoot with it and I somehow always had issues navigating the functions and dials. Ergonomics wise, the X10 and X20's really great with the OVF but main issue was it's poor performance in low light shooting. The reason why I chose the DLux 6 over the LX7 is due to the OOC Jpeg colors it produces and that the menu/software layouts is one that i can identify with. I don't shoot raw on it as we all know RAW output on these 2 are the same. I fell in love with the colors the Dlux6's JPEG engine produces at 1st sight. 3 examples of OOC Jpeg from the DLux6 in quite low light restaurant sitting i have in my APAW folder: if i didn't remember wrongly, these were simply shot either in auto or A mode. Maybe I should try the X2 one day too bearing I'm willing to shell out the money for it.

Yeap. Heard that the Dlux colour is different. Just an interesting question for you. Is the Leica OOC JPEG colour better than olympus?

I tried the LX7 vs DLux6 side by side before jumping in. Prior to that I had the X10, X20, RX100ii too. Each for at least close to a month and brought out for an overseas trip to shoot. As i wanted a light weight high performance zoom, I skipped the RX1, RX1R, X100, X100S and the X1, X2. I've no idea how the RX10 and Stylus 1 will perform though.

The 'red dot' wasn't the justification la haha. Pple like us into who picked up MFT when it was in its infancy couldn't care less about branding. I agree with you on how good the glass is on the LX7 / DLux 6 and that was one of the reason i gave up the great RX100ii for it.

The RX's a wonderful piece of machine & low light perf wise it is still no doubt the best performer in the high end compact group but i just had issues finding the 'feel of wanting to shoot with it and I somehow always had issues navigating the functions and dials.

Bro.. one question.. I've seen lots of debate on various forums about m4/3 vs FF. But interestingly more and more people who own the RX100 are also saying its good enough. So since you have both or tried both, does the 1" sensor cams pose a threat to m4/3? How is the IQ vs m4/3

wa Bro..

your questions can lead to a brand war leh.. haha. I'll focus more on MFT k when answering haha.

Yeap. Heard that the Dlux colour is different. Just an interesting question for you. Is the Leica OOC JPEG colour better than olympus?

this one is subjective but what I can say with certainty is yes, the Dlux produces diff colors from the LX7 for OOC JPEGs. Leica did a wonderful job tweaking them colors.
Its a argued to death comparison between LX7 and DLux6 so to me, just try them side by side and u'll see the big difference.

for vs Olympus, No 1 , i must say I like Oly colors for their warmth and vibrancy one reason why I'm not a Pana body fanboy. I'll say the DLux colors are comparable to Oly color rendition. Bear in mind the Dlux 6 is an entry model, so if u r discussing colors from the M9 onwards the difference will definitely be larger but end of the day, color acceptance and appreciation is personal. I wouldn't be comparing a $16,000 setup with a $3000 setup ;)

I'm sticking to both the Dlux 6 for my everyday in bag camera and my Oly kits for the more 'serious' shoots or when i travel so I'll say they complement each other for me.

Bro.. one question.. I've seen lots of debate on various forums about m4/3 vs FF. But interestingly more and more people who own the RX100 are also saying its good enough. So since you have both or tried both, does the 1" sensor cams pose a threat to m4/3? How is the IQ vs m4/3

I sold the RX100ii for the DLux leh haha. We have to look at the whole camera package. Ergonomics, Output and Usability/Flexibility for a better answer.

Since u focused on sensor, My answer: the 1" sensor definitely doesn't and can't pose a threat to m4/3 sensor performance but one is a fixed lens compact while m4/3 is a whole system with much more flexibility.
The RX100ii outperformed older models like the GF3 etc but its performance still pales in comparison to the EP5, EM5, GX7 and of course, the EM-1. I can say with certainty MFT performance is now able to take on APS-C sensors in a fair fight. How far we've come haha.

'good enough' is a very subjective word. I've friends using the Samsung S4 Zoom and its good enough for them too. ;)

that's why ending up i have a high end compact + MFT kit setup for my camera equipment collection.

