D90 User Group

Wow. It's so troublesome. Can totally forget abt it alr. Haha. Anyway, those going for the talk tmr, see you there! But i'll probably be sitting alone. Cos i dunno anyone. Haha!

If you're going tomorrow, then yes you'll be sitting alone... coz we're meeting on Wed, not tomorrow... :bsmilie:

Haha. Bro i meant for the talk tmr organised by DD123

write your CS nickname big-big on a piece of paper and hold it up.
You know what we all look like so just come up and say hi :) I promise I won't bite :)

write your CS nickname big-big on a piece of paper and hold it up.
You know what we all look like so just come up and say hi :) I promise I won't bite :)

Haha. Ok. I try ah! I know what u, dd123,nnb and lotusfairy look like. But the rest i don't think i know. Aft all, i only attended 1 newbies outing organised by bro ding. Haha

re: D90 outing on 11 Aug

If anyone has an SB800 or SB900, do bring it along.
We can try a group shot with master and slave flashes.
I will happily explain some simple night portrait tips if anyone is struggling... but beware, I'm no expert. My technique may be too simplistic, but for me I'm happy.

an example:
NightPortrait.jpg

taken with a single SB600 hotshoe-mounted​

esplanade:
1. pasay
2. ZCA
3. Smiles88
4. Jeezuinn
5. bigrockshow + 2 friends
6. quizesilver + mrs quizesilver
7. kriegsketten
8. Ellelawliet
9. Skylover

So ladies(if any) & gentlemen, is this the confirmed listing as of now for the TCSS session on next wed, 11 Aug?

Just to double confirm if the following outing confirmed? :think: It seem to go MIA liao.. Loc? Time? Err.. who is the main organizer? ps.. i lost track liao.

Ya it's confirmed. 11 Aug, Wednesday 1900 at Thai Express Esplande. If i'm not wrong ah. Haha

lolx.. er.. whose the boss for the night =X

You! :D Since you're insisting to know who should take the helm... :bsmilie: Relac lah... nobody's boss. Just come as per usual and TCSS about D90. This is not some mafia group for goodness sake!... Otherwise, someone needs to impersonate Marlon Brando (with a heavy dose of nasal blockage) and give orders... "What have I ever done to make you treat me so disrespectfully? If you'd come to me in friendship, then this scum that ruined your Pineapple Fried Rice would be suffering this very day. And if by chance an honest man like yourself should make enemies, then they would become my enemies. And then they would fear you."

wahh.. so chim.. lolx..

i come in peace.. V.V

hi! i just bought a D90! by the way, i'm looking for camera bag, does anyone have a recommendation. i intend to get 2 prime lens and a telephoto lens but i'm unsure what bag to get. currently, i'm wrapping it in a cloth and putting my D90 in my backpack. i'm really new to photography. i would love to hear your advice and opinion. thank you!

Hi n welcome! First of all, your budget? Your preferrence of sling bag, bag pack? Your priority is quick access to gear?

Remember to spare some money for your filters, tripod n dry cabinet. Read an advice from a senior somewhere, " do not rush into buying. " haha.

HTH

you can try some of the more well-known brands and take your pick. it's mostly user preference (sling, backpack, how big, features, weight, etc) so it's kinda hard to recommend one without knowing what you want or like.

try these brands
lowepro
thinktank
crumpler
kata
vanguard

hope that's enough to help you choose

lolx.. er.. whose the boss for the night =X

since it's a sharing session, i think no one's boss for the night? :dunno::bsmilie: unless you'd like to volunteer..? :think:

:thumbsup: i SUPPORT!:bsmilie:

firstly do u really need f/1.4? and will the extra 5mm wider makes a diff?

as for image quality wise, u gotta google to find out more...

Yes, 5mm makes a difference. and F1.4 makes a difference too.

The thing is, 30mm on a DX will beceom 45mm FOV, which is much closer to human's real FOV of around 42mm.

35mm on DX is more like 53mm FOV. More like a 50mm lens on FF.

On top of that, Sigma's 30/1.4 is famous for its silkly bokeh.

actually what i meant was for the TS to ask himself whether he should pay the extra for the f/1.4 and extra 5mm wider fov. i do understand that there is a diff, but sometimes it's a matter of budget vs needs/wants. i have a 50mm f1.8 n i really find the 1.8 dof too shallow for alot of what i like to shoot. as for b/w 35mm n 30mm, on theory what u said sounds very nice n logical, but really will u notice that much of a diff at the range? i'd think a 5mm diff in focal length would be more significant for wide angle lens. but that's just my 2 cents worth...

i recently discovered this Korea brand called Matin http://www.matin.co.kr/main.php they have really nice camera bags, only problem can't seem to find a local store selling them. have to buy thru online sources. u can try Gmarket korea or ebay

My first day shooting with my new D90 and 2 problems:

1) a dust spec aparently on viewfinder......drat...can't believe I didn't see this in the store.

2) the flash pops up, for no reason, frequently, but not always.

This is shooting in bright sunlight, for example 1/800 th second, f 8. So there is no reason for the flash to pop up. Apparently the flash is not firing when I press the shutter. I did google "D90 flash pop-up" and other similar searches. Found other people with same problem but no good explanations/solutions.

So, sigh, better luck tomorrow. Trying to stay mellow about D90 first impression.

actually what i meant was for the TS to ask himself whether he should pay the extra for the f/1.4 and extra 5mm wider fov. i do understand that there is a diff, but sometimes it's a matter of budget vs needs/wants. i have a 50mm f1.8 n i really find the 1.8 dof too shallow for alot of what i like to shoot. as for b/w 35mm n 30mm, on theory what u said sounds very nice n logical, but really will u notice that much of a diff at the range? i'd think a 5mm diff in focal length would be more significant for wide angle lens. but that's just my 2 cents worth...

When people buy F1.8, it is not really to shoot at F1.8 all the time. No lens is the sharpest at max aperture. They buy F1.8 so what when they shot at FF2.8, it is tack sharp.

People buy some F1.4 lenses not to shoot at F1.4 all the time, but to shoot F1.8-F2 tack sharp.

It is about the sweet spot. And the Sigma 30/1.4 and 50/1.4 are very well known for the quality of the the bokeh. Much better than the 50/1.8 can every be.