D90 User Group

i used something like the ML-L3 but it came with my battery grip. i was using the timer + remote mode

so is there a way to lock down the focus ? if not without the MC-DC2, i wont be able to focus before taking the shot.

it would seem that there must be someone behind the camera afterall

i used something like the ML-L3 but it came with my battery grip. i was using the timer + remote mode

so is there a way to lock down the focus ? if not without the MC-DC2, i wont be able to focus before taking the shot.

it would seem that there must be someone behind the camera afterall

Like I said, best way to lock down focus is to switch it to MF mode after you done your focusing.

The focus is not guaranteed on the ML-L3. Like what DD123 mentioned, it's best to pre-focus, switch to MF, then fire off remotely.

Sorry guys for the interruption ....
Since this is a D90 User Group, I think my question will be most appropriate to post here.
Here it goes, I have a D70s with for more than 5 years and tot of upgrade it to D90 or D300, but reading another thread, since that D90 is a better choice.
But then, I read from Nikon Rumors, that there will be D90 replacement 'soon', but dunno when.
Now my question is, is it worth the wait for the replacement which dunno when and how much with it be, how different will it be, or rather just get a D90 now?

Any kind soul can help?
Thanks in advance.

Kelvin

Since this is a D90 User Group, I think my question will be most appropriate to post here.
Here it goes, I have a D70s with for more than 5 years and tot of upgrade it to D90 or D300, but reading another thread, since that D90 is a better choice.
But then, I read from Nikon Rumors, that there will be D90 replacement 'soon', but dunno when.
Now my question is, is it worth the wait for the replacement which dunno when and how much with it be, how different will it be, or rather just get a D90 now?

No one has seen theD90 replacement. So no one can tell you how much it will cost, how much different it will be from the current D90.

Why don't you shoot with the D70s till it comes out. Looking at historical camera release dates, the replacement should come pretty soon.

Any kind soul can help?
Thanks in advance.

Kelvin
Hi Kelvin.
I think the best way to curb unnecessary spending by always buying the latest model, is to analyze your photography, and then see if a particular model you have in mind can achieve what you want.
For me, since I never shoot video and never print super-large, if the D90's successor has a higher megapixel rating and HD video, that wouldn't tempt me one bit.

I switched from D80 to D90 because the "upgrade cost" was minimal, and I gained better DR, high ISO performance, bigger and sharper LCD screen, added functionality in menus, and faster fps speed. Therefore I felt it was worth it.
You gotta do your own analysis.

No news of D90 replacement yet, but I can almost bet that it will be out this year at Photokina. Product cycle is up :D

Any kind soul can help?
Thanks in advance.

Kelvin

I had a much older D50 before I jump to D90. The price I have paid for the jump is worthwhile. The quality of the nightshoot is a huge improvement and importantly, the useful video mode is awesome.

For me, new products is often bad news. They always seems to have teething problems. I mean electronic stuffs ya...Maybe I am just plain unlucky....:embrass:

Hi Kelvin.
I think the best way to curb unnecessary spending by always buying the latest model, is to analyze your photography, and then see if a particular model you have in mind can achieve what you want.
For me, since I never shoot video and never print super-large, if the D90's successor has a higher megapixel rating and HD video, that wouldn't tempt me one bit.

I switched from D80 to D90 because the "upgrade cost" was minimal, and I gained better DR, high ISO performance, bigger and sharper LCD screen, added functionality in menus, and faster fps speed. Therefore I felt it was worth it.
You gotta do your own analysis.

No news of D90 replacement yet, but I can almost bet that it will be out this year at Photokina. Product cycle is up :D

Don't worry, ZCA. Both of us should be looking forward to the replacement of the coming D90's replacement in two to 3 years' time... :bsmilie: Hoping that replacement will come with 4 inch screen or at least a flipable type, no more weird angle neck crunch!

However, I'm curious what D3100 brings... this is in preparation to getting a second body (hoping to rope my kid in into this fascinating hobby)... If it's without screw I'd dismiss it totally...