Hey guys,

I have been in and out of singapore on work lately (and not heading to a country where cameras are cheaper) could anyone give me an idea of what price i could get the EP5 kit here now? Will try to go down to some of the shops to find out this weekend. If anyone has heard of good deals pls lemme know.

Thanks
Akkers

It is about ~$1620 at Funan shops for the body + 17mm + VF4 combo. there is also an ongoing olympus promo till end nov. with the kit purchase, you can get an extra battery, an oly shoulder strap and 40-150mm oly lens FOC.

wa Bro.. your questions can lead to a brand war leh.. haha. I'll focus more on MFT k when answering haha. Yeap. Heard that the Dlux colour is different. Just an interesting question for you. Is the Leica OOC JPEG colour better than olympus? this one is subjective but what I can say with certainty is yes, the Dlux produces diff colors from the LX7 for OOC JPEGs. Leica did a wonderful job tweaking them colors. Its a argued to death comparison between LX7 and DLux6 so to me, just try them side by side and u'll see the big difference. for vs Olympus, No 1 , i must say I like Oly colors for their warmth and vibrancy one reason why I'm not a Pana body fanboy. I'll say the DLux colors are comparable to Oly color rendition. Bear in mind the Dlux 6 is an entry model, so if u r discussing colors from the M9 onwards the difference will definitely be larger but end of the day, color acceptance and appreciation is personal. I wouldn't be comparing a $16,000 setup with a $3000 setup ;) I'm sticking to both the Dlux 6 for my everyday in bag camera and my Oly kits for the more 'serious' shoots or when i travel so I'll say they complement each other for me. Bro.. one question.. I've seen lots of debate on various forums about m4/3 vs FF. But interestingly more and more people who own the RX100 are also saying its good enough. So since you have both or tried both, does the 1" sensor cams pose a threat to m4/3? How is the IQ vs m4/3 I sold the RX100ii for the DLux leh haha. We have to look at the whole camera package. Ergonomics, Output and Usability/Flexibility for a better answer. Since u focused on sensor, My answer: the 1" sensor definitely doesn't and can't pose a threat to m4/3 sensor performance but one is a fixed lens compact while m4/3 is a whole system with much more flexibility. The RX100ii outperformed older models like the GF3 etc but its performance still pales in comparison to the EP5, EM5, GX7 and of course, the EM-1. I can say with certainty MFT performance is now able to take on APS-C sensors in a fair fight. How far we've come haha. 'good enough' is a very subjective word. I've friends using the Samsung S4 Zoom and its good enough for them too. ;) that's why ending up i have a high end compact + MFT kit setup for my camera equipment collection.

Thanks for that insight. Reason is that my wife's compact just died and I'm thinking of either rx100 or lx7/lf1/s120.. What's good enough for her ... That's the question..

Buying camera for ladies is always tricky haha.

For them the camera looks and ease of use generally matter a lot. In the case of my wife, her perfect camera will need to give great photos in auto mode, be small and chio and easy to do selfies. She doesn't know the difference between PASM for one so it depends on how proficient your wife is in optimizing the functions too.

Probably u can start showing her photos of the cameras to short list ;)

My answer: the 1" sensor definitely doesn't and can't pose a threat to m4/3 sensor performance but one is a fixed lens compact while m4/3 is a whole system with much more flexibility.
The RX100ii outperformed older models like the GF3 etc but its performance still pales in comparison to the EP5, EM5, GX7 and of course, the EM-1. I can say with certainty MFT performance is now able to take on APS-C sensors in a fair fight. How far we've come haha.

It's not that the 1" EXMOR is not a threat to M43, it definitely is. However, M43's advantage is that you can get better lenses than what is on a RX100II. The sensor capability is almost the same. Remember this chart...

10683471334_d68d6ded04_b.jpg

It is about ~$1620 at Funan shops for the body + 17mm + VF4 combo. there is also an ongoing olympus promo till end nov. with the kit purchase, you can get an extra battery, an oly shoulder strap and 40-150mm oly lens FOC.

Thank you !

