Originally posted by marshy
Just discovered a dead pixel on the LCD screen. Is it justified to send it in for servicing just for 1 dead pixel?
Will double check if the CCD has it. The EVF doesn't have it.
Yes .. it's very obvious.. Actually... It may not be called a dead pixel. The colour for that particular pixel seems to be stuck at green colour.
Originally posted by aong
My first 7hi had a dead pixel in the ccd ard the top left area -- very obvious!
Anyway, there's some program written by some guys which will
'scan' thru' the .mrw (raw) file and determine if got deadpix or not on the ccd.
or did we went past this already?
Originally posted by Snapper
Did you change your 7hi becoz of the 7hi ? were they willing to change it for you ?
Yea, AP lor, changed it a few days after purchase.. mebbe that's why..
Now no stock ... cannot change at all ... sigh ....
But I think a dead pixel is not that bad.
Oh, ok.. i bought it on the first day of release or something... so quite lucky, i guess..
hmm, a dead pixel is a prob to me.. coz it's usually in the region of the 'skies' or what.. so got eternal star there.. no like.. plus those compression algo.. will smudge it into.. urk.
besides, u paid so much for a nice cam, u feel songst knowing u've a dead pixel in the ccd meh? lcd or evf.. i dun mind that much..
but of coz, to each his own mar![]()
Mine only comes out in B/W mode ... in color, you cannot see it ... but I really do not want to wait another 3 months ... I think you know what I mean ... in fact I normally quite Meow one ... but![]()
I do have another problem where the cam will just display "Err" then shuts down ... dunno what is wrong ... will try out more to see ... I guess it would be a flash setting that I have set.
Cannot put a finger on when this happens .. so not so easy to catch
Do you want this proggy out to test if your dimage cam has dead pixel? Maybe I can email you, better yet, if i can find the link to it.
It supposedly takes in .mrw files (minolta raw quality) and checks if got dead pixels, u need a series of pics taken at 'full black', 'full dunno what colors have you'...
Well, the ERR one.. i'd read it somewhere, someone was having this prob also .. sorry, unable to find it as at now.. ;(((
cf card/format?
Why me ?! why me ?! :dunno:
any one facing this problem also ... according to the thread, it looks like it is a battery problem ... my bateeries are the new 2100 ... which is in the process of seasoning.
But it does not happen very offen ... I think it happened so ... far only 3 time ...
BTW .. your info was useful.
Thanks ... but just to confirm ... how big is the file ? It is used to check the CCD or the LCD ....
thanks again.
Mine also hang sometime somehow.. just need to remove the batt ;( dun sound too healthy to me at all((((
Hmm, well, try another set of batt and see how first? isolate the problem first.. or maybe someone might have a logical reasoning for it ;(
The file is ard 300kb.
The link for it is
here
Help this helps.
It's to check dead pixels in the CCD, NOT LCD![]()
Just Sent in my 7Hi for servicing. They confirmed the dead pixel on the LCD and said they'll change the LCD and check if the CCD is affected. Was told that they will give me a new unit if there are no spare parts. Told them I was willing to wait for spare parts... cos my unit is the first batch that came into S'pore and is not made in M'sia.
The fella there was also surprised that their showroom piece was a made in M'sia and that there was even any non made in M'sia pieces in S'pore. Their showroom unit had a serial number starting with 9 while mine starts with a 2.
So to all who might encounter any dead pixel(s), just send it in, they'll service it.
Just Sent in my 7Hi for servicing. They confirmed the dead pixel on the LCD and said they'll change the LCD and check if the CCD is affected. Was told that they will give me a new unit if there are no spare parts. Told them I was willing to wait for spare parts... cos my unit is the first batch that came into S'pore and is not made in M'sia.
The fella there was also surprised that their showroom piece was a made in M'sia and that there was even any non made in M'sia pieces in S'pore. Their showroom unit had a serial number starting with 9 while mine starts with a 2.
So to all who might encounter any dead pixel(s), just send it in, they'll service it.