Disappointed with Canon Service Centre

Huh? How can ah? Shouldn't the warranty be on the product regardless of who is the current owner? Otherwise, it wld mean a 2nd hand canon product bought over by another wld not hv a warranty.

Anyway, jus to share my own experience at the ctr yesterday : brought in my still-under-warranty 60d with dust problem. Technician spent less than 20mins and insisted that problem is solved, even when I suggested leaving the camera at the ctr to allow for a thorough check n service. I left and when I tested the camera I found the problem has not been solved (when I took some photo and uploaded into my pc to have a better look). So disappointed with half- hearted effort of svc ctr!

looks like everyone's mileage really varies.

Frankly I have mix feeling about CSC service. I mean... once I took my 40D in for servicing because of some idiotic part on my side and told them that I opted for the express services. They got the thing done on the very same day. I am surprise and although I paid more, but I find the service technicians and front desk people pretty helpful.

Then came the time I took my current 7D down for a check. The lady at the desk dropped my battery to the ground. ALthough it was nothing, but at the very least she should be saying sorry - nope... that was not the case, I almost wanted to tell her off... but she is a lady... so I swallow and left.

I also heard from a friend of mine who brought his 500mm lens to do a calibration with his new 7D... and the service guy knocked the lens to the side of the table. And I know... a lens is not that fragile... but knocking it on the table? WIthout so much as a sorry... that is not the service I am looking for.

We always hear about thew few cases where something went wrong. But do we also hear about the many cases that simply went well and everything was alright? :)

I also have some problem with CSC. I sent my 24-70 for calibration 6 mths back, and didn't use the lens after that, recently I use again and found there is dust inside the lens. but after 6 mths liao, can i still go back to make noise ?

I'm seeing way too much of such threads ... we singaporeans complain about service no good, service not up to standard. So what can we do? Just live with it?

If u tink that the service is not up to standard, there's a few things to go about changing it. First stop using the service altogether, meaning dont use canon. Tis might not be practical for most of us. 2nd option, bring it up to the next level of management. 3rd someone mentioned abt lens being knocked around and yet just keep quiet seeing such things. Are we promoting the correct attitude? If u tink that u deserve an apology then ask for it, demand it if u have to. Coming here after all is over and just rant on and on and complain non stop is not gonna change anything. That lady who works at canon is not gonna read our thread.

So sum it up, u have a point of contention, bring it up to the person involved. Be active in wanting the change. Not behind the service person talk about how bad their service is bla bla. Yet u do nothing about it. On the other hand, u receive great service compliment it.

Well .. tat's my take on us singaporean. We complain too much n never choose to be proactive in wanting to see that improvement or change.

I also have some problem with CSC. I sent my 24-70 for calibration 6 mths back, and didn't use the lens after that, recently I use again and found there is dust inside the lens. but after 6 mths liao, can i still go back to make noise ?
Only if you can prove that your house and your place is free of any dust. Because that would clearly show that the dust comes from CSC.

and I was wondering since there are SO many canon user.. why they just open 1 csc? shouldn't they start planning for atleast one more outlet? this will greatly improve their current "nua nua" services.. and why do they allow their technician and customer officers to assess the item and quote a price?

for my case, my on site servicing is cheaper than their price quoted to me when i walk-in.. =.=

and I was wondering since there are SO many canon user.. why they just open 1 csc? shouldn't they start planning for atleast one more outlet? this will greatly improve their current "nua nua" services.. and why do they allow their technician and customer officers to assess the item and quote a price?

for my case, my on site servicing is cheaper than their price quoted to me when i walk-in.. =.=
having a service center will not generate much profits, open more service centers will incur operating cost, it will eventually transfer to consumers.. :)

services centers are providing the support services of their products to customers,
they have a set of protocol written clearly in their warranty terms,

every customers should be satisfied with their customer services if they have a realistic expectation,
when the service center go for extra mile for you, remember, this is not a entitlement, do take it as a bonus.

Actually dust can get into the lens at anytime whether you use it or not. So it can actually not be CSC's issue.

lastly,
the staffs service center are human too,
if everyday hear only complains, some are genuine but many of them are due to wrong expectations.
that will really affect their moral for providing good customer services isn't it?

follow the book kena complains, doing good things nobody appreciate, might as well just put up a Poker face and read from the script. don't blame me blame the company.
is this what you hope to see??

afaik, warranty is not transferable. that's why, many prefer un-registered warranty when buying 2nd hand items...

i still got confirence with CSC...

lastly,
if everyday hear only complains, some are genuine but many of them are due to wrong expectations.
that will really affect their moral for providing good customer services isn't it?

follow the book kena complains, doing good things nobody appreciate, might as well just put up a Poker face and read from the script. don't blame me blame the company.