Looks like GX7 is on a roll today. Imaging Resource just came out with their review. Inside, there was this

There's a lot to love about the GX7, and love it I do, especially when taken in context with the many other fixed-lens compacts and mirrorless models I've reviewed recently. In the past months, I've shot the aforementioned, Micro Four Thirds Panasonic Lumix G6 and GF6, the high-end Panasonic LF1 point-and-shoot, and the pro-level mirrorless Olympus OM-D E-M1. I have also tested a couple of APS-C sensored models, including the enthusiast-level Fuji X100s and the beginner-oriented Sony NEX-3N. In terms of performance, image quality and value, the Lumix GX7 is the model that I'd plunk down my own money to buy.

You'd be surprised, I got one use a tilting evf, in fact, I bought the VA-1 a long time ago despite having live view simple because there is a lag and it sucks up my power, these days, due yo the method to remove the D3's viewfinder, I just shoot. Blind, but given the chance I'd opt for an angle finder for those lower than my eye level shots

That is because you are a big boy, bro. ^_^

I am a hardcore angle finder shooter. That is why I use a OM-D with VF4. E-M1 or not. If a shot needs to be shot in lower angle, it just need to be shot in a lower angle. No arguments about that one. Unless I am more more than 1.80m tall... Every portrait/headshot has to be lowered. LOL!

Remember this spoof?

shots2012_08_145_spoof008.jpg

Just a little reminder for all to keep the discussions relac... And please, always try to give face to Limpeh.

I still want to maintain my record as the moderator that pleas with the community and gives out the lowest infraction and bans. Please help me ok?

Thank you.

I love the discussions in here. So much variation and flavors.

And my advise to everyone is,

Don't bitch and whine about a camera that you don't like. It just means it is not the camera for you.
Go do some homework and find that camera that does, and come back to post about what you find out about that camera.
Though one can post the downside to a piece of equipment, it should only serve to warn others when they are deciding to buy the same piece of gear.

There is a difference between a cameraman and a photographer, decide which you want to be. (Not directing this at anyone).

Because I believe most, if not all, wants to take great pictures, instead of building cameras in this community. Correct me if I am wrong.

And also, don't review the reviewers, just review your gear and we would love to hear from you what you like and dislike and why. That is different from trolling and bitching and whining.

Do it civic-ly or with good humor. Even if the humor is very Ah Beng.

Love you all, and keep discussions happening.

The RX100 is the best thing since sliced bread ;p but it depends on what you like. For me, when I travel, I take a lot of photos of buildings, landscape, night scenes etc, so I like wide dynamic range and high ISO capability in a pocketable camera. Sharp photo's of family on holiday, my iPhone does a good job already.

See? Any "matter-of-perspective" post. A E-M1 with PL12-35mm with hood reversed will fit into my pocket because I almost always only wear cargo/explorer's pants. So what is big to you can be just right for another.

Just saying, just saying.

And you are spot on about the iPhone thing. I shoot 2 times more pics on my iPhone 5S especially when Snapseed makes editing a breeze and sharing it online with family and friends is within the same gadget.

Local Prices seem going southward fast.

A friend of mine just got his EM5 body for $9xx with a extra original batt yesterday. All brand new with warranty.

Good news for all of us haha. Kinda hoping the GM1 will be priced reasonably too ; seems like a cute camera with decent performance to have.

NEW = MARKED UP PRICE = STOP DREAMING = WANT CHEAP, BUY CROWBAR, GO BREAK-IN.

That is what I believe. Really... ha ha ha... :bsmilie:

Half fark, half bake, work in progress all meant the same thing and if you are referring to an object (and not a human), whats wrong with that and why get all emotion over a gadget?

Isn't saying that the 1" sensor in the rx100 is the best thing since sliced bread is just expressing a personal opinion so what's wrong with that? I also share the same opinion

Have you ever notice that people can get defensive and argumentative and even angry etc talking about cameras in forums but when they talk about the same things face to face like in a camera shop, the mood is mostly friendly and fun?

Why get all emotion and hype up over gadgets which are just toys for most of us? Chill it bro, its just a hobby.

Hello buddy. I just thought I should share with you about "people skills".

