D700 hot pixel fix, nikon service center experience...

u don understand, my friend bougth d3, sensor having issue, sent back to NSC, the technician head condemn him like ****, even call him big fatty who don know how to use d3. i heard his experience till i sweat, cos i am all the while a nikon fan.

i use film body, don have all these issue. maybe nikon still very good at film system.

So what did he do after that? yr friend?

the guy is from our Clubsnap!! i heard from him, now he is freaking out of nikon system. feel sad for him.

the statement is what he claim. i am staying nuetral. when time is ripe, let my friend tell his story to you guy.

i heard i also feel hard to believe.

Still find it hard to believe man, especially from big company like Nikon.

Yup! I'm with you. Unless that head tech is out of his mind...:think:
Btw, i still cant get over it... F100 got sensor meh? Anyone??

btw, u reali got f100 or not? i dont c any sensor lei...

wat i means is F100 don NEED any sensor, it will never hit any sensor problem, what i need is a good lens and ilford black and white, i can shoot beautiful pic liao.

But of course.

Just kidding. No offence. Have a good afternoon. :)

wat i means is F100 don NEED any sensor, it will never hit any sensor problem, what i need is a good lens and ilford black and white, i can shoot beautiful pic liao.

So what did he do after that? yr friend?

yup... so what is your friend next course of action huh? suffer in silent? Hmm.. since he is a active member here, y he nper share with us huh?

u don understand, my friend bougth d3, sensor having issue, sent back to NSC, the technician head condemn him like ****, even call him big fatty who don know how to use d3. i heard his experience till i sweat, cos i am all the while a nikon fan.

i use film body, don have all these issue. maybe nikon still very good at film system.

Anyway my 2cents worth - 米可以乱吃, 话不能乱说。。。。:sweat:

Seems like you have doubts over Kimura san's words. :D

seriously, it's only fair if we hear from both side of the story. Quoting friend's words is all hearsay and should be taken with a pinch of salt.

So far my experience with NSC was positive. Sent my D700 for dust cleaning and they did a good job.

the guy is from our Clubsnap!! i heard from him, now he is freaking out of nikon system. feel sad for him.

the statement is what he claim. i am staying nuetral. when time is ripe, let my friend tell his story to you guy.

i heard i also feel hard to believe.

Wah now you taichi back to your friend :sweat: End of the day, if you are unsure better not say anything. With times like this, you never know if you are putting the head technician's job in hot soup for something which may not be true! :nono:

I think different people have different expectation of services, some may be higher then the rest. It's ok to feel that after paying for the products to expect a certain degree of services, but saying things like "they eat s*** grow up" doesn't justify for some mistakes which they may committed. For all you know they may have 100 over cameras to fix and happen to overlook that camera. 杀人不过头点地,得绕人处且饶人 ;)

hmm.. Tats funny? HOw could it be possible to add 6 more?:bigeyes: Have you check the original hot pixel still there (meaning same location)??:think: If it is not there and it falls on different location maybe the sensor is defective?? Anyway, they offer to replace your set right? Heng lorr:sweat:

the original one is still there. I SUSPECT that nikon pixel mapped away all the defective pixels during production so I did not see those 6 pixels originally. Somehow, the NSC managed to unmap all the 6 pixels making them appear again. This is what I THINK is happening.

Anyway NSC called me up and say they are going to replace a new camera for me..... I guess it is their way of ensuring that nothing get screwed up this time round, in case they mount the new sensor wrongly, etc.

I think I have mentioned b4 that the service people in NSC is very polite and accommodating once they found the error, especially the service manager.

I really hope NSC can learn how to do pixel map. I sent my D700 thinking that it is a simple software map to map away the hot pixel. I ended up with a camera replacement.... Pixel map should not be too difficult. Hearing Isisaxon's story, NSC also cannot map away his red pixel and also changed his sensor for him.

I am not sure if it is a software issue or user error but whatever it is, they should spend some time and perhaps learn from headquarters in Japan how to do it properly. I am sure Nikon Japan is able to do this. It is such a waste of resources and manpower if u have to replace the sensor for a few faulty pixels.

From CS, I have read some users successfully mapped their faulty pixels but most of them are using the 1.5 crop sensors. Maybe the FF sensor in D3/D700 needs a different software or something.... dunno lah, I just hope they debug the problem, rather than change sensor everytime.....

ah now you taichi back to your friend :sweat: End of the day, if you are unsure better not say anything. With times like this, you never know if you are putting the head technician's job in hot soup for something which may not be true! :nono:

i think u ARE champion, u guy really got no life!! i didnt mention who is at fault, who is right or wrong, are you guy need not to be so work up and try to sound who is wrong who is right. i say head technician did i say who is who? i am clearly say it is a true story from my friend. if u find these statement doesnt make u happy, u can walk away.

杀人不过头点地,得绕人处且饶人

Tsk...tsk tsk.......my mandarin is very poor actually, i don understand what are u talking about. once again, i did not CURSE anyone to be sack or penalized. from the way you write. but from what i read about ur replied, i can tell nowaday this forum standard is declining.

no leh.....i just had a diarhea this morning :cool:

Chill dudes, we are here to share info, not start a flame war. :cool:

my deepest condolences to your D700!! but what shocking me is abt nikon professional services! you are throwing in 3.5k for pro body like D700, and this is shitty service u got there? don tell me all nikon technician eat s*** to grow up?

I see, so your forum standard of saying that technician to eat s*** is very high. :dunno:

I didnt accuse you of cursing anyone... just trying to say that one have to be responsible for what they say. If you can't confirm if the head technician or anyone made that comments about your friend then why did you made an reply about that incident here? It's not hard to find out who the head technician @ Nikon Service center is... again it must be high standard to tanish other's reputation. I feel bad for them because I received great services from them and they are really nice peeps.

Btw that 2nd paragraph was just a general remark and wasn't particularly @ you. My apology if you take offence to that I am testing your mandrain.

Seems like you have doubts over Kimura san's words. :D

not that i support Airwave and doubt Kimura-san's words.
but then in the customer service industry, personally, i doubt there will be any officer who will be so daring to comment such thing about their customers, be it right in front of the customers or to outsiders, whatsmore, you are talking about a CS member which i think it's even worse cuz the world is so small.

i agreed musicpls, "Quoting friend's words is all hearsay and should be taken with a pinch of salt." :)

Chill dudes, we are here to share info, not start a flame war. :cool:

yeah yeah yeah... we are all here to share info... and is really just sharing... up to individual if they willing to accept the info... maybe not commenting bad things about other pple ya...? :nono:

keep cool man... :D

Really ??? How can someone do that ? Okay next time I'm going to get a D3 equivalent for my kid in the future and let him bring to the NSC.

Your friend can just tell him. "Yah I don't really know how to use it, but guess what ? I have the money. Is that a problem for you ?" :bsmilie:

I think this thread has served its purpose and it shall be closed.

Bottom line as the what the TS has said

The NSC service personnel are polite and did their best to take immediate action to ratify the issue.

It could be a honest mistake that was overlook and I am sure they will have some form of internal debrief or whatever to ensure that such slip up would not happen.

As far as hearsay opinion is concern it will remain as such until proven other wise. Mob and herd mentality in this forum is never condone or tolerated.

All members are reminded to observe CS Term of Use
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showpost.php?p=554604&postcount=1

Especially this
ClubSNAP's Terms of Use, Rules and Regulations

1. Be Nice and Be Civilised - abusing, name-calling, personal attacks on members and/or generally trying to stir up trouble will not be tolerated. Be kind to newbies as they may not know the general flow of the forums. Repeated violation of this rule will result in banishment.