Don't worry, ZCA. Both of us should be looking forward to the replacement of the coming D90's replacement in two to 3 years' time... :bsmilie: Hoping that replacement will come with 4 inch screen or at least a flipable type, no more weird angle neck crunch!

However, I'm curious what D3100 brings... this is in preparation to getting a second body (hoping to rope my kid in into this fascinating hobby)... If it's without screw I'd dismiss it totally...

No screw. But all the other specs looks real impressive.

For a backup body, may I suggest a D700 replacement? :devil:;)

No screw. But all the other specs looks real impressive.

For a backup body, may I suggest a D700 replacement? :devil:;)

For what it's worth, I don't think I'm ready for a FF yet... Unless of course it's more than affordable that gives me no reason to object! :bsmilie:

For the moment, 70-200 VR II out-weighs the want for the D700 (or its replacement)... ;) :devil:

I think I'll get D700 as my backup body.... ;)

MWAhahahahahaha :devil:

d3100 looks quite good, but CONFIRM GUARANTEE + CHOP that there will be no AF screw drive.
In fact, rumour has it that even D90 replacement won't have the screw drive.
coz if you realize, NONE of the DX lenses is AF... they're all AF-S.

I think I'll get D700 as my backup body.... ;)

MWAhahahahahaha :devil:

d3100 looks quite good, but CONFIRM GUARANTEE + CHOP that there will be no AF screw drive.
In fact, rumour has it that even D90 replacement won't have the screw drive.
coz if you realize, NONE of the DX lenses is AF... they're all AF-S.

Wah, that means D90 is a keeper for sure... since you can still utilise AF lenses...

D700?? Go for it man!!! :devil: Then you HAVE to get the 14-24 or 16-35 liao... :devil:

imagine having to buy 35/1.8DX, AFS50/1.4, and AFS85/1.4.... just to have autofocus capability...wah lau... wallet meltdown sia....

Wah, that means D90 is a keeper for sure... since you can still utilise AF lenses...

D700?? Go for it man!!! :devil: Then you HAVE to get the 14-24 or 16-35 liao... :devil:

Ya ZCA bro... get the D700... then get the 16-35 and the 24-70/2.8. Upgrade your 85 to 85/1.4D...
:devil:

BTW last night, went with my family went to makan curry fish head at TPY North. The yam ring is very good too. ;) niceeeee.

imagine having to buy 35/1.8DX, AFS50/1.4, and AFS85/1.4.... just to have autofocus capability...wah lau... wallet meltdown sia....

Yeah lor! If there is no screw on D90 replacement... then I'll be sooooo darn proud of my D90 liao!

Might as well get D300s! (hmmm.... which I suspect that is Nikon's strategy at work... :think:... to give buyers no reason to object D300s)...

Ya ZCA bro... get the D700... then get the 16-35 and the 24-70/2.8. Upgrade your 85 to 85/1.4D...

BTW last night, went with my family went to makan curry fish head at TPY North. The yam ring is very good too. ;) niceeeee.
wah... don't like dat leh... this one d90 thread, for D90 lovers... :) Not for FX poisoning....!
D700+16-35VR on my wishlist for looooooooong time already...
act blur only.... :angel:

thanks for your sappork bro! Got ask lady boss for discount or not? ;)

Yeah lor! If there is no screw on D90 replacement... then I'll be sooooo darn proud of my D90 liao!

Might as well get D300s! (hmmm.... which I suspect that is Nikon's strategy at work... :think:... to give buyers no reason to object D300s)...
it's the whole "middle class" squeeze happening all over again, this time with regards to camera line-ups... :)

Wahahaha!.... then confirm must sell away his car liao!

Thank you so much for all the responses. It helps me alot in contemplating for a new camera.
I do agree that normally new products does have hiccups and I do see it myself, and if really I want to change, I will have to wait for 2nd or 3rd batch, then I will buy, then again, dunno have to wait how long. I have also read alot of goodness of D90 and I can almost guarantee that I will not regret buying that, just that I dunno the new changes to the replacement will it be more worthwhile to wait for it. Since, it is almost sure that the replacement announcement should be made soon, so I think I will wait for a little while (fortunately, my current D70s is still serving me well) and see what Nikon can come out with.