I think perhaps the people unhappy with such a policy should highlight it to Canon Singapore higher management, I'm sure there will be a review or a solution to this because it does not make any sense and I am sure that they will see that, if it were highlighted.

It should probably also be acknowledged that there are reasons for such a policy - but better communication between the company and customers can be established to convey these reasons, and address the genuine cases which should be exempted from such a policy, if the policy was not targeted at them. This is especially applicable in Singapore - CS B&S has such a significant trading volume of goods under warranty, so that should be taken into account.

Someone mentioned one option in responding proactively to poor svc at Csc was to take our business elsewhere - I wld appreciate information on other alternatives where I cn svc my canon without the hustle of having to address this issue of less than satisfactory svc. Where ah?

Another member highlighted that warranty is non- transferable. Gd point and I guess buyers of 2nd products wld hv to factor that into their buying decision.

By and large, I don't get the sense reading the threads here that ppl here are complaining for the sake of doing so! They are merely expressing a view and sharing their experience. It is easy to generalize that Singaporeans are a complaining lot when one is not at the receiving end. I wld refrain from doing do. By all means, if there are good experience to share of csc, do so for a more balanced view of the quality of svc at csc and I cn see some doing that.

At the end of the day, if I was the one in- charge of the going-ons at csc, I wld be equally; if not
more keen to hear out the negatv views, than the "well done, thank you" types of feedback, and I wld take the views expressed here to see how I cn make csc a better . : )

At the end of the day, if I was the one in- charge of the going-ons at csc, I wld be equally; if not
more keen to hear out the negatv views, than the "well done, thank you" types of feedback, and I wld take the views expressed here to see how I cn make csc a better . : )

I think the point that was being made was that venting your frustration on the internet often goes nowhere. Rather than rant on forums to 800 strangers and a few people you might actually know, won't it be better to channel your energies into engaging the people who can effect the change you want to see? :) Unless of course you're just here to blow steam, then that's also fine, but it is still a valid point that you've blown your steam, and nothing gets done.

Interesting experience..... I've been to CSC many times and not once did they ask me to verify my identity. So my question is, how do they know TS wasn't the original owner? Unless TS told them? What if someone sends in equipment to CSC on behalf of the original owner?

lastly,

i agree about the staff being human. Dont get me wrong but....

if we are to lower our standards just because we pity the staff, nothing will be done right or be acceptable because any inability to solve your situation can be put of as "it cant be helped". As a service staff or any staff, professionalism is expected from them to behave, handle and act in a manner where the customers are satisfied. This is certainly not fair as many people may be in a bad mood, rushy, impatient, demanding, etc.

But it is their paid job to endure such and provide the service so that the customers are happy. If they cant take the stress or dont feel motivated, sad to say a new job would be a better option for them. Customers are always demanding, knowing how to handle them and educate them the boundaries of your help whilst keeping them satisfied is a skill and art. Customers do not pity nor are they your friends... thats a fact.

I think the point that was being made was that venting your frustration on the internet often goes nowhere. Rather than rant on forums to 800 strangers and a few people you might actually know, won't it be better to channel your energies into engaging the people who can effect the change you want to see? :) Unless of course you're just here to blow steam, then that's also fine, but it is still a valid point that you've blown your steam, and nothing gets done.

Granted that merely talking abt the issue here may not solve anything (we dun really kn cos I wld not underestimate the power of the net and a collective voice); moreover, it's not a zero sum situation here i.e. people who "rant" abt the inefficient service at CSC here cld also be doing something proactive on their own. So you can blow steam here, get views and advices here, find your center and go do something practical to solve the issue : )

That said. Going back to the issue w/c is really the poor service some of us has experienced at CSC. For me, for a simple dust problem, I had had to make three trips down to CSC, sent in an on-line complaint to CSC, talked to a senior technician or an ops mgr on the phone, and having to explain my issue time and time again to different CSC staff (& "rant" abt it here : ) ) - all things considered, these added up to be a frustrating experience for me and I maintained CSC cld have done it right the first time to avoid pissing off an otherwise loyal Canon consumer.

catchlights said:
having a service center will not generate much profits, open more service centers will incur operating cost, it will eventually transfer to consumers.. :)

Slightly different point of view. Every camera sold already takes into account some overheads such as shop rental, logistics, staff salary and yes de provision of service centre. If canon has sold sooo many cameras then they OUGHT to have more than one service centre, de lack of being an actual disservice to their customers. The volume of cameras and lens and accessories sold has already paid for de second centre but they choose to keep de money in their pockets at customer's expense. So I don't agree dat a second service center will necessitate a rise in prices. If u are committed to customer satisfaction and protecting your brand equity you will not tolerate poor after-sales service which is evidently happening here.