You see, you are absolutely right about your own feelings towards the gear you reviewed, and it might have pissed you off big time because its design did not suit your shooting needs. But for those who also bought and fell in love with that same gear would find your highly passionate review slightly negative, thus their reaction.

Again, I am not preaching "this one my buddy so I stand on his side" bull. I am not into that. But let's not start a fire especially when I really don't like it.

Kiss virtually and (then vomit) make up can?

Make your point known and yes, we should all not over-react.

Hope you can find more gear that work for you and help you get those killer images. And you are right to have your own point of view. I respect that. Just tone down a little on the passion for a start. Just for the sake of a quieter neighborhood.

Agrivar... tsk tsk tsk... relac lah. I know my "I hate Panasonic thus far" also ruffled your feather. But they did build and release that 7-14mm you know? Heehee...

In the spirit of John Lenon...

"All we are saying, is to give peace a chance".

I think Bro Keith do loves Red Dots ..... :vhappy:

Bro Keith, just ribbing ....still looking forward to your Nepal pixs :lovegrin:

How not to love the Red Dot... you guys are living on one.

That is a bloody good question, and yes, the colors from the Red Dot camera (despite sharing the same hardware) is different from the Panasonic equivalent. The colors are (in my own experience) like Olympus Vivid Mode turned on by default. Can be over-saturated at times. But pleasing once you nailed down the exposure correctly.

Pretty nice. But I feel the Red Dot Pannys are more novelty. I can tweak the same colors from Oly. Takes me a minute or so. Again, OOC or tweaked, that depends on personal preference.

wa Bro..

your questions can lead to a brand war leh.. haha. I'll focus more on MFT k when answering haha.

this one is subjective but what I can say with certainty is yes, the Dlux produces diff colors from the LX7 for OOC JPEGs. Leica did a wonderful job tweaking them colors.
Its a argued to death comparison between LX7 and DLux6 so to me, just try them side by side and u'll see the big difference.

for vs Olympus, No 1 , i must say I like Oly colors for their warmth and vibrancy one reason why I'm not a Pana body fanboy. I'll say the DLux colors are comparable to Oly color rendition. Bear in mind the Dlux 6 is an entry model, so if u r discussing colors from the M9 onwards the difference will definitely be larger but end of the day, color acceptance and appreciation is personal. I wouldn't be comparing a $16,000 setup with a $3000 setup ;)

I'm sticking to both the Dlux 6 for my everyday in bag camera and my Oly kits for the more 'serious' shoots or when i travel so I'll say they complement each other for me.

I sold the RX100ii for the DLux leh haha. We have to look at the whole camera package. Ergonomics, Output and Usability/Flexibility for a better answer.

Since u focused on sensor, My answer: the 1" sensor definitely doesn't and can't pose a threat to m4/3 sensor performance but one is a fixed lens compact while m4/3 is a whole system with much more flexibility.

'good enough' is a very subjective word. I've friends using the Samsung S4 Zoom and its good enough for them too. ;)

that's why ending up i have a high end compact + MFT kit setup for my camera equipment collection.

I concur. And thanks for this very good example of civil reply.

A lot of times with wives, or the female population in general, they actually choose looks over function.

Moreover, I think the image quality from cellphones are catching up and I have seen the recent work from fellow moderator/photographer Alex Ortega with the Samsung S4 Zoom. You might want to consider that as an alternative too. It is quite remarkable.

With apps, editing is done "in-camera"... what a joy that is.

NEW = MARKED UP PRICE = STOP DREAMING = WANT CHEAP, BUY CROWBAR, GO BREAK-IN. That is what I believe. Really... ha ha ha... :bsmilie:

I scared of breaking the law haha. But as all electronics go , we all know how pricing goes la.

Best is just enjoy them and shoot shoot shoot.

Agrivar... tsk tsk tsk... relac lah. I know my "I hate Panasonic thus far" also ruffled your feather. But they did build and release that 7-14mm you know? Heehee...

Panny can build it but Olympus can not accept it. The 7-14 doesn't seem to work as well on Oly bodies. Could it be that Oly messed with the lens correction for competitive reasons with their 9